You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moviemaking Concepts: Post-Production - Offline Editing

in #video6 years ago

Hey, @derosnec.

Really good job here. Very informative, and yet short and sweet. I can see you're good at what you do, and knowledgeable about it, too. :)

I am far from being a professional editor, but I have worked on video production for school and for fun, and the part that always seems to take the longest is the editing. I can storyboard, write scripts, plan shoots, do the shooting, reshoot, etc., add some post production types of things, but then it comes time to putting it all together, and that's where I find I'm just too picky for my own good. I would not do well on a production schedule. :)

Still, there is some sense of satisfaction when it's all done.

The thing that concerns me with any editing, be it written, film/video, music, art, or something else, since it is so time consuming, and can take time to get right, it's a lot of toil and effort that only a very small number of people are ever going to appreciate. The vast majority of readers, viewers, listeners, etc., aren't going to care. They're not going to see the quality or the slaving over it. It will boil down to whether they liked it or not, and that will be about as complex for them as it gets.

Sorry. I guess I ranted there for a moment. You might be able to identify. Or, you might be so good at this you can do in a few hours what takes me days to do. :) Which would be why you're a professional film editor, and I'm not.

Oh, and by the way, since you're derosnec, I take it that means you're the opposite of censored? :)

Sort:  

haha thanks for watching @glenalbrethsen! I've done the whole production gamut as well but I ultimately have found my place in editing because I recognized that I have the most fun when I have all the pieces of the puzzle and get to put them together. Finishing is my favourite part of the process! I get the final say in how everything gets put out there.

In my youth I struggled with what you rant about - the fact that really no one will ever appreciate just how much effort and time it takes to edit (anything, not just film!) - but in my older years (if you can call it that, lol) I've learned to like promoting the mystery behind the role. Not a lot of people actually know what it is, which makes it fun to talk about. And I could talk about editing theory all day....

..and yes! I am the complete opposite of censored ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.59
ETH 2604.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71