I made a fan music video for Tool's "Stinkfist" in 2002.

in #video6 years ago (edited)

Please be gentle on your feedback on this, it's 16 years old and shot on MiniDV. Very, very pre-HD. I was 22.
I typically don't show this video due to the female in the video being someone in my (very distant) past, but it came
up in conversation so I figured what the hell.

Camera used: Canon Optura (1st Gen)
Edited using EditDV software (long gone now).

To learn about the #wwtop5pix initiative,
PLEASE CLICK HERE.

Sort:  

This is dope. Vintage yet very creative

I had the Optura PI, my first miniDV camera. Was the letterbox in camera, or later in EditDV?

Ah, the days of worrying about video capture cards!

Nice! I sold several of those when I worked in the camera shop. I liked the 1st gen better for only one reason, and that was because it had a 1/8th second shutter speed, creating some great motion blur. This is what I took advantage of in this video for the "whirring head" effect. The lowest you could go on the Pi was like 1/15 or 1/30.

The letterbox was added later, as I was a big fan of widescreen movies on VHS and DVD back then, and I thought it looked better than full-screen SD video. Also, I don't recall having IEEE-1394 card issues. I was pretty lucky, I think.

I knew that was going to be good coming from you. I do not really like that for music but you have talent, so I was eager to watch this..... it was awesome man.

It is freaky watching you and the female laying down and rising from each other etc.

Thanks in advance for the nightmares in about 12 hours tonight LOL

It is really good!

Retro stuff is back in these days anyways, so maybe it will get picked up by VH1 soon.

(:

OMG, VH1 still exists???

IDK man lol

I was wondering that as I typed but even if just for a cultural milestone marker I knew you would get that the millennials don't it was worth a shot.

lol

I miss Pop-Up Video.

hello, very good pictures. I invite you to see my photos and publications https://steemit.com/@peterjoseph265

WOW. certain that the outstanding work!
I want you to know that I love it!

Woow Man! As a huge Tool-fan I can say its great! Inspiration of original is well seen but its not bad at all, it looks great, realistic and very well done! You put Your own ideas as well in the best proffesional way. Great job! Congratulations!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43