This has got to be a bug in the comment entry - it could have cost me money (by @ace108)

in #video7 years ago (edited)


In a contest I entered previously, I submitted a guess as "21." in the comment.
I was asked if my guess was "1" which was what seem to be displayed.
I edited the comment and found it was still "21." but the comment was displaying as "1." only.

Turned out I didn't win that time but I could have lost for the wrong reason and that would have suck bad.
This video is the evidence that it is a reproducible bug.


Watch it on Viewly


If you enter a number followed by a "." and a space, you'll hit it.
Try it in this post if you don't believe.

Recent Post

FIRST2
🌞#BeautifulSunday - Powered up Winners (extra 3) for the week with help of steemsql | 美丽星期天 - 这周赢家(加3)找了steemsql帮手
FIRST3
📊[IMPROVED] Top 20 Level 1 commenters for 20171211, active hours and how their comments looks like
FIRST4
📷 A different white Christmas❄️ |不一样的白色圣诞
FIRST5
📊🌏中日韩龙虎榜自20171208 | CJK Top Pending Payout Post since 20171208
FIRST6
🌷Flowers for a good week ahead - 好花让你好一周 (20171211) (ORIGINAL )
FIRST7
📊[IMPROVED] Top 20 Level 1 commenters for 20171210, active hours and how their comments looks like
FIRST8
#BeautifulSunday #WalkWithMe Changi Airport Terminal 3 | 跟我走到樟宜机场第3搭客厅😎 HK001
FIRST9
📊🌏中日韩龙虎榜自20171207 | CJK Top Pending Payout Post since 20171207

SEPARATOR-Dolphins In on Blue

Please see my other posts: @ace108

请看我其他帖: @ace108

Separator-ACE-800

I See👀. I Shoot📷. I Steemit♨️.


Sort:  

Above was entered as "21."

Above was entered as "12."

Above was entered as "34."
Is this funny or not?

continue type u will get: 1. 2. 3.

too bad you can't get the prize.
it might be because of the markdown.

One more suspecting it is markdown related as I do.

watched the movie...its interesting..

  1. <-- i type:312 and '.'
  2. <i type: 4776464361'.'

I think the markdown format plays the role making all in number orders.

i suspect you are right. still, it is a bug

And seems View.ly has a bug too. Could not post with my tags and only posted after I removed all the tags.

i didn't find that bug i write that in the comment box after seeing the video

You have to type something like "21.". start with 2 digits then type the "." and observe the preview

  1. big problem now i can see

awesome photo shots.

OK, you don't get the message here.

!originalworks

Should be @ not ! I think

It works with ! too. I tried before. Everyone is using @, i just want to be itchy backside.
See?

@ace108

It is actually not a bug but a feature of the markdown editor.

The markdown editor converts a number followed by a dot as a numerical bullet. It will also increase the bullet count when you use multiple number with that notation as shown below -

  1. Should turn to 1
  2. Should turn to 2

Confirmed, it is a markdown issue. I wrote "21. This should turn to 1"
"25. This should turn to 2"

I think few more agree it's markdown related but I think personally it is a bug. See next line I type "21." and it previews as "1." (with some space before) just doesn't feel right.

  1. Twenty-one

i could see the bug is still present in the system may be html errors

i think most of leaning towards issue with MarkDown. Then again, MarkDown is sort or related to HTML too.

this is a great mystery dear friend @ ace108, many times things happen to us that has no explanation, luckily everything went well.
I take the opportunity to wish you a great day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65021.86
ETH 3571.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33