REVISITING UNDERWATER FILMING AND PHOTOGRAPHY WITH MY NEW STEEM-POWERED GOPRO

in #video7 years ago

Yes, @papa-pepper even loves animals enough to follow them into the water!


Just over a week ago, I attempted to film some creatures underwater and take a few photographs. The video was pretty good, but the photos were not. Well, for a $30 camera from a supercenter, they were about what you would expect. Here is an example.

Though you may not be able to completely tell, that was a really cute baby turtle underwater in the photo. After making a post about it and asking some questions, it seemed like the majority of people were encouraging me to invest in a better camera and try again.

STEEM-POWERED GOPRO


Whenever I cash out some STEEM/SBD and make a purchase, I call the item (or animal) “STEEM-Powered” because it was purchased with funds from steemit. Obviously this platform has been blessing a lot of people and I thought that it would be worthwhile for me to use some of my SBD to invest in my content, hence the upgrade.

This little GoPro was quite different from the other underwater camera, and the cost was about 10X as much. Once I picked it up, it was time to head back to the lake. Here are two videos of Northern Water Snakes swimming underwater, one with the cheaper camera and one with the GoPro.

$30 Camera Video



GoPro Video

I thought it was pretty cool to see how that Largemouth Bass stopped by to check out the snake in the GoPro video. As I said earlier, I was still impressed with the video quality of the $30 camera. Also, I think that it is awesome to be able to swim underwater after a snake and video the event either way.

PHOTOS

It was the photography that was my main reason for the upgrade. Above is one of the first underwater photos that I took with my GoPro. You should be able to see two bass in the photo.

Here is a phot of a Northern Water Snake heading up to the surface to get some air. I had fun trying to “capture” this creature underwater with the GoPro.

Overall, I like the quality of the photos. Obviously the water is a little murky and there are some sediments floating in the water too. To make matters even worse, snakes like to hide.

When they dive into the weeds at the bottom of the lake, they are much harder to photograph, plus, they can add more sediment to the water by stirring up dirt and debris from the lake bottom. We will have to see what this GoPro can do in some clearer water. Maybe I’ll even head to the Gulf of Mexico and give it a try.

I’ll get creative and keep it up. One final thing that I found while snorkeling should be of special steemit interest. It was a whole school of minnows! Yep, I love you guys and you seem to be everywhere these days!

LOOK STEEMIT – PAPA FOUND MORE MINNOWS!!!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-snake-photo-taken-with-gopro



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Yeah, it's always crazy, what camera will work best. Not always the most expensive. Great shots of the snakes, although I'll say the cute turtle is my favorite of the photo set. Nice post as always!

good_job_cute_chibi_cartoon_turtle_square_sticker-r704c8724ce9a4bcaa57976c6881f758d_v9wf3_8byvr_630.jpg
link

I'll see if I can get some better underwater turtle photos for you. Might head to the lake today!

You do so many scary things on land & now underwater as well.

WOAH.. that is a killer video!! Water snakes are cool, but creepy at the same time lol

Awesome vids! Really cool when the bass was swimming with the snake. How did you post the videos on Steemit?

Awesome videos @pappa-pepper. Both of them are good. That bass is lucky the snake was distracted by you being there, or it just might have had bass for a snack. That would have been cool to catch on camera.

I agree, a bigger bass could have eaten the snake, but that snake was just about the right size to eat that bass!

I think it was cool to see that bass cruise up to check it out though.

The next trip will be in space?

If STEEM goes to the moon, I'll have to follow!

I think it will go further to the stars!

snakes underwater?

nope, im out! :)

(nice pics tho ;) )

Oh man @papa-pepper is really brave, I don't think that I could do it! Steem powered snake hahaha

These snakes may be wild, but they are still friends of mine. I'm comfortable around them.

😂😂😂😂 looks like the snake gives zero fux abt papa

Great stuff once again haha the last picture with the snake is classic papa-pepper haha

I'm going to adopt your term "Steem Powered". :) I am putting my Steem dollars to use on my homestead. We're trying to get sheep and every bit I earn from here is going to that. I think a commemorative post (like your cedar post you made with Zac) will be in order when I achieve the goal!

Snake under water?huhu
But your post awesome bro😂
But dont forget to upvote my blog too😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09