Vintage of the Day - The REAL Chewbacca & who the Hell did This?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #busy6 years ago

Chew 1.jpg

Published by Random House and illustrated by Patricia Wynne, no one will take responsibility for writing this story.

I’m glad I never saw this in 1983, it would have changed everything I thought and felt about the movies.

I saw the first 3 Star Wars movies at the theatre.

Unforgettable moment before Empire Strikes Back. It was packed. My Dad tells us it’s sold out. Devastating. How MUCH did we love Star Wars?

My brother starts to cry and I had tears in my eyes. My Dad whipped the tickets out of his pocket and said surprise! We were shaken but thrilled. This was a serious story. This book turns Star Wars into the Muppet Show.

Take everything you know about Chewbacca and turn it inside out.

Chewbacca has a family?

chew family.jpg

So- Chewbacca is Han Solo's right hand, right?

Han Solo and Chewbacca are bad ass, right?

They cruise the universe, stopping at outpost's and sleazy cantina's getting the lowdown on the Imperials. If there's no one around they tag the buildings with pro-rebel graffiti.

But here's Chewbacca's kid. Lumpy.

Chew 2.jpg
While Chewbacca’s on an important mission, Grandpa “Itchy” falls asleep and Lumpy disappears from their cozy tree house. He has one job! Keeping Chewie's kid above ground while he's out saving the universe.
Chew 3 (1).jpg

Lumpy takes off.

Chew 4.jpg

Wookie wife sends out some sort of ESP signal that idiot Lumpy is in trouble again.

wookie wife esp.jpg

Chewbacca is distraught.

Chew 6 upset Chewie.jpg

"Goddamnit Chewie!! WTF is wrong with that kid!! I can't even rev up the hyperdrive right now! So what do you suggest??

He borrows a fighter.

Chew 9.jpg

Predictably, he's in the same place as usual.

Chew 9a (3).jpg

The explanation.

Hero like you (1).jpg

The Punishment.

Chew 10.jpg
next time airlock.jpg

Love vintage? Check out more posts from this week!

Battlestar Gallactica Colorforms
Unauthorized Mid Century Home Tour
Our Ford 66
Vintage Garage Season Opener
Ever Been to Estate Sale?

Sort:  

I love it when I see you posting about things I had as a kid. If you had this back then you would have loved it! 😉

I can’t believe your dad did that to you with the Empire tickets!! Traumatizing

My fave personal Star Wars memory... When Jedi came out it was playing at the UA150 Theater in Seattle across the street the King Theater did a limited release and perfectly timed showing of Star Wars & Empire. So my parents & I went to all 3 in a row! 💛

Wow that's a great memory!!

Right? Thanks Dad! We still talk about it to him and he still laughs!

@vgc5000 this Chew is for you!

I love this! OMG i saw a stuffed Chewbacca at the show Sunday, I'm like my God now he's a stuffed animal!

omg this is freakin hysterical....so good. Love the hairless Wookie. I had a can named chewie. she also came when i called her wookie. she was siamese and she roared a lot. Keep up the great posts!

that's hysterical. Tee hee!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36