A cure for counting sheep after sheep after sheep?

in #veterans6 years ago

Counting sheep doesn't help? Try their heavy wool!



As many of you know, I have a difficult time sleeping.   Over the years, I've discovered things that have acted as my sirens of the deep, luring sweet sleep to me.  After I've fallen asleep, the trick now becomes to STAY asleep.



We recently moved from a So-Cal home with central heat, to a cabin with a wood-burning stove in central California. Though we keep the house warm during the day, the temperatures can drop as the fire burns out at night. For this reason, I've started to layer blankets.


The first night I did this, I was amazed at how quickly and how deeply I fell asleep!  I never stirred throughout the night!   I assumed that it must have been chilly temperatures that were waking me, but I did notice something else that interested me.  When the blankets were layered, not only were they warmer, but they were heavier.  The fabric seemed to lightly press down on my body with gentle pressure, subconsciously calming and soothing me to stay asleep throughout the night.  It almost reminded me of the way a baby is calmed after swaddling. 


About a week later, I saw an ad for weighted blankets and their therapeutic benefit!  Weighted blankets?  I had never heard of them before but the concept was far from unfamiliar! Because of our son's sensory issues, we were well aware of the benefits of this type of pressure-related sensory stimulation. Most people agree that hugs "feel good", but did you know that there are actual biological reasons why they improve your mood? Unfortunately, not everyone can receive these benefits because the disadvantages of crossing the social and physical barrier to access those benefits prove to be too strong of a deterrant. The brilliant autistic savante Temple Grandin invented her Hug Machine to receive the benefits of the hug, without the anxiety-producing physical contact normally associated with a hug. 


However, most people are not flocking to the stores, excited to buy a large, complex Hug Machine to put in their homes. Regardless of their benefit, there needs to be a convenient and simple solution.


The weighted blanket seems to be that solution.


This particular blanket from Gravity has designed their blanket based on the research from The Journal of Occupational Therapy in Mental Health, The Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists, Proceedings of the SIGCHI Conference, and Journal of Sleep Medicine & Disorders.  

Weighted blankets are engineered to be 7-12% of your body weight to relax the nervous system by simulating the feeling of being held or hugged. More specifically, Gravity uses the power of proprioceptive input (more commonly known as “deep touch pressure stimulation”), a well regarded therapeutic method that stimulates pressure points on the body linked to improved sleep, mood, and relaxation. 

Source


They're not only beneficial for autistic people, but also for people who struggle with PTSD, insomnia, emotional disorders, anxiety, and the like.  The company who designed the Mosaic Weighted blanket offers this perspective.


When fearful thoughts strike, a weighted blanket draped over your body supports feelings of comfort and security. The deep pressure touch stimulation has been found to weaken unwanted thoughts and relax muscle tension. Equivalent to the benefits of massage, moderate pressure applied to the body fosters the natural production of serotonin. Serotonin, a hormone, transforms to melatonin, which induces sleepiness and helps to maintain sleep throughout the night.

 Source


After seeing this, I immediately messaged @guiltyparties to let him know that this might be something to suggest to his veterans group, as many veterans are plagued with PTSD and the insomnia that follows.   He agreed and asked if I would be willing to compile it into a simple post to share.   


Not only can I suggest that this might be an effective method to treat insomnia, but I can tell you from experience as someone who has used essential oils, OTC drugs, music, meditation, and other "tricks" to stay asleep, the pressure from my layered blankets has been the most simple and least intrusive method for a successful night sleep! If the price of a single weighted blanket is a deterrant to your budget right now, I would suggest layering in the meantime! Though it is slightly bulky and inconvenient to adjust multiple blankets if you're a restless sleeper, I do find that once I'm under the weight of the blankets, I move less frequently throughout the night.  One weighted, temperature controlled blanket is obviously ideal, but given the choice of insomnia or a sound night of sleep - I hope that the idea of layered blankets can be an adequate substitute while you wait.  


If anyone tries this, please do let me know if it affected your sleep for the better!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this info @dreemsteem, I will definitely look into buying one of these online (live in South Africa) and give to my one son who lives on his own and has very bad insomnia, will be perfect as we're also going into winter!

I'm glad that this might help your son!!! (moms and our sons, right? hehehe) I'm really anxious to know how it works for someone! Right now - i'm only using my layered blankets - but this blanket looks so much better! (and convenient)

please do let me know!!! :)

Will do @dreamsteem and yes, mothers and our sons; we always worry and funny how they differ, life is a breeze for one but the other one somehow attracts problems! I've checked and this is available in our country, will let you know, thanks :)

I can definitely relate except for one thing; most of the time when I wake up, all of the blankets are on the floor and I find myself on top of my bookshelf...

Okay, that's an exaggeration, but you get my point ; )

Maybe you need a 200 pound weighted blanket? ;)

Hahahahahaha that might work! :D

Hi dreemsteem :) just wanted to let you know, you can now send tips like this:
@tipu send tip

Ohhhh wow!!!! Thank you!!!!! 😊

But what about if I want it to stay simple? Continue to use it with the "simple" after?

And I love to keep it simple (without adding my post onto their comment) but I also LOVED when @tipu would automatically upvote my comment too! Hehehe

Is there a way to do both? :)

Thank you @cardboard!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this service and I use it often! :)
I'm thinking about writing a post on it!!!

Glad you liked it:) yep, all tips sent like this will have "simple" comment. Haven't added an option to choose comment type to this method yet :s

Yup. me. I have a heavy cotton coverlet and a down duvet and a wool blanket. I like to feel the heaviness of my blankies. In the summer I always use two cotton coverlets. The mister doesn't like the feel of heavy blankets so he uses sheets. Boring.

I'm with you on feeling the weight of blanket security.

yeah!!! my mister doesn't either hahahah so the extra blankets just go on me! :) they just dont know what they're missing!!! hehehehe

Logic certainly backs up the theory and your post sheds light on the reason why a product such as "The Thunder Shirt" for dogs works.

I am quite hot blooded and sleep much better in a cool room than a warm one. But, even if the room is too hot, I sleep better with something blanketing me rather than with no cover. Something simply resting on me is soothing, physically and mentally.

So, from my own experience I can tell you that your suggestion definitely works for me and will for others as well.

yes... i agree - the nice thing about the (expensive) blankets is that they claim to give the weight without adding too much heat! I'm thinking about buying one for my son who also runs hot-blooded but doesnt' sleep well (like his mom!)

i never heard of the Thunder Shirt!!!! interesting that it works for animals too - but.... i guess, why wouldn't it? :)

Or like this:
@tipu send 0.1 tip (or: send 0.1 SBD tip, this works too).

Ahhhh and @cardboard, you have an extra word in your announcement...

You say "upvote any post WITH WITH 2.5% payout."

Just needs one "with". 😊

I tried a friend's blanket a while back, but found that the pressure interacted uncomfortably with my chronic pain, so that is something folks may need to take into account as well. It seems to work well for my friend, however, and I'm glad these things exist for those who want/need them.

Ohhhh yes. I'm sure that would need to be considered!!! Thanks for that additional info!!!

Congratulations @dreemsteem! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

wow! 4 posts - i'm a maniac!!! LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59