PAPA-PEPPER'S PITAYA PLANT PROGRESS

in #vlog7 years ago

Thankfully, my Dragonfruit plants survived the winter!


Last year I had ordered 15 Pitaya cuttings from a Dragonfruit grower down in Florida. Pruning these plants becomes necessary anyway, so selling the cuttings is another income option for Pitaya farmers.

As a bonus benefit, the grower I ordered mine from sent me 17 cuttings instead of the 15 I ordered. Here is my video update.

PITAYA PLANT PROGRESS VIDEO

I knew that they would not survive the winter in Arkansas if I left them outside and unfortunately I did not get a greenhouse up last year. Thankfully, I was able to store them for the winter in a nearby basement, and it worked.

Some die-back occurred due to the frost last year before I moved them indoors, but new growth is already showing.


I’m not sure if this will be the year that we will begin to harvest our own Dragonfruit right from own plants in our own garden, but I’ll keep you posted. At least my plants are still alive, so they have potential!

Here are the links to a few of previous posts where I mention the Pitaya/Dragonfruit plans:

Papa-Pepper's Guide to Plant Propagation: Pitaya & Prickly Pear


My Pitaya: There's a Dragon(fruit) in my Garden!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pitaya-plants



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it at steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Perfect one ! Nice photos friend !!

@papa-pepper We grow them as houseplants. My grandma grew such a height of 1.50!)

Very cool, I've seen people do that!

I've heard of dragonfruit and possibly even seen it in the grocery, but what do you do with it? Raw, cooked, both? You've got me stumped on this one.

Raw, almost like a Kiwi, but more "melts in your mouth" type feel.

Ooooh pretty! Sounds interesting. Might have to try it!

See if you can find some. They are delicious!

Will do! And even if I don't like it, hubby probably will.

Very nice.
My son planted a prickly pear cactus on the property a couple years ago and it's doing very well with no attention. Something does come out of the woods and takes a big bite out of it every now and then though.

I wonder what is munching on it... It's not me!

I love the fruit though, and the pads!

Very good progress, I love the plant. I hope your efforts in growing the pitaya plant is not worth it. Nice post @papa-pepper

We will see what happens, but I think that we actually might get fruit this year!

That's for sure, we can just wait and see what happens @papa-pepper

Very interesting :)

Does it have medicinal importance?

I really enjoy your vblog! Always watching out for any snakes :)

Yeah, those snakes are everywhere! LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81