Thank You Bicycle: Riding forbidden trail of Gosauseen in Austria

in #vehiclephotography7 years ago (edited)

Thank You Bicycle: Riding forbidden trail of Gosauseen in Austria

One of features of new Windows system I really like is lock screen. During years of having this feature switched on I put many of locations around the world in my bucket list. Gosauseen is one of those places.
Gosauseen are tree linked lakes located in Upper Austria, very near to famous Hallstatt. Surrounded with high mountain peaks covered with deep forest with crystal clear water, they are something you must see.

DSC01137.JPG

Earlier this year, I finally managed to organize trip to Austria and visit to that lake. I am always very excited when I visit some of locations that are on my bucket list. As I was still recovering from knee operation, and having opinion from my doctor shortly defined as 'no hiking' I decided that one nice bike trip around lakes and optional climb to some lower peak with view to a Hallstätter Glacier will be more than enough.

DSC01162.JPG

To be even complicated, my chose of bicycle for this trip was my old faithful Scott Aspect, converted to something between city bike, touring bike and off road bike for light terrain. Since my Austrian tour was mostly urban, tires mounted on bike was slick road tires with very little grip on mud. Yeah, I know, very optimistic plan for available gear, but still in range of my usual stupidity ;)

DSC01259.JPG

A view to beautiful lake was a little bit spoiled with large sign on beginning of trail: No Bikes Allowed! Fck, sht, dmn... always polite Austrians near me pretended that they do not hear me while I was 'talking to myself' about new discovery. After few minutes I decided that I'll walk path and push my bike, since I have to see those lakes. With strong decision that I'll walk that path I climb my bike and went riding... Well, in my defense, I was already ignoring that medical 'no hiking' advice for couple days, and after 25 km hike around Hallstatt, my knee simply decided to hurt as hell after first few steps.

DSC01201.JPG

Again in my defense, I was riding very very slow, and I was apologizing a lot to all hikers I meet on trail. However, I do not advise you to try the same. It was end of April, time between winter and summer season and trail was practically empty. Try that in middle of summer season, and you will discover how high fine for obeying that large sign on beginning of trail. But closing of this trail for cyclist is really pity. There is no many places in Austria where cycling is forbidden, but sadly this is one of them.

As result, my visit to Gosauseen was a lot shorter than I expected. However, my knee liked that a lot ;)


Camera info: Sony A6000 & Sigma DN 19 mm


I encourage you to comment and share your cycling stories. Let's connect and maybe one day we will ride some beautiful trail together.

Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving!


I would like to candidate this photo for @juliank daily contests
in category #vehiclephotography
Read more and support his fabulous Daily Photo Contests here.


!steemitworldmap 47.528672 lat 13.506442 long Riding forbidden trail of Gosauseen in Austria! D3SCR


Image00002.jpg

Sort:  

Fenomenalno, Austrija je ostavila veliki utisak na mene, a svi mi kazu da nisam video najlepsu pokrajinu - Tirol :)

I can see why this would be on your bucket list! Looks absolutely beautiful! I wish you well on your surgery. I know people that had it and were actually able to do things like hiking that they couldn't do before so stay positive!! = ) Love and Light to you!!

It is very beautiful, one day I will cover this location in my Travel Blog in more details. And knee is now much better, I am hiking and riding in almost full power again.

Yay!! That is terrific to hear!!

Само нек је здравље како треба, донећеш ти још боље фотографије оданде, @dejan.vuckovic :)

Da kucnem u drvo, kolena su sada mnogo bolje :) Hvala puno na recima podrske @lighteye

Нема на чему :)

You're really a true adventurer, you have a fitness to drive to China

For years and years suffering on two wheels I learned that strength and stamina are important, but good will and dedication is everything. If you decided, you can do it!

You must love what you are doing, it's a base of success

Beautiful place for a ride with bicycle :)

Yes indeed, too pity that cycling is forbidden. However, Austria is full of most beautiful cycling tracks you can imagine. Real paradise for cyclists.

Great photos and story. I want to go.

Thank you, and if you have chance, you should visit that area because it is very beautiful.

That first photo is stunning. I would love to ride a bike here!

Thank you! Now I do not have acces to rest of my photos from that area since I am not at home, but one day you'll see how beautiful it is, just stay tuned :)

Great tour and good photos. I believe it was a real enjoyment!

Thank you and yes, it was amazing experience, much better then I expected.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=dejan.vuckovic
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=than-you-bicycle-riding-forbidden-trail-of-gosauseen-in-austria


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #vehiclephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 5.25 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.05
Server time: 13:38:40
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 109.00/200.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 18
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71054.38
ETH 3862.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52