Why I Choose to Become A Volunteer!

in #voluntaryist6 years ago


I wasn't long in volunteer, it all started back then in 2017 March. Volunteering is something that never comes to my mind before 2017, you might want to ask what happens to me and why suddenly so into volunteer? I will answer that question in the post later.

Alright, So How You Get Started?

It all started when I received an email newsletter from my ex-company that there is a volunteer programme called "STEP"(Self Empowering Transition & Employability Programme). The objective of volunteering in STEP programme is to facilitate lead coach & provide guidance to the underprivileged youth in the workshop. So that's what basically volunteer role in STEP programme. I google about it and I decided to jump into become STEP volunteer!

Why Wanted to Become A Volunteer?

One of the main reasons I want to become a volunteer in 2017 is because every year I want to do/learn something new, something that is out of my comfort zone. I love to explore new knowledge so that I can always improve on myself. It is part of my own personal growth plan. So in 2017, I had chosen to volunteer as my new area of explore.

Another reason is since STEP programme is one of my ex-company CSR(Corporate Social Responsibility) I just give it a support and attend their volunteer training.

How Do You FEEL After STEP Programme?

The programme lasts for 3 months, not every day but on every Saturday. When I started my first few workshops with them, I'm actually just going with the flow, follow lead coach instruction and so on. At one point, I'm not sure which workshop I have this weird feeling in my heart, the feeling that I didn't felt before. So I talked to Cybercare founder what is this feeling about. He shares with me that this is called "Detached Love", I love, I care about those youth but I'm not attached to them, sound so crazy for me! I don't really understand when he shares with me, but I'm ok to experiment more and wanted to feel more about "Detached Love" from the youth.

Hence, I make myself commit to every Saturday to attend the workshop with youth and journey along with them. After few more sessions, those youth are actually started to accept me as their siblings, they start to get close and trust me, talk to me more, share some funny moment about their life with me. Remember, those youth wasn't close like this at the beginning.

The most memorable & emotional moment was on their graduation day which is after youth completed 3 months workshop in STEP programme. On that graduation day, some of the youth will come to me and give me a bear hug and thank you for the journey with them. At that moment, my heart was melted and I felt so touched and so emotional. I know during the 3 months STEP programme I had planted some good seed into their mind, something that is so good for them to remember in their life and I truly wish them all the best in their future!

I felt so happy, fulfilment, and satisfied when I contribute my experience with them. Volunteering now has become part of my life, my purpose in this word, and give back to the community

So, What Next?

After that STEP programme in 2017, I told myself to commit and become volunteer again in 2018 which I already committed together with my girlfriend and some good buddies (@timlee, @tifaong, & others) to continue my volunteer journey. STEP 2018 starts tomorrow and here I come again!

You can read more on my volunteer related post here and here. Few more posts will be coming very soon!

Note:
This post is part of @crystalhuman Why You Are A Voluntaryist contest. However, above content is my personal experience in volunteering.

Note2: All photo are taken from pixabay.com

Sort:  

:) Very Nice! Thanks for your entry :)

I'm really really happy that you got into volunteering, or else we wouldn't be able to meet each other. Sometimes I think this is a higher being's plan for us.

Let's stay committed and make it for all Saturdays unless emergencies :)

haha ya right, if I don't butt itchy to join volunteer I wouldn't meet you this wonderful women :)

LOLLL is your butt still itchy?? ehehehehe

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@williamsyee, it is just so awesome what you and your mates are doing! Volunteering sparks new insights of life, and most importantly, the power of love and kindness. All the best for STEP 2018!!!

Thank you for your kind word @heartscally!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66227.96
ETH 3571.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14