Vegan Wednesday (or Sunday...or any day!): Double Dipping

Hey there folks!  It is a beautiful Sunday afternoon here in Atlanta, so I'm popping in really quickly then I may just plop a chair outside to soak up just a bit of vitamin D!  I couldn't miss submitting for #veganwednesday this week, especially since our dear host @heart-to-heart agonized over finding a new way to pick a winner in as fair a way as possible.  She is trying out voting links in the comments on her post page, so check it out to see the other entries.  If you see one of ours that you like, take a quick second to upvote our link and the post itself if you choose.

This week I'm giving you not one, but two delicious vegan dips!  I hope you guessed as much from my title. ;)  Sometimes people think a plant-based diet is quite restrictive and they have no idea what they would eat.  When you really take a look at every day foods, many times you'll see they already preclude animal products!  Hummus or other bean dips are something I know almost everyone enjoys.

We always have something for dipping in our refrigerator.  I try most weeks to make something myself, as it really is so easy to put together and I prefer to make mine without oil or excessive salt.  Between all of the different legumes and flavor combinations, there really is no end to the varieties you can make.  I mostly do savory since that's what @dksart likes, but maybe one of these days I'll try one of the sweet ones I keep seeing, as well!

I just made the black bean version this morning for dipping veggies, salad "dressing", and spreading on anything and everything.  Last week I did a more traditional chickpea base, so I didn't want to forget to share that one, too!  I got some of the mini organic colorful bell peppers for dipping as they make the perfect little scoops. :)

Jalapeno Lime Black Bean Dip

  • 1 (14-ounce) can black beans, rinsed & drained or 1.5 cups cooked
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded & chopped
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • juice from 1 small lime
  • optional salt to taste

Place everything in the food processor and blend until smooth.  Add a tablespoon or two of water as needed.  Taste and adjust seasoning as you like!

Chipotle Chili & Cilantro Hummus

  • 1 (14-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed & drained or 1.5 cups cooked
  • 1 chipotle chili in adobo sauce
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1/2 teaspoon mild chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
  • juice from 1 small lemon
  • optional salt to taste

Same method as above. ;)  Toss it all in the food processor and blend until smooth!

I hope everyone enjoys their Sunday and gets a healthy start to the new week!  Speaking of healthy, I can't forget to give a nod to @woman-onthe-wing and the #makeithealthy project.  She's got some great things coming up that I know she is working really hard on, so don't forget to give her some love, too!

Sort:  

Look like some great dippings, I'm too lazy to try them though, hehe.

Haha, that's why I do all of my meal prep the beginning of the week so I don't have to worry about it later. 🤣

Ooooooooh soooo gooooood! My cupboards are well-stocked with all kinds of beans and planty goodness, so I'll be making some dips this week... thanks for more great recipes! You're so right, a plant diet is not at all restrictive :-)

Planty goodness--love it! 🌿

Awesome recipes! I'm going to have to try the Jalapeno Lime Black Bean Dip. I followed you and look forward to more of your blog posts.

Thanks so much! I will look out to see what you are sharing, too. 😀

I love dips! This is great- thank you so much for sharing them with us! I'm getting an oven this weekend HALLELUJAH and I have a dip I am so excited to try out, been concocting it in my mind from a famous super bowl dip I used to do! I think I should have a dip party and make both of yours too <3 You rock! Thanks for promoting plant based so deliciously! XO

Yay for the oven!! Opens up many more possibilities! A dip party sounds fantastic. Most of the time when I get together with girlfriends we totally make a meal from snacks. I will definitely look out for your delicious version soon! 😜

Mmh great recipes Katie! So healthy and delish;)

Thank you dear! 🤗

I am so making the black bean one this weekend! Looks delicious 😋

I had some this morning on my avocado toast. So good! I hope you like it, too! :)

oh the wonderful world of veganism when you discover the variety of dips possible to make with every kind of bean lentil pulse that exists.
I did some vegan activism on the street recently and one guy told me he was vegan for 10 months but he got bored and switched back, i can't imagine how this would happen unless he didn't know about the vegan dip selection?!

Hahaha! Yes, I don't trust anyone that doesn't like bean dip. And I think it's a pure cop out to use boredom as an excuse. There are a whole lot more varieties of fruits, veggies, beans and grains than most of us can try in a lifetime of eating!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 18:34:10
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 133.10/200.00
Total Photos: 18
Total comments: 38
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.20 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks yum...............will definitely try this out.Check out my post at https://steemit.com/life/@khadija14/5-things-we-do-that-make-us-unhappy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73