You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 35 YEAR OLD JACKET & A 45 YEAR OLD BRUSH

in #vlog5 years ago

When I worked for Xerox fixing copiers as a 20-ish year old kid in 1989, I noticed the majority of my service calls were about replacing stripped plastic gears caused by paper jams, very expensive repairs down into the guts of the giant enterprise scale copiers (like the half room sized ones that cost tens of thousands of dollars)

I asked my boss, as a naive but intelligent young man, why wouldnt we make those gears out of brass or steel?

well, he said, how do you expect xerox to make money then? and you wouldnt have a job, eh?

Between that fleece'em mentality and outsourcing to 3rd world countries for cheapest bidders, the world was made this way to take your money.

It's as simple as greed.

Sort:  

Man, so honest, and so messed up!

hehe, well I quit a couple months later, moved from northern Virginia to Glenwood Springs Colorado and spent 1990 working as a ski lift operator at Aspen Mountain resort so I guess you could say I went full hippy and stuck it to da man after that, for a while anyway, till I had to grow up and start adulting. Took another 25 years before I ended up living off grid for five years, much like yall live. But I was solo, and eventually, starting a company with a friend made me come back to the city again. But I'll never forget that "lesson" about planned obsolescence learned from that xerox boss that day. and it still pisses me off about how all that goes. Seems so short sighted.

Look at a coleman stove circa 1975 and 2018... such junk now. But I still have the one my parents bought before I was born, and I'm 50!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73