ATTEMPTING TO FILM A NORTHERN WATER SNAKE UNDERWATER - BROADENING MY HORIZONS

in #video7 years ago

I have always loved capturing wild animals, even if it is just on film.


Most of the time, I really had no reason to do so though. It seems that few people print out photos these days and carrying a camera half the places that I wind up can be difficult. Since I am now able to share more of what I love doing, I thought that I may try taking things to the next level. I’m kind of easing into this, so I purchased a low-end, $30 underwater camera from a discount store the other day.

When I took the @little-peppers to the lake and we found out that the park was underwater, we kept on having fun in our own style. The @little-peppers had even brought some goggles and wanted me to try. I think the last time that I wore goggles swimming was probably in 2005 down in Acapulco. There were a lot of interesting fish in an underwater rock pile and I wanted to check them out. I had to string together some Spanish at the gift shop and asked the cashier for “anteojos para debajo del agua,” which pretty much means "glasses for under the water." Thankfully, the man knew what I meant.

Anyway, We had found some animals there at the lake, and I got a chance to see what a Northern Water Snake looked like swimming under the water. Normally, I am outside of the water looking in, so this was a real treat. I thought, why not get an underwater camera and try to film it?

I wanted to start off slow, so I went with a cheaper camera, and the photos that I took underwater testify to that.

This cute little turtle just doesn't look so cute anymore.

I think that this would have made a fantastic shot too, with Pinkie-Pepper underwater checking out a Musk Turtle. Yes, the water was a little murky, but still. I think that I may go in for that upgrade. (The cover photo is of a different Northern Water Snake that I took with a different camera.)

The @little-peppers did get a chance to learn how to snorkel and the video was actually not that bad... at least not as bad as the photos. Have any of you ever saw a snake swimming under the water like this. In all my years of interacting with them, I had never actually stuck my head in the water and taken a look. At least I filmed it so you don't have to do it yourself. See what you think!

NORTHERN WATER SNAKE UNDERWATER


I think that if I spent a little more than $30, I could probably get an underwater camera that could do a much better job. What do you guys think? Should I give it a go and see what I can do?



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Your adventures are exciting to read and see, so better camera would definitely enhance the experience :) thanks for sharing this, glad you had a good time with the little one.

Sure, give it a go and see what you can do😃

Thank you for your encouragement!

Nice! They swim so cool! Here's a video I took of one swimming in a Pond behind my old house:

Hmm I already don't like messing with endless and now its swimming....and your with it
I'll just watch the video

It was kind of like swimming with dolphins... for the snake! LOL!

Haha i know right, but that's why id stay away. A scared animal is an unpredictable one and i don't know snakes o.o

Have you looked into a GoPro? Seems like it would get you the best bang for you buck photo wise.

If that's a bit too expensive a cheap waterproof phone case meant for taking underwater photos can work wonders. The shots will be a bit cloudy and unfocused compared to a GoPro but they'll still be really good and it's a $20 or so investment. I got one in Key West prior to a expedition. It worked wonders and my phone never got a drop of water in it.

I was thinking about that. Thanks for suggesting GoPro!

No problem! Best of luck finding something :)

I want a snake pet now for some odd reason lol

Really don't have the guts to this not a fan of the snakes but i think you may just change my thoughts on things that slither.
ps great adventure

Thank you. I had a great time and was happy to give it a go.

that's all that really matters

How are you keeping up with the snake underwater?

To keep up with it I just had to swim the same speed. LOL, not sure otherwise. ;-)

Nice job keeping the camera stable. You swim like a fish.

I love the turtle dude but the snake looks pretty mean.
Be careful buddy.
@tremendospercy

I will be careful. So far so good, so we will see what happens! Thanks!

Yeah man, don't do a Steve Irwin.
I loved that dude and a stingray got him in the end.
Bloody tragic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62701.29
ETH 3435.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58