OUR DAY IN PERSEPOLIS - CAPITAL OF PERSIAN EMPIRE | (LITHUANIAN) TRAVEL VIDEO

in #vlog7 years ago (edited)

Our journey across Iran was coming to an end. Last time I showed you a few astonishing photos Shiraz - one of the oldest cities in Iran. One of the reasons we decided to go there was Persepolis, which was only 70 kilometers from Shiraz. I decided not to translate the video into English. @Kamile and I were talking only in Lithuanian so If you never heard Lithuanian language before - now it's the best opportunity to do it. :DDD


6 INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT PERSEPOLIS

[1.] Persepolis was once the ceremonial capital of the Achaemenid Empire. The administrative capitals were in Susa and Babylon.

[2.] Persepolis was built to be a showcase of Persian wealth, and also as a seat of the Government for the
Achaemenid Empire. The man behind the plan of such a great palace was King Darius the Great, around the time of 518 BCE.

[3.] In modern Iran, the city is known as Takht-e-Jamshid (Throne of Jamshid).

[4.] Now among one of the World Heritage Centers, Persepolis literally means “city of Persians”.

[5.] Darius lived long enough to see only a small part of his plans executed. His brilliant and grandiose ideas were taken up and followed by his son and successor Xerxes, who, according to an excavated foundation
inscription, said: “When my father Darius went (away from) the throne, I by the grace of Ahuramazda
became king on my father’s throne. After I became king . . . what had been done by my father, that I also
(did), and other works I added.”

[6.] Persepolis was burned by Alexander the Great, which upset many Greeks because the city had great art and architecture. Alexander did it to get revenge on the Persians for the destruction they did earlier on the Acropolis. Others say that Alexander the Great had it destroyed because it was a powerful symbol of how powerful the Persian Empire was.

Check out my girlfriend's @Kamile new vlog :DDD Next time I will show you our adventures in Bushehr - a city in the South of Iran, where the weather was unbearably hot... ;ooo


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I like the video with you speaking in Lithuanian. You are people's language is very beautiful. I wasn't able to watch the whole video, because I was running out of time and I wanted to leave a comment. But I'll finish it later. I like in your post all of the pictures. But I also like how you give the historical facts about where you're at. That's one of my favorite things. I hope you guys have a good day. All my love to you and all of yours. And may our Creator continue to bless yous.

I wish there were more Lithuanians on Steemit. :D Now there are only a few. :) Soon I will start uploading videos and photos from another Country. :)

what the flip! I had no idea! Outrageous!

Hello invisusmundi!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

How cool is that. :D

You do things when the opportunities come along. I've had periods in my life when I've had a bundle of ideas come along, and I've had long dry spells. If I get an idea next week, I'll do something. If not, I won't do a damn thing.

Words of wisdom. :)))

Amazing place with such of history! I loved the video, and I want to see more 😱 ansolutely LOVED IT!

Cool. ;) I have just shared another one if you like to see. ;)
https://steemit.com/vlog/@invisusmundi/hpl5hct8

i like your all post my dear friend. ♥
i hope you help me in steemit. ☺

I will man. ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53