Sort:  

Great photo Gaby!

I've got to confess, I don't follow politics and world events very much. I've just kind of lived in my own little corner of the world doing my thing. I've looked into some of what is happening in your country and it hurts my heart. Probably because I now have a connection, I now know somebody affected by what's going on. I want to do more, but I don't know what.
What can those of us on the outside do to help?

@caseygrimly well your sweet concern and intentions already made a big difference. I'm thinking of a way to help out people here through #steemit, but it's still just an idea going through my head. As soon as I have something sort out, I promise I'll let you know!

Do let us know. :)

“There, peeping among the cloud-wrack above a dark tor high up in the mountains, Sam saw a white star twinkle for a while. The beauty of it smote his heart, as he looked up out of the forsaken land, and hope returned to him. For like a shaft, clear and cold, the thought pierced him that in the end the Shadow was only a small and passing thing: there was light and high beauty for ever beyond its reach.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King

So you are now quoting Lord of the Rings? Never thought Tolkien would make me so emotional. I guess Maduro and his gang do resemble the Orcs. That would leave me as a hobbit then. (I'm really short)

Yes - it's something I do regularly. Tolkien has always been my favourite author.

I would liken Maduro to Saruman: is given a mandate to help and look after the people of Middle-Earth, promises to fulfill that mandate but uses it to gain more power, corrupts the people under him and seeks to become an ultimate ruler at the expense of everyone else.

hha y otra vez :). Aun he visitado muchas veces Colombia y me gustaria ir tambien a Venzuela entonces me gusto leer esto :)

Buena foto! Soy de Maracay pero vengo bastante a Caracas, justo hoy estoy acá desde el sábado. El Avila de verdad que es algo mágico.

Es algo simbólico para todos los caraqueños. Es lo único hermoso que queda de esta ciudad que el gobierno no ha tocado!!! ha ha ha

That mountain has such a similar shape to the one thats my hometown is based around that you got me confused for a second😂😂

Really? Do you have pictures of the mountain? This mountain is very symbolic for us Venezuelans from the capital. People get it tattooed all the time. Caracas is a valley, it a mayor capital in the middle of mountains, and that's the charm of it. Show me some photos of your hometown!

Wow it does. If it isn't for the snow. Is it all plane and just the mountain in the back, or is the whole city in the middle of mountains and valleys? What's the name of your hometown?

The city is built around this mountain. Its called the town is Brasov in Romania. There is a specifc angle from another hill in the city that makes it look extremely similar. I just showed your photo to a bunch of friends and asked them if its our city or not and they all got fooled😂

Ha ha ha. Well if it weren't for the snow I would probably fool my venezuelan friends with you photo.

I'll take one when the snow goes away, promiss

I've just read some things about the situation there. Sorry to hear about that. I'm slowly losing my hope in humanity. :(

But I do still see good people trying to counter all the stupidity and the bad things others do. Fleeing is the easy way out and I think it only works on the short term.

I believe that we still need to learn how to be human and fight our own self-interest, and start to think long-term and with the community in mind first. But you know, that requires a lot more education than most people have. And that's not the easiest option we have.

It's true. And I understand those who flee. I've done it, but I came back. It's not easy to live in a country where your future and dreams have been stolen. It's tough. Specially for little kids. I'm also loosing faith in humanity :(

Just like the first rays of the sun..it gives hope to those who longed for it. I hope it gets better soon, not just for u but in all Venezuela.
#steemsugars

Awww thanks @immarojas. #steemsugars are the best. Thanks for the upvote and the comment. I do hope things get better too.

And soon hopefully, i can only imagine how it is there, but i hope no place will also have it. Be safe.

Thanks! It's what I'm currently trying to do. Stay safe! I really don't want to leave. I love my country so much!

Whatever is best u think u need to do. What do other Steemains in Venezuela think? Are u close with it? @oscarcc89 is from there.

Well, I understand most of them want to leave the country. It's not easy to live here. Didn't know @oscarcc89 !!! I'll check his post see If there is anything I can help out with.

Great post Gabriela ;)

Thanks Sergio! I'm still not as good at landscape photography, but I promise I will learn!

Excelentes fotografías Gaby

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.07
Server time: 05:07:34
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 240.04/400.00
Total Photos: 15
Total comments: 37
Total contest wins: 3
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90