The shit i've seen miners do .. as an electrician

in #vincentb7 years ago (edited)

So a little background on me, I am not a writer.. or a blogger Truth be told I can hardly spell however I am a Master Electrician, I was first introduced to bitcoin when a friend of mine asked me if I wanted to partner up with him in 2013... Yea 2013.. to mine some bitcoins, he needed my skills to set up power for the units. Unfortunately he was addicted to drugs and couldn't be trust with $5.00 so the project never went forwards and no lambos were mined.

Over the last few years I received a handful of calls to my small electrical business to review power and determine if people had enough juice to run X amount of machines, it always seemed funny to me that people were so interested in this magical fake money they were willing to spend thousands upon thousands upgrading and buying equipment, I wasn't aware that this "fake" money could increase in value ...

Flash forward to today ... recently I have been receiving a large amount of calls from people that are running way too many machines and over heating the main electrical supply, people are actually risking there families lives to mine coins.. Just yesterday I got a call that a customers main breaker kept on tripping, I showed up at the house to find the main electrical panel cover completely off and 12 AWG NMD90 cables (wire designed to be located inside walls) strung out all over the room to different plug locations. The guy was using 125V standard outlets wired into a 240V supply completely ignoring safety ratings. Come on, the guy had 10 machines in the room, each machine cost $3000.00 CAD that's $30,000.00 But he couldn't be bothered to pay an extra 10-15 bucks per machine to have rated outlets. Anyways The customers breaker is over heated, it won't turn on. (Breakers do that when you pump 10 miners through them without giving a shit) But the customer tells me it's okay, it happens all the time, we just have to wait.. well it's Sunday, I have no interest in sticking around. I tell the him everything I see wrong with his operation, not rocket science just common electrical safety standards. We chat a little about mining and electrical and the guy asks me to come for a drive so I can see his friends system.. Sure why not I say... We drive 5 minutes and we enter a house that has 3 kids playing in the living room and the customers friend greets us at the door.. lets call him Bob.. Bob proceeds to take us down stairs to show me his setup, he has twice the amount of machines a large exhaust system, same NMD90 wires strung out all over the place and the same 125V plugs being fed by 240V... I tell Bob the same things I told customer #1 however bob spends a lot of time trying to convince me everything is right.. Yea right Bob..

My recommendation to anyone mining coins at home, never exceed 80% of your main breaker, Home systems are not rated the same as commercial systems. They just are not suppose to run all the time. Use proper ratings and stay safe, electrical fires are going to happen, don't put your family at risk. Call an electrician or research everything first.

One has to wonder how much money people are making with these GPU mining units if they won't even hire a qualified electrician to install the equipment properly and safely. Or are people afraid that an electrician will tell them the bad news " sorry sir you just don't have enough power in the house to power 500 machines"

Guys thanks for reading, first time on Steemit.. I have a small Bitcoin Mining operation myself and I am totally addicted to Bitcoins & Alta Coins.

Let me know what you think about this, I run into a lot of funny people doing funny things... Would love to share

Sort:  

Congratulations @rwelectric, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @rwelectric! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rwelectric! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55