Vintage of the Day - What Treasures did I Find Today? Come see!

in #vintage6 years ago (edited)

Once a year it's like Christmas for vintage lovers. The most wonderful time of the year, It's Spring Cleanup.

This once a year event means residents can put ANYTHING out at the curb for trash pickup. You can empty out a basement or attic and many do. You can't throw away food, yard waste or white appliances. You also have to keep construction stuff to a minimum. You only get some much of a weekly trash "allowance" you have to pay to go over it. This is the only time it's free to all.

Today began the southeast quadrant of town with trash pick up tomorrow.The curbs were loaded with stuff today and it will continue all night until the pickup at 7 am.

Here's what we got for our time and gas. Needless to say, we skipped estate sales. We are even thinking about going back out first thing in the morning!
cleanup 10 all.jpg
Here's good overall shot but it's still not all there.
Cleanup 1.jpg

Closeup on the pipe box in the center. It looked nice. I had no idea it was full of pipes and really nice English made ones. Lots of other trinkets in this cedar lined box. What fun!

pipe box 1.jpg
Very old car keys and skeleton keys inside too!
pipe box.jpg
The most interesting thing I found in that box is this all wood pipe Made in England with the logo of the 1933 Chicago World's Fair!! I've never seen anything like it, and in amazing condition.
world fairclean up 5.jpg

2 antique frames, most likely English. Beautiful. I can't have enough excellent old frames like this.
frames Clean up 2.jpg
Fonts alone will make me grab something and rescue from a landfill-
font cleanup.jpg
A good stack of games!
toys games.jpg
Gorgeous embroidered throw. No research done yet. Can't decide if it's old or new. Either way, very well made.
throw cleanup 9.jpg
I do lots of gardening in the summer and I haven't paid for a flow pot in YEARS. There's a white shelf there also from the curb and a long wood planter. In the first couple of pics. Loved this basket too. saw plenty of them.

Last year, I picked up an Italian lounge chair with a screw missing, got it into the van by myself, got it home. Jim fixed it and it sold on eBay for $750. It's always worth a shot, hoping for a big one this year!

What's it all worth? Hard to say, but I think anywhere between $500 to $1000 is reasonable. Pipes are worth the most so far.

The top 5 things we saw and didn't pick up- garden hoses, garden hose reel, mattress, broken wicker chair or any chair, rotted wood lawn furniture.

If you got this far, you might like vintage, check out some of my recent posts below!
Dogs of Vintage Garage
Vintage Garage Season Opener Review
What the Hell Chewbacca?
Blondie - Rapture 1981

Sort:  

You are my spirit animal in so many ways, haha.

I LOVE doing this! Curb pickup is my favorite thing ever! You got a great haul! Sometimes I find a lot, sometimes I don't, it just depends! It's all great for resale though, because it's FREEEE! Yeah!

Yes! and I'm not paying for a flower pot or garden tool or anything I know i will find at the curb :) I also picked up one of those Pottery Barn type kids rugs, So adorable, hoping my sister wants for my nieces. it's probably $500 new.

I had a big day yesterday on the curb. Will show you soon!

@bethwheatcraft I was thinking maybe you'd like to try this and we could expose our blogs to new people! Let me know what you think https://steemit.com/payitforward/@thedarkhorse/pay-it-forward-curation-contest-week-5-win-sbi-and-steem-bounty

Nevermind @bethwheatcraft you are too big! :)

Great post! we don't have anything like this where I live. sadly... Congrats on the treasure haul!

3 more weeks! i will get tired soon :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71