35 YEAR OLD JACKET & A 45 YEAR OLD BRUSH

in #vlog6 years ago

It seems that a lot has changed over the years...


Seriously, what happened to craftsmanship and care? While my parents were visiting recently, a couple of things caught my attention. In this vlog, I share a bit about what I learned.

VLOG - THINKING ABOUT DURABILITY AND CONTENTMENT

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5


Sort:  

First, the brush. I do clean it regularly and I've tried replacing it several times over the years. In every case I came back to it since I could not find one that did the job better. Now, the jacket. It's been my outdoors jacket for years now, the one I wear for yard work, construction projects and lumberjacking. It's held up well and should last for many more years. Nuff said.

So my guest, one of your grandkids will be wearing it soom day.

We live in a consumerist economy. 100 year old gardening tools will out last todays tools. From this video you'll see when a tool did wear our, they turned it into something else.

Man, that was an excellent video! Thanks man!

Totally true man!

I've been trying to reuse my old stuff the last couple of years.

Last month i got my suprise when I sent my Samsung television in for repairs. They could NOT get the part that was blowned.
Sick with only a 8 year old TV.

Wow, parts no longer available either... kind of forces you into buying a new one...

Actually I Will never buy a brand new tv again. My 16inch computer screen Will do for a long time!
You know The story of Osram¿ german company. Consumerism put in system.

I agree with you that products should have better quality.

Those are old! How can you still wear those!
|/,,

I totally agree with you. :D
I miss the quality that things had as we were growing up. My grandma had a wringer washing machine that was her mothers, she used that thing every other day for decades and never once had a problem with it, right up until the day she died. I've had to replace my "energy efficient" (that's the biggest falsehood ever, if it takes 4 hours (2 hours if you put it on quick wash which says will take 29 minutes) to wash a load and its still not clean its not really energy efficient, in my opinion) clothes washer, my dishwasher, my fridge and my stove at least once in the past 10 years, things just aren't made to last anymore. Its a bit disheartening to buy something that should last a decade and it doesn't even last 10 months.
It would be wonderful if companies stop being so "profit" oriented and got back to producing quality products, but the big companies don't want to lose money so we end up with a lot of junk products that won't last past their warranty expiration, some won't even survive until the warranty expires. :D
I love seeing something made, be it jewelry, cars, furniture, whatever, by individuals, they're always better quality than the mass produced versions in stores nowadays. :D
God bless you and your fantastic family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

I love seeing something made, be it jewelry, cars, furniture, whatever, by individuals, they're always better quality than the mass produced versions in stores nowadays.

I totally agree with you. We like making whatever we can these days ourselves!

When I worked for Xerox fixing copiers as a 20-ish year old kid in 1989, I noticed the majority of my service calls were about replacing stripped plastic gears caused by paper jams, very expensive repairs down into the guts of the giant enterprise scale copiers (like the half room sized ones that cost tens of thousands of dollars)

I asked my boss, as a naive but intelligent young man, why wouldnt we make those gears out of brass or steel?

well, he said, how do you expect xerox to make money then? and you wouldnt have a job, eh?

Between that fleece'em mentality and outsourcing to 3rd world countries for cheapest bidders, the world was made this way to take your money.

It's as simple as greed.

Man, so honest, and so messed up!

hehe, well I quit a couple months later, moved from northern Virginia to Glenwood Springs Colorado and spent 1990 working as a ski lift operator at Aspen Mountain resort so I guess you could say I went full hippy and stuck it to da man after that, for a while anyway, till I had to grow up and start adulting. Took another 25 years before I ended up living off grid for five years, much like yall live. But I was solo, and eventually, starting a company with a friend made me come back to the city again. But I'll never forget that "lesson" about planned obsolescence learned from that xerox boss that day. and it still pisses me off about how all that goes. Seems so short sighted.

Look at a coleman stove circa 1975 and 2018... such junk now. But I still have the one my parents bought before I was born, and I'm 50!

You look so cute in that picture.. yours dread suit you really....

In that video I saw a snake try to bite your face, hope not tho. Kinda scary when I first started watching your video...

Thanks for share.

Man, that snake bite must have hurt, but it sure has made for a great intro shot!

That is really cool those two things have lasted for so long, but also that your parents have treated their items well which has contributed to them lasting so long. What's crazy is that the products they bought back then probably didn't cost much more than they do today, but because of the purchasing power that has been lost to inflation over the last 45 years, the quality has had to decrease to keep up with the prices. Something has to give, and since the inflation is happening, if the price is the same... the quality or quantity is decreased.

EDIT:
I looked at the purchasing power chart of a dollar over time since 1913 and in 1973 (45 years ago) the dollar still had around $0.25 of purchasing power per dollar. Now we're at less than $0.04 of purchasing power per dollar. That means the purchasing power of a dollar then was approximately 6.25 time greater than now. Not difficult to see why the prices have gone up and the quality has gone down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66