That was it, I'm quitting using voting bots!

in #voting6 years ago

Below is a screen shot with the money I thought I am investing in promoting one of my posts called Have you read The Egg? Besides writing about it, I have read the actual post with The Egg and shared my thoughts about it which involves an amount of work, even though maybe not a great one. It made me happy to talk about The Egg and share my thoughts about it, as it also made me pleasure to encourage people to read The Last Question so I can not complain about it.

image.png

What makes me frustrated about it is that some time ago I have decided to use voting bots which I will not do from now on. For that post I have used steembottracker, I have acted like a pro, voting on last minute using bots that theoretically provide a positive return and in fact if you do the math, I have lost money, a lot! (at least for me :)

If you sum up the value of what I invested in that post, you will reach to a number of over 21 SBDs.

Now if you look at my article, you will see that it is about to receive much less. According to steem.supply:

image.png

Which is after curation or according to Steemit:

image.png

Which is before curation and of course I won't get that much.

And not only that after all I have a negative return, but this return also includes the upvotes that I have received from a part of you, my dear readers. The cost to promote your posts is so high that id simply is not worth, unless you have something so important to say that you are willing to lose money just to promote it. Of course that does not imply the people who actually invest hundreds of dollars to make it to trending page only to collect profits from people who are upvoting them because of their visibility and not the quality or importance of their post.

It was profitable, but not for me :D

And not for almost everybody bidding either. The only people who are actually making profit form this business are the bot owners for who we are giving our hard worked money. Until we will find a solution to more efficient curating I will wish you all the best and take care of your money!

Sort:  

Yeah, the returns are really going down, and then there are the sleezy bots, and the ones going out of business, etc. It was better before, and there are certain hours that are better than others, etc. I'm getting just above breakeven right now. I'm obviously getting more selective too. Watching each one I use very closely every time I use them - it's almost to the point where I'm going to give them a break as well.

Considering your Steem Power, I wouldn't even use voting bots, but vote my posts to give them visibility. This could work pretty well.

Have you seen EOSfinex? It seems that @dan is working to bring a better alternative to Bitshares on the market so I wanted to tell you, but lately I haven't seen you posting. I think that when it will be released, this exchange will affect the price of Bitshares...

It's still profitable for me to use them. I'm still getting around a 50% return from them.

Thanks for pointing me to EOSfinex. Not so sure if that inspires too much confidence in EOS. Of course, that would be just another one of many projects running on top of EOS? And not a reflection on EOS itself?

It's great to see that it is still profitable for you! EOSfinex is just a DEX from Bitfinex on top of EOS. If this project will succeed, I guess it will make BitShares to lose a lot of value in my humble opinion. I don't even want to think what if @dan wants to make a better Steem...

Sorry about your loss... It was better before, but in the last 2-3 weeks in was getting worst...

Don't worry, and don't try to buy votes for me, I won't take your money, but I appreciate a lot your support!

I was just trying to show my appreciation for the things you do for me and others, that's all... I guess I better find other ways... :)

You already have helped me, and I appreciate that you are always there, with each of my posts. This is what I appreciate and I want to tell you don't try to hard. If you are a good person and if anything that I have done helped you sometime, then I am happy, really, you don't have to do anything special :D

I tried using the bid bots to get some visibility on my post because i believe i have something important to say. However, the bid bots neither gave me visibility or my hard earned SBD. I stopped using them immediately. Instead I use bots like @thehumanbot who actually reads your post before it promotes it. After that, I wait for curators to naturally come across my post. After that, then I invest in fixed fee bots like minnowbooster. They only give small SBD over you initial investments but you don't make a loss or loose your hard earned SBD.

Yeah, I know what you say, but lately @minnowbooster does not have almost any votes left to give...

This is true. I can't count how many times minnowbooster has spit my SBD back to me even though the graph clearly shows that the supply is there. Also, the amounts are quite small so only minnows like me would be interested anyway.

I use bots, but never for bids larger than 1 SBD. I feel like if I use them for small bids, they are very reliable and provide great ROI. I haven't ever bought any STEEM or SBD, so I don't really have much in my account and am not really interested in using bots for anything much more than increasing my STEEM Power a bit.

I really feel you and decided to start using bots because of your post. I have been successful in these bots, but I can understand how these larger bids have been robbing you of your money.

Indeed, smaller bots are more profitable, because there are not whales trying to promote their posts with them so they are only used by minnows. On the other side, I could not ever bring a post to 30-40$ if I have used these. Guess I won't use bots, at least for a while until the things get better on that field. I am happy to hear that you got profits form using bots :D

I tried bots one time. In total I paid 2.000 SBD and received 1.020 SBD, and 0.309 STEEM POWER

Yeap, this is exactly what I am talking about!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71