Road to 100000 Steem Power Day 159 - Linux, Linux, Linux

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


V8 Separator.png

This is my journey towards 100000 Steem Power Day 159 with no prior investments! (Meaning I started on Steem with 0 account value!). I am a very dedicated individual and I want you guys to be a part of my journey to get you motivated and to learn from my mistakes!

Besides my daily description of what I did to reach that goal today, I will also use this as a "journal" to keep track of my other personal goals.

If you have any suggestions, want to help or work together with me or just want to leave feedback then just write that in the comments.
 
V8 Separator.png

What I did Today to Reach my Goal

Today I wrote a post that will help anyone that is stuck in making the decision if they want to become a witness or rather not. You can read the full post HERE or watch the video only version below.

 
V8 Separator.png

Training - Reach 90KG with 12% Bodyfat by July 2018

Today was no official training.
 
V8 Separator.png

Diary

Woke up at 05:00 again today with my motivational speech alarm and some black metal afterwards which made me headbang asleep on the pillow.

Otherwise, I just worked with Linux today to install my servers. I have learned how to install a second HDD, a couple of hotkeys, and started to remember some basic commands like cd /root which sends me back to the main directory.

Most basic command, but remembering those is very important, otherwise you will feel like you lost your legs because you cannot move around.

I worked on the servers for 10 hours and even managed to install Steem! However, there were like 4 red messages which mean a couple of errors, and with those errors I will not be able to start the witness servers!

So I will try again tomorrow evening when I have time. I will work hard on the servers again at the weekend.

I cannot predict anymore when they will officially run.

V8 Separator.png

"exactly like the human feelings. Sometimes soft and sometimes harsh. We live in this eternal inconstancy, mixing love and pain, doubts and convictions.

This duality makes man extremely fragile, extremely obscure, but it is also what makes him interesting and beautiful

Gosch is a true artist"

 
V8 Separator.png

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V8 Separator.png

Stats.jpg

V8 Separator.png

▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

You will not learn Linux with reading about Linux. :) You work with Linux. And Linux is anything else then easy. It's complicated. You run into a million problems and THEN! you read how to solve that problem. And you do that over and over for years and a one point you will realize that most of that Linux problems are pretty easy solveable for you now. At that point you got the basics. :) - I am new to dtube. What is a whitness?

Sounds absolutely cancerous but worth it.
You sound like you got some fine Linux skills mate.

If you are able to help me I will pay you in SBD.
You will need a microphone and discord tho.

Steemit Witness: They host nodes that process blockchain data blocks, and ensure their integrity. These blocks contain data for posts and transactions that Steemit or other sites can interact with. Witnesses also provide security to the network and establish changes to Steem, like setting the price feed, SDB interest rates, and account creation fees."

Thank you for your offer, but i do not have fine Linux skills. I got the basics. I just did linux application administration for a couple of years that's far away from a real Linux OS administrator or from anyone who should teach it. I lack the deeper understanding. Also i will spend the next months in a hotel room with a really bad internet connection spending the evenings working on my project for my own channel. Building rockets and explaining the nuts and bolts of it on dtube. Witnesses ... So now i know where all that steemit data is stored. is there any profit in it? I have a couple of unused hard drives laying around.

If you can gather enough votes from the people then you can make a profit with it, a really good profit.

Greate. Thank you for your explaination. So i will read about that witness thing at the weekend when i have a good internet and maybe connect a harddrive additionally to my computer to support that steemit project.

A server needs 12gb ram, 200gb hdd (minimum) and at least 2 cores.

Like I said I'm no expert but I know a little. If you're close to getting it setup then I would say go for it.

I remember when we initially talked about becoming witness you said April was your target month to look into it. So you are way ahead of schedule.

You remembered that (nice!).
Yeah, in terms of my goals I am ahead of my schedule.

headbang asleep on the pillow.


My alarm sounds like a firetruck! Damn thing is so loud that i get up immediately with all the adrenaline running through my veins!

Waking up to this is quite awesome:

"O Gods, O ethereal beings
Hear our call
The seas which these oars grasp
For Baldur, For Brage
in Valhall
We all carry the mark of death"

"O heaven, O earth
See us now
We strike for our fallen brothers
For Odin, For Loke
We will stand
And remember our fair mothers"

Epic song right there! I'm going to get some musics for my gym playlist now, going to add this one to the playlist

You should have build a good playlist by now, share it with me!

Good luck on the witnessing! You're proving a step at time to everyone that you can achieve everything you put your mind in too so I have a feeling you will be successful at witnessing!

By the way the Dtube video is not loading, every other Dtube video is working fine for me...
edit It just loaded :)

Thank you very much.
If there is a will there is a way.
That is what it means to be human.

Linux is hard to learn I think, but very useful knowledge.
Do you think it's worth it to become witness in the end?

Yeah found that video and watched it :)

Wow I would never attempt to learn Linux. LOL

My uncle uses it and it's so confusing to me.

Keep at witness Philip!!! :)

Thanks for your support.
I will not quit, that ain't how I roll.

Thanks for the post... there are lot of things to learn from your vlog. Even if I don't check my SteemIt account for a while, I take my time going over your Vlog whenever I log on to SteemIt. Thanks

Thank you Jobanj.

which flavor of linux are you learning?

Just See Your DTube Video, There is many things to learn.
Thank You.

Thanks to everyone supporting me with comments, upvotes, advice, and your skills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57062.81
ETH 3068.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43