THE WILD-MAN EDUCATES - HOW TO TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A NORTHERN WATER SNAKE AND A PLAIN-BELLIED WATER SNAKE

in #video7 years ago

Sometimes in life, accurate identification of a wild animal can be crucial.


Water snakes are among those creatures that many people are very confused and timid about, and with good reason. Yes, some venomous species do exist, and when that truth is coupled with fear and propaganda, soon every snake near the water becomes a potentially fatal situation in the minds of many.

There are so many nonvenomous snakes that will swim out there, and many species of water snakes that are not venomous. I believe that it is the duty of humans to at least attempt to educate themselves about the wild creatures that they may encounter ahead of time. Who really wants to be uneducated and ignorant?

I have been planning on making this video for some time now, and finally caught the species that I needed at the same time. With the different colors and patterns within a species, often accurate identification can be difficult. Both the Northern Water Snake and the Plain-Bellied Water Snake are nonvenomous, but since their populations overlap in many areas, it is worth the effort to be able to distinguish between the two.

In this video, @papa-pepper attempts to break things down into the simplest terms to understand. I try to make is very easy for even the most unfamiliar person to be able to accurately differentiate between these two common species of water snake.

HOW TO TELL THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN A NORTHERN WATER SNAKE AND A PLAIN-BELLIED WATER SNAKE

In case you didn't pick up on it, this was supposed to be a #funny one because I enjoy #humor too. After all, I am a humorist. Thanks!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-difference



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

sometimes in life, accurate identification of a wild animal can be crucial

Yep, I totally agree. And in some cases it can be a matter of life or death. Thanks for sharing! I am petrified of snakes, it's a phobia actually, and I would not hold one in my hands under any circumstance.. 😨

@imwatsi ~ I write poems


You are not alone in that phobia. Thank you for checking it out anyway @imwatsi!

It was a pleasure, frighteningly so ☺

Interesting post. You seem to be the real deal :D
Crocodile Dande :) Followed!

LOL - Yeah, it is a life-long hobby of mine.

@Papa-pepper, I started to clean up ,,, on this suggestion,
You know? You will be very successful and famous here after a few more months ... believe in ourselves ,,, Because from now on, I assure papa-pepper ,,, that this will be proud to be "papa-peper suggestion of steemit" age life,,,
I know it's because I'm there. I love to join steemit all this time.So, I'll see all the amazing things here, including all the other tomato legends, stretching right in front of my eyes ...
Time to return to the future. See you later. Positive results.follow me @jakir..

There are less venemous snakes than non venemous in the world

Right, so many are pretty much completely harmless.

I will avoid snakes anyways but thanks papa

Many people do. I understand.

Thanks for the information regarding water snake. I usually don't pay attention to northern water snake vs plain-bellied water snake, but I definitely keep that in mind when heading out on the bayou.

Many do not pay attention, but if they want to, now they can! Thanks!

No doubt... I will definitely keep and eye out for sure. thanks!

so dangerous @papa-pepper be carefull ^_^

They only bite, then I bleed, then that's about it, but thank you!

snake have poison and then flow on body,that so dangerous @papa-pepper

Most do not have any venom. These are nonvenomous.

hmm alright @papa-pepper dont catch cobra papa :D

Really educating

Sometimes it can be! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64136.76
ETH 3522.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57