Northern Loop Part 2 - Ha Giang to Yen Minh (Vlog Included)

in #vietnam7 years ago

IMG_0698.jpg

The Northern Loop is my blog series about a short motorbike trip in North Vietnam, starting and ending in Ha Giang.

Northern Loop Part 2 - Ha Giang to Yen Minh

baby flourish.png

We left Hanoi by sleeper bus, and very little sleep was had by either @doctorcrypto or myself. The "beds" were tiny and I spent 8 hours sandwiched between my brother and a stranger. By the end of the ride, the whole bus was wet from so many people breathing and it smelled like ass and feet. We got off the bus as soon as it arrived in town. Unfortunately, it was 03:00 and Ha Giang is a ghost town at that hour.

IMG_0683.jpg

Ha Giang, early in the morning.

A taxi came by and I told him which motorbike place that I wanted to go to (QT Motorbikes). The driver took us to a different place that was a hotel. We worked out a deal to get a room for 6 hours and said that we were interested in renting motorbikes.

We woke up and I went down to check out the bikes. The place where we stayed at only had a few dirty bikes that didn't have luggage racks. QT Motorbikes was close, so I walked down there to see what their bikes looked like. QT had a ton of bikes and they all looked to be in excellent condition. They also had luggage racks. I talked to a guy there and his English was great. He said he would help us plan a route.

20180113_084114.jpg

I saw this on the way to QT motorbikes. It looks like someone just went duck shopping.

I went back to the hotel where @doctorcrypto was getting ready for the day. I told him what I saw and we decided to rent from QT. The guy at the hotel seemed disappointed that we weren't going to rent motorbikes from him, but I really needed someone with strong English skills to help us with our route planning. I also knew from experience how important luggage racks are for people with as much luggage as us.

We rented two Honda Blades for 7 days and the total price was something like $65 (USD). It seemed pretty reasonable to me. We planned our route, filled up our gas tanks, and got on the road.

baby flourish.png

We started out following a muddy river but after a while, the water cleared up. The weather was pretty cold, but we had brought a fair amount of cold weather gear. I had forgotten to put my sweatpants on underneath my pants and my legs got uncomfortably cold. I ended up putting on my rain pants to keep some of the cold wind off of my legs.

IMG_0686.jpg

Taking a photo stop. We took a lot of these.

IMG_0685.jpg

Riding next to rivers is awesome. The roads are generally flat and curvy which makes for some great riding.

20180113_110124_Richtone(HDR).jpg

The river got clearer as we gained elevation.

IMG_0691.jpg

This is me.

20180113_113203_Richtone(HDR).jpg

A nice valley-view with some rice terraces.

20180113_122505_Richtone(HDR).jpg

I love the fading silhouettes of the mountains in the distance.

IMG_0697.jpg

@doctorcrypto enjoying the view.

baby flourish.png

We gained some elevation and started getting into the mountains. The lush, rocky landscape had a mystical quality to it in the cool haze of the morning.

When we got to the top of a mountain, there was an overlook cafe that looked inviting. We stopped for some coffee and a few photos.

IMG_0706.jpg

Some people carrying heavy loads down a long, steep road. It's amazing how much walking and work the locals do every day, just to make ends meet.

IMG_0705.jpg

One of the cafe's plants.

IMG_0708.jpg

We played a little shuttlecock with some locals to get warmed up.

baby flourish.png

The cafe didn't serve food, so we decided to ride down the mountain and stop at the next town for lunch. We had been in Vietnam for 2 days and still hadn't had any pho yet. So pho was what we were looking for.

20180113_130155_Richtone(HDR).jpg

A view of the town we stopped in for lunch.

IMG_0712.jpg

We saw a Pho sign and stopped for lunch. This is what the street in front of the restaurant looked like.

IMG_0710.jpg

@doctorcrypto anxiously awaiting his Pho.

We had chicken pho, and it wasn't very good. The soup and everything was fine, but the meat was tough and didn't taste very good. We would have excellent pho on the next day, so it wasn't a huge loss. This place did have some great spicy paste to add to the soup. It had a great smokey, spicy flavor.

baby flourish.png

After warming up with Pho, we got back on the road to make our way to Yen Minh. The day's route was pretty short, so we took our time and stopped for photos when we felt the need.

20180113_142531_Richtone(HDR).jpg

The amount of cargo that people carry on bicycles and motorbikes is incredible.

20180113_150645_Richtone(HDR).jpg

A little bit of sunlight trying to shine through.

IMG_0715.jpg

A nice big valley.

baby flourish.png

We made it to Tom's Homestay in Yen Minh without any problems. We unloaded our bikes and went downstairs for a few beers.

20180113_173341.jpg

@doctorcrypto and @fronttowardenemy

We were some of the first guests to arrive, but soon the place was filled with people from all over the world. We had some good conversations and spent a lot of time marveling with the others at how amazing the riding, the land, and the people in Vietnam are.

@doctorcrypto and I went into town for dinner and he went with meat-on-a-stick. I'm not a fan of the meat in Vietnam, so I stuck with beer and bought some snacks from a store.

20180113_185941.jpg

@doctorcrypto waiting for some meat!

After a few beers in town, we went back to the homestay. We spent some time hanging out with the other guests and Tom, the owner, but we didn't stay up too late.

baby flourish.png

We've made a little vlog about the trip. Here's episode 1.

Northern Loop - Episode 1

The video is pretty rough. I'm not much of a video editor, but it should give you a feel for some of what we experienced. The videos should get a little better as the series progresses.

baby flourish.png

map.jpg

Our route for day 1. We were mostly going north.

baby flourish.png

Stay tuned for my next post where we ride from Yen Minh to Dong Van. I'm going slow with my posting because I've got all the photos to touch up as well as the videos to edit. Until next time, ride safe!

Sort:  

I miss Tom.

Me too. It's nuts that he was only 17 and still in high school while running that business.

Maybe we should start a home stay.

well...i guess the best is yet to come... Ma Pi Lang Pass from Meo Vac to Dong Van... can't wait for the next episode ;-)

I've been to Hanoi 5 times and never had the time to leave the city. What a shame.

It's so hard to get out sometimes. So many places in Vietnam that I went to, I just wanted to spend all of my time there. That's sort of how I got stuck in Da Nang for more than 3 months.

It is hard to get out of other commitments, but treating myself to this is something I have to do very soon. My visits were 2 days' at a time, except for once when I stayed for a week. Stuck in Da Nang, sounds awesome.

smelled like ass and feet.

😂 not ideal! The more I look at you and your bros posts the more I want to go!!!

It was pretty spectacular. The north of Vietnam didn't leave a great impression on me the first time I was there (I just liked other areas more), but the Ha Giang loop was worth coming back for. The landscape really is incredible.

This is my Notification List. If you would like to be added or removed from this list, please reply to this comment.

@iddm1dm
@grr8-one
@doctorcrypto
@beatseb
@achraf7b
@surfdog
@originalworks
@steemchiller
@loveliness0427
@carlgnash
@jaichai
@derekcowan

Thank you fronttowardenemy for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 5.83% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

This post has received gratitude of 2.45 % from @appreciator thanks to: @fronttowardenemy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56677.48
ETH 2329.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36