Making the Music Video: No Comfort in the Void (Part 03) - Post

in #vlog6 years ago

Onto talking about my favourite part of the video production process - post production! Let me show you what I'm doing to finish my "No Comfort In the Void" Music video.

Video Transcript:
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

Last week I showed you all the behind the scenes footage from shooting my “No Comfort In the Void” music video. This week we’re going to start putting it all together!

Before I start editing, I like to make sure I have all my assets ready to go. Which means that I have a bit of drawing that I need to do.

Drawing

Here I have my iPad pro and Apple pencil, which I’m going to use to draw the Vitruvian Human parts.

One of my favourite things about the app I’m using to draw (which is called Procreate), is that it takes a video of your drawing as you draw. If you’ve been with me a while you’ve probably seen me post some of these process videos. Anyway, I’m going to use this to my advantage in the actual music video - as I’d like to have the “draw on” effect. So, hopefully it captures everything cleanly and this will work!

Drawing

OK! My drawing is complete and now I can load everything in.

Getting Organized

For this particular video I’ll be editing in Adobe Premiere so that I can use the round trip to After Effects feature. As I’ve mentioned in previous videos, being able to round trip to an FX program directly from my editing program is huge timesaver.

Organized Bins

As you can see, I’ve organized my project so that it’s easy to find exactly what I’m looking for. Because I shot the video out of order, I’ve got my shotlist pulled up so I can cross reference which shots were shot when. I’ve also got my video story outline so that I have the bigger picture easily accessible.

I also asked Maxwell in Chicago to film himself so that he could be in the video, too! So I’ve got all his footage here, ready to go as well.

Syncing to the Song

Now I can start the arduous task of syncing everything so that I can go through and find the best takes. On a regular shoot with a crew, this wouldn’t be so bad, but because I shot everything by myself, I had to do things in a certain way to make sure that I was keeping on track. For example, I’d have to start the audio playback loop before I press record on the camera, which means there’s no clean “in”. It also means that I probably ended up doing way more takes than I typically would need when trying to perform. Getting in and out of character and trying to also coordinate all the things I have to do in between each shot (like playing back audio, adjusting the camera, making sure I’m in focus, pressing record.. etc), is very taxing, but obviously I want to give the best and most convincing performance that I can, so that means leaving the loop running a bit longer.

Editing

Once I’m all synced up, I can start watching takes and making selects. This part is pretty boring to watch if you’re not the editor, but I’ll try to give you an idea of what I look for when I’m making these selections.

For me, editing is mostly feeling. While you do have to pay attention to the visuals and the placements on screen, a lot of times you can adjust that. What you can’t adjust is the raw feeling or the performance. Granted, it’s much much harder to judge your own performance than someone else’s - I for one am pretty harsh on myself. But regardless, feeling your way through the performances is going to be your best bet when it comes to knowing which is the “right” take.

Art is about storytelling, and conveying emotion. This particular music video is all about emotion, so it’s important that I get strong feelings from the performances. I’ll take all the best performances, then weave them together with the other visuals that I’ve made to tell the story in the most entertaining and beautiful way that I can manage with what I’ve got.

FX And Finishing

Colour plays a huge part in the story of this video, so I wanted it to be mostly black and white with specific, isolated, and extra bright colours. This means I have a lot of post processing that I’ll need to do, but that’s why I picked Premiere for this project. Unfortunately, my EX3 is not the best camera to do stuff like this with, as it just doesn’t have the technical capability. But I do the best I can with what I’ve got, because it’s all I’ve got, and if I don’t create stuff I’ll go nuts.

FX Time!

So there’s my process of everything that happens after shooting on this particular music video. Is there anything that you’re really curious about that I didn’t cover in this series? Ask away in the comments!

Stay tuned for the final video, and if you haven’t checked out Everson Poe’s album “The Body Is Not Sacred” yet, then go do that right now!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com

Sort:  

Love your haircut!!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.39$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 31 SBD worth and should receive 113 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

waiii whaaa? you cut your hair?? looks great!!
i love your process and way more advanced than I, but the end was WOW!!!
i wish i could do 1/4 of working that equip.

Very interesting! I hope to make a few videos for my band soon! ;) Thanks for the insight!

Here your human personal autovote :D (K)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derosnec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I have been following! <3

This is a complicated process! I hadn't thought about your having to sync everything from so many different sources. When you chopped off your hair in the last episode, I thought it was such a shame that your pretty hair was disappearing. But, you are rocking this new style beautifully! It looks great on you! 💖

That is amazing!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #146 (5/26/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62