Moviemaking Concepts: Post-Production - Offline Editing

in #video5 years ago

Ah, my favourite thing to talk about. Editing movies!

Video Transcript
Hello! I am the artist known as DEROSNEC, and welcome to my bi-weekly vlog where I talk about making music, art, movies, and more.

Shooting has finally wrapped, and now the film can officially move into post-production! This is my favourite part - though obviously I’m a little biased as an editor!

Getting the Footage to the Editor

Back in the film days, the exposed reels would be taken to a lab, where they could be developed. A work print would be made from the negatives, and those reels would be given to the Editors and their Assistant Editors to start sorting through.

These days, this process can go a few different ways depending on the production’s budget. For most productions, the Digital Imaging Technician (or DIT), organizes and backs up all the footage onto hard drives every day as they shoot on set.

On big productions, those drives are taken to a Dailies facility, who will transcode all the raw footage that the camera shot and turn everything into files that are easy for the Editor to edit. On smaller productions, Assistant Editors will usually do that job instead.

Learning the Footage

Once all the footage is prepped into a work-friendly format, the Assistant Editor will start organizing the footage by scene, shot, and take. If they’re using a software like AVID Media Composer, they can take advantage of some cool tools like ScriptSync, where they can link up clips to a pdf of a script.

They’ll compare the footage to the Script Supervisor’s reports to make sure it’s all accounted for, and add metadata, notes, and sync up the audio with the video as appropriate. The more organized they are, the better - because big projects can have hundreds if not thousands of hours of footage that the team will need to be able to watch and search through easily.

For example, the first feature film that I ever cut was a documentary called “Citizen Marc”. We had over 150 hours of footage from all sorts of formats and places, including footage we’d shot as well as newsreels, stock footage, and archival material. To be able to make a 90 minute movie that made sense from all of that, meant that I had to have a very detailed and clear system at my fingertips to be able to pull up whatever the director wanted to see at a click of a button.

Once it’s all organized, the Editor will watch through all the footage, and make notes. These notes could be technical, as in “Shot 6C take 4 is out of focus”, or creative, as in “this performance made me cry”.

Editing

The Editor now can start assembling scenes. Every editor works a little differently in how they choose takes, but generally speaking they want to find the clearest and most emotional way to tell the story. I’m going to take a page out of one my favourite editor’s handbooks to explain what most editors look for when they’re working, in order of importance:

1. Emotion - the impactfulness of the shot, performance, and the scene as a whole
2. Story - the clarity and entertainment value of the film as a whole as well as all of its parts.
3. Rhythm - the pace at which things are cutting compared with the emotion and performance of the shot, both from an acting and a shot perspective
4. Eye Trace - where the viewer’s eye is at any given point (or where do you want them to look?)
5. Two Dimensional Space - Does the order of shots follow the 180 degree rule?
6. Three Dimensional Space - Is the staging within the scene following continuity?

*The 6 Rules of Editing as outlined by Walter Murch, ACE

Challenges

They say that a film is re-written three times: while making the script, while shooting, and while editing. This means that the Editor is responsible for the final re-write of the film. This comes with a lot of responsibilities.

The Editor is the advocate of the final viewer - he or she needs to be able to look at the film objectively, and make decisions that accurately convey everything that’s happening to the widest audience possible. But at the same time, the Editor has to stay true to the Director’s vision, and sometimes the Producer’s decisions.

This means that there a lot of people to keep happy and the politics can turn into a bit of a dance, but great editors will find ways to pose questions and discuss potential issues with the team with the intent to find solutions. Sometimes it can be brutally hard - for example, a shot you really need just doesn’t exist and it’s not possible to do a re-shoot! Here’s where creativity and knowledge of storytelling fundamentals are key.

It’s not uncommon for scenes to go through many many versions - sometimes even up to the hundreds! But once you find it, that feeling is amazing, and the final product is better for it.

What did you think film Editors do before watching this video? Do you notice editing in movies? Tell me about some films that stick out to you in terms of editing and what you like about them in the comments!

Thanks for watching - hit that thumbs up button below - it helps me more than you know - and join the uncensored by subscribing to my Youtube channel, my newsletter, or by following me on facebook, twitter, and instagram! If you never want to miss a video, be sure to click the little notification bell icon, too.

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinArt StoreThreadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

NOTE: These Thursday Vlog transcripts can also be found published on my website: http://derosnec.com as well as my Steemit and Whaleshares blogs.

Sort:  

Another great and informative video and post, I was really struck by how it took 150 hours of footage to make a 90 Minute movie I am totally floors by that I knew a lot of footage wouldn't be used but never knew it could be so much

thanks for these post I am loving them

Thanks so much! Yes, and our doc wasn't even that crazy in terms of time. In a lot of features, the amount of hours shot is actually much much more... sometimes in the thousands of hours! D:

WOW those sort of hours just blows me away and makes me appreciate shows and movies I see now

Hey, @derosnec.

Really good job here. Very informative, and yet short and sweet. I can see you're good at what you do, and knowledgeable about it, too. :)

I am far from being a professional editor, but I have worked on video production for school and for fun, and the part that always seems to take the longest is the editing. I can storyboard, write scripts, plan shoots, do the shooting, reshoot, etc., add some post production types of things, but then it comes time to putting it all together, and that's where I find I'm just too picky for my own good. I would not do well on a production schedule. :)

Still, there is some sense of satisfaction when it's all done.

The thing that concerns me with any editing, be it written, film/video, music, art, or something else, since it is so time consuming, and can take time to get right, it's a lot of toil and effort that only a very small number of people are ever going to appreciate. The vast majority of readers, viewers, listeners, etc., aren't going to care. They're not going to see the quality or the slaving over it. It will boil down to whether they liked it or not, and that will be about as complex for them as it gets.

Sorry. I guess I ranted there for a moment. You might be able to identify. Or, you might be so good at this you can do in a few hours what takes me days to do. :) Which would be why you're a professional film editor, and I'm not.

Oh, and by the way, since you're derosnec, I take it that means you're the opposite of censored? :)

haha thanks for watching @glenalbrethsen! I've done the whole production gamut as well but I ultimately have found my place in editing because I recognized that I have the most fun when I have all the pieces of the puzzle and get to put them together. Finishing is my favourite part of the process! I get the final say in how everything gets put out there.

In my youth I struggled with what you rant about - the fact that really no one will ever appreciate just how much effort and time it takes to edit (anything, not just film!) - but in my older years (if you can call it that, lol) I've learned to like promoting the mystery behind the role. Not a lot of people actually know what it is, which makes it fun to talk about. And I could talk about editing theory all day....

..and yes! I am the complete opposite of censored ;)

Always amazing to see this series ! Love the video and editing seems a very crucial step to movie making and this post of yours really illustrate why ! :D

I first responded on WhaleShares just now but I'm going to follow you over here as well.

Great video once again. I personally love and hate the editing process. Usually when I start I will do something that seems cool but after I watch it 20 times I think it looks stupid and the video sucks.

Memento is a movie that I really liked the way it was edited. Also American History X.

haha thank you for commenting on both! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by derosnec from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Energetic as ever - thanks for this lively peak into your world @derosnec!

Thanks for stopping by! Long time no see :D

Was on a sabbatical of sorts, one might say. See the way toward freedom from its own misconceptions for humankind more clearly now...just so damn difficult to convey! Good to see you still around!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 374 (01/18/19)

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Hello @derosnec, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78