Bot votes are depressing!

in #voting6 years ago

I hate auto-votes!

I appreciate the support from people but I hate seeing that big mass of green actions on SteemWorld.org after I make a post. I wait patiently after every time I make a post for people to comment and tell me what I think. Often I make posts hoping for those interactions. But then I make the post and all I see is a big mass of green auto-votes.

It's not that I don't appreciate the money. Without those votes, I'd be earning even less here and probably be utterly depressed about it. I'm already finding it extremely hard to get motivated to finish my book and start the next one. It's just that they land with silence.

My latest post was just a dumb recipe, so I don't really expect any degree of extreme discourse happening in the comment section, but sometimes I actively encourage people to comment and it still feels so empty. People here actually get paid for commenting and I even upvote commenters often, yet why does it seem like it's so much quieter than any blogging service that I've been on previously? Is it the 7-day payout limit? Or am I just not remembering what it was like?

In any case, I hate that big mass of green votes after every post. I'd rather they arrive slowly, with a few comments.

And why do old posts so rarely get any comments? Is that the fault of 7-day payout?

If you run an auto-voter, at least set it for a few hours after posting. That way it rewards the real upvoters and it's just a bit less annoying.

394px-As_Ye_Sow_-_NARA_-_5729913.jpg
As Ye Sow - 10 October 1951 (source) via Wikimedia
This work is in the public domain in the United States because it is a work prepared by an officer or employee of the United States Government as part of that person’s official duties under the terms of Title 17, Chapter 1, Section 105 of the US Code.

Sort:  

This is pretty much the exact post I was considering posting after getting curied...
Yes it feels great to get a curie... it's nice to see cashflow come in.
But then I realize... all these people upvoting... none of them have read my post... and most of them never will...
Even tho part of my obviously writes on here for some payout... a bigger part of my likes it more if people would enjoy what I post and show me that they enjoy it by commenting.
In the end I decided not to post (weak I know...) as I do like getting autovotes (love your suggestion of just setting it a couple hours later) and if done well it might get my post trending and hopefully then people will actually look at them.

It's a bit of a double edged sword. I'm happy I'm not alone in this

You could try to write an erotica good enough to get curied, that's in multiple parts, so then the offensive parts are far down the line, and you get to giggle to yourself that people upvoted your story when it got curied that would vastly disapprove of it. :P Pretty sure that just happened with me.

I've felt the same way many times I've got curied. There's that initial excitement, followed by that lulling disappointment because so many of them won't ever comment if they ever do read it. Their curators don't even comment.

Eventually, we will get other tools. Auto-voting tools are the easiest to do. Now we need tools to get actual eyeballs. I think we'll get them. Just kinda disappointing that it didn't start from the beginning like that.

Haha, I guess that is an option too yes... But yeah not really my style :P I'll keep doing me and will be waiting for those new tools. At some point I hope to get a following that is actually interested in what I make (not just those bot followers that suddenly came to be a few wakes back... still not sure what that was about)

But until then... I love making the things I make, getting to show the world is just a bonus.

Yeah... I think if the curators would comment and resteem... it would make them look at the posts they curie a bit better. and would at leas show some involvement other than "ok this look like a long enough text and it has some picture" (yes yes I know not all of them do this :P )

I'm sure they do more than that. Though some days I think it might be a slow post day when I see some of the stuff that gets curied...including my own post on that Lost in Space series on Netflix a while back. :P

We all knew that it was going to be tough getting noticed when we got here. I just don't think we were really prepared for what it was going to be like. Maybe part of it is that its summer but it really does feel like a ghost town. Not like it didn't have a similar feel when there were more people commenting and such, just wasn't as bad.

I did find that I got a few fans that really liked my series. They were a bit more vocal it seemed. Maybe you could try some sort of series type post.

Haha I'm sure they do but still.

Yeah indeed... I had a small hiatus from steemit only recently came back, and it is even more silent than before I noticed the same... But we'll see if it picks up after summer...

(Yeah I still need to catch up on your vacation around a black hole. I think I left at chapter 13 or co) I'm bad at continuity haha so a series wont be my thing. Before I left I did however include short freewrite stories with my drawings that did seem to be liked. And I've been chatting in communities here and there that also helps. But that way it's the same 2 or 3 people commenting.
Love their loyalty but would not mind to see some variation in those that speak up

Well, then you're lucky you left. I ran into a bit of a problem getting the muster to finish it up. I've just recently started feeling like I can finally get myself to finish it up...even though I actually have every bit of what's going to happen in my head. Just takes a lot to sit down and get it out.

Haha well good to know!
Yeah this place can be quite depressing once in a while to keep up with all the writing and what not... Currently struggling with the same thing, just trying to boot up a bit again

I know a bit how you feel. I try to reward my commenters too and encourage a bit more engagement than I receive. I do think that the seven day window makes a limiting factor as far as engagement is concerned for anything older than the payout potential. Voting later will hit on their curation rewards... so don't get too disappointed if the auto-votes don't change.

I need to be more active in commenting and participating myself. I have also noticed when the markets are down... so is the user base. I never expect much.... especially on dips and weekends! Hang in there and...

Keep On Steemin On!

Most don't even wait 30 minutes for some reason. I don't even get a ton of rewards but for some reason, it gets to me.

I'm bad at commenting and replying myself but I try. When I do comment, I tend to make long, thought out, comments though, so there is that at least.

Yes, many of my comments are a post in themselves. The one good thing is that if they are upvoting before 30 mins it's a way to support you by sharing their curation reward with you.

But that still misses your point about engagement. I think we all have our issues and concerns here that get to us and build up over time. I just wanted to let you know... even though I may not comment often enough or read everything (i miss a lot in my feed) that there is someone out there that is real and encouraging you to try not to be discouraged! hahahaha

I actually started making a post the other day thanking the users who follow me and continue to support me regularly, but I was afraid of leaving someone out. XD I do notice them and appreciate it.

Maybe it's just the price of steem and all the abuse on here bringing people down.

There are a ton of awesome people here. Just feels like there are a lot less active than there should be.

All the happy people are out enjoying their summer. Things will pick back up in the fall when people start to get trapped inside because of weather. It got really quiet around this time last year too.

This place has always been a barren wasteland for good comments to thrive. I wish this site had a gallery mode like in Deviant Art where you could choose galleries for people to view according to subject and how much you wanted to highlight something. I really hate that good work goes unoticed on this site. Past one hour, never mind 7 days you might as well consider the post disappeared as far as the feed goes.

Summer heat sucks. I'd rather be outside during the winter. :P

I am happy to have found your post. This is quite funny that I found it the day I annouced that I will stop my sponsor bot which is not a bid bot.

It is strange how lonely one can get on steemit. Yes the money is nice but you get so many votes and so little comment. That is why I like communities I am part of like the #freewrite. The main reason I come back here is the interaction, not the money. Specially seeing how the price fluctuates lately.

So yeah just forget about the bot and have fun with the rare interactions you get here.

What we need here is more communities. Ones that encourage interaction, without just being circle jerk vote trading groups. Steem has tons of awesome people. Problem is getting them to open up and stop trying so hard and just start doing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82