DOLPHIN POWER - Watch This Amazing Video - Can You do it Too?

in #vote8 years ago

Periodically @papa-pepper notices things and starts to experiment with the possibilities.
Wednesday was one of those times.

We've probably all seen the reputations go up or down as a user interacts, and we know that sometimes whales will "fix" someone's reputation if it got knocked down too far for an illegitimate reason.

But how many times have you seen someone's reputation change because of your vote?

Once I saw that I could "bump up" a newbie from a 25 to a 26, I got a little curious.

In the upcoming video, I'll take the reputation of @bjornbm up from a 25 to a 31, in about 4 minutes.

I've had a little fun over the past few days doing it, and sometimes leave a comment for every step of the way.

Sometimes, people have noticed this:


@full-measure told me "I recently saw you raise a nice minnow's reputation score from 25 to about 31, single-handedly, after he talked about camping with the crickets. It was impressive, and I immediately clicked to follow."

@full-measure added, "And I like that you were helping the newcomers out, seems like a good use of your influence. Any newcomer who isn't, like, a troll or something is gonna be really misrepresented by the 25 rating, cool to help rush them along."


Here are a few of the fun conversations that I had about this.


I know those aren't the best images, so just watch this short video and see it in action.

Dolphin Power in Action!


Of course this works best with people who have a beginner's rating of 25. Since they have not been moved up or down yet, it is easy to influence their reputation. Therefore, be sure to use this power for good, especially with newcomers.

Since the Reputation System was created to be like the Richter Scale, each number increase is not only in numeric value, but in magnitude. That is why I can't just upvote myself from a 66 to a 70 (a numerical difference of 4) even though I can upvote someone from a 25 to a 31 (a numerical difference of 6).


I had just never seen this happen before, and thought that maybe you hadn't either.

The first user that I noticed this with was @majes, who just showed up on steemit a few days ago. I experimented, and in 6 minutes he went from a 25 to a 34!

@majes responded by saying, "LOL, Thanks for all the help. I am so new I'm unsure what number means what exactly, but up is good I'm sure :)"

Two days later, @majes (with a reputation of 38) told me, "great, seems it works for me now with folks with only 25 rep. But can't raise it as much as you raised mine.... One day :)"

So even @majes, who's been on steemit for about a week, with a rep of 38 and with only about 11 STEEM worth of Steem Power and an Estimated Account Value of about $7.00 can help raise the reputation of a new user...

What can you do?


CONCLUSION

There are certainly some fun and entertaining ways to encourage other users, and I think that "upvote assaults" on new users is a great way to help them out. I'd recommend actually checking out there content and reading some of their posts and comments first, because no one want to encourage a new spammer or plagiarizer.

I know that I had some fun, some newcomers got some encouragement, and we even got to follow one another in some cases.


YOU HAVE POWER!

With great power comes great responsibility

- What will you do?


THESE IMAGES WERE MADE USING MY STEEMLIFE SEASCAPE SPRAY-PAINT ART AS A BACKGROUND.

THE LINK FOR THAT POST IS HERE

STEEMLIFE SEASCAPE

If anyone wants to use any images of the STEEMLIFE SEASCAPE for your posts, feel free to follow the link and copy the images. Consider it a small gift to the steemit community. I'll also be adding some creatures to it, so stay tuned for future posts.


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!

Sort:  

Just gave @bjornbm a 35...

HAHA!

Excellent! - POWER!

Thank you very much neoxian :-) I appreciate it.

Nice post papa-pepper! thanks for the encouragement and the signature photo, lovely to see people help each out. Hope i can return the favor soon. :-)

Thank you @bjornbm.

Welcome to Steemit and enjoy!

You're such a character - in a GOOD way! <3

Incredible you are such a nice person :)

It's fun and beneficial, so I enjoy it.
Thanks for the compliment @patelincho!

Pappa Pepper, When I select "upvote" it doesn't give me a choice to do anything but upvote. It doesn't display a power slide. What am I doing wrong?

Nothing.
At your "level" that is not an option.
All of your votes are submitted at full power.
In time, hopefully you will get that option too.
It used to be only for the whales, but now they implemented it for other users too.
I'm not sure what the exact qualifications are for having a "slider bar."

It does seem that I have been stuck at 47 for a while now.

It get's harder and harder to "climb up" the higher you go.

I'm halfway between 66 and 67 now.

Technically, you're a 47.5, so you're halfway to 48.

You can check those stats here: http://steemwhales.com/gamgam

It seems I learn several things about Steemit every time I get on. Thanks PP

Cool!!! @papa-pepper. Keep helping and keep spreading happiness :)

That's the goal!
Build up the community!

Awesome welcome to an awesome community.....

Thanks Papa!!!

Steem On.....

Thanks!
Use your time here wisely, perhaps more will be watching you now!

@papa-pepper, I think I've been whaled!!! Lol, wrote a post that BernieSanders upvoted!!! Went from a reputation score of 45 to 48 with one flick of a whale click...now in less than 15 hours, I'm at 50. It is working!!!! (I think. hahaha!)
What do I do now? How do you thank someone for sharing their love if they don't leave a comment? (Under the category of "What small fish ask bigger fish".)

:-D

In situations like that, there is no need to thank.

They understand.

Bernie Sanders is a whale and that is excellent that you caught his attention. Not only did it bump your reputation up, but it probably will get you a decent pay out as well!

Congratulations.

Well, I am incredibly grateful to you for all your words of wisdom, willingness to share and support.
Thank you. :)

I'm just pleased to be able to help.
Congrats again!

Very cool tactic, to help some new folks out.

It's fun too, and I was completely unaware of that possibility earlier.
Thanks! It gives newcomers a boost!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85