You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reflecting on Voting for Comments

in #voting7 years ago (edited)

Fully agreed!
I spend like 80% of my VP on upvoting comments. A comment is the highest form of involvement on this platform, which should definitely be rewarded accordingly. It's not only POR (as you called it), but further shows that the person that comments took the time to even think about the piece of content and add their own beliefs.
That's how communication (thus community life) is built.

Sort:  

Exactly, I am not only voting for comments on my posts, I am taking more time to read the comments on other posts, voting and chiming in.

I know you also do this! I completely agree with the thought that is how we build a community.

I love this song. Great lyrics. Enjoyed every part of the melody.
Go Cubs! USA USA! @whatsup for president! :D

I have no idea if this is you or your crazy bot. Either way, Thanks!

well, i have not been upvoting comments on my post and any other post maybe because It doesn't really make a difference but I agreed upvoting a comment can actually go a long way in encouraging and engaging every steemian and thus build friendship but most times people don't read the content and will still comment also guilty of that. thanks for the heads up, will start reading and commenting henceforth

i have not been upvoting comments on my post and any other post maybe because It doesn't really make a difference

I do believe that it makes a difference. First, it makes a difference for the commenter that probably would comment again the next time (since he got rewarded for it) 😉
Second (as a consequence from point 1), it also makes a difference for you (the voter) since the same user might come back and read and comment your stuff again.
So there it is: the beautiful communicative circle 😊

The problem here is this: Newbies like me don't have a clue how Voting Power is created, grows or reduces. Many of us are just starting and just do something, without knowing what the consequences to our account are... If I see a relevant post and want to comment on it, I do it, regardless of what this means for my VP etc...
True, there are lots of spam posts among newer members, that's all because they don't know that quality is more important than quantity here... But give some people a chance to develop themselves and to get the hang of this platform, maybe by rewarding decent comments that add value to an article or discussion...
Still learning here!

If I see a relevant post and want to comment on it, I do it, regardless of what this means for my VP etc...

Well that is EXACTLY what you should do. Even though I'm on this platform since more than one year now, I do behave in the exact same way.

Curation rewards (the rewards you get for voting the "right" piece of content at the "right" time) may become interesting once you're a dolphin, but until then you have many months to learn more about the system.

So as long as you are new, just behave like you'd behave in any other social network: engage and vote for the stuff you like, independently from the economical aspect 😊

@surfermarly! You are awesome :D Your great effort to vote people is very useful!

Thank you, that's lovely 😊 Trying to do my best to have a good time and helping others to have a good one, too.

I am so proud to be one of your followers <3 !

Oh that was cute! Thank you, I saw it a bit late sorry for that :-)

I agree with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47