Vegan Wednesday Week 18! | Patriotic Blueberry Crepes | Use That Veggie Pulp!

IMG_5980.JPG

It’s great to be home again! Back in my kitchen with all of my gadgets to create some wonderful Memorial Weekend Delights!

This morning I enjoyed my wonderful juice, made primarily from red beets, apples, and Blue Berries and when I finished my drink, looked at the beautiful pulp, I knew I wanted to utilize that pulp!

IMG_5919.JPG

As you remember we have made crackers, breads and veggie chips with my juice pulp. If you missed those posts feel free to check through my feed. So many creative ideas for you, as fruits and vegetables are expensive, we don’t want to waste! The juice pulp contains so much healthy fiber, vitamins and nutrition even though we have made juice with the original fruits and vegetables.


So let’s make Crepes!


Patriotic Blueberry Crepes!

When Mr. Bird and I were first married we visited his mom in California for several months. We got on this crepe kick for a while, making crepe everything! Breakfast, dinner parties, desserts… Crepes are great because they are light, not too filling and the filling can be made out of so many different ingredients!

Ingredients

makes 5 crepes

  • 1 cup gluten free Oats
  • 1 ½ cups Almond or Coconut Milk
  • 1/4-1/3 cup Juice Pulp
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed
  • Coconut Oil
  • 1 cup raw cashews (soaked overnight and rinsed)
  • 2 tablespoons filtered water
  • 2 tablespoons Organic Maple Syrup
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup Fresh Blue Berries
  • chopped Walnuts (garnish)

Preparation

Crepes

  • Place Oats, Milk, Flax seed and Juice pulp in Blender.
    IMG_5923.JPG
  • Blend until Smooth. Let rest for 2 minutes. Repeat 2 times. You want to give the flax seed time to thicken and you want the batter really smooth.
    IMG_5925.JPG
  • Very lightly coat pan with Coconut Oil. Turn on heat (about medium temperature) Pour about 1/5th of your batter into middle of pan. Tilt pan to allow batter to thin out to the edges. Repeat all around the pan. You don’t want the middle batter to be too thick. See the little holes around the edges? It should be thin.

IMG_5955.JPG

  • Cook until edges brown and lift easily with spatula. Be patient! Could be 5 minutes! The first crepe is the tricky one! When the crepe is totally cooked and easy to lift all the way around…FLIP IT!! Yay! It worked!

IMG_5959.JPG

  • Whew! I know it’s kind of stressful with the first crepe! By the 5th crepe you’ll be a pro! Really! Trust me!

  • Continue cooking a couple of minutes more. Remove from heat to plate.

Note: If you are going to make all of the crepes at once I place wax paper or parchment paper in between so they don’t stick to one another. (you can always cover and refrigerate unused crepes for another meal or dessert!)

Cashew Filling

  • Place Cashews, water, maple syrup, lemon juice into blender and blend. Taste and add additional water or sweetener as you wish. I like it thick and creamy!
    IMG_5935.JPG

Now let’s assemble!

  • Place crepe on your plate, add creamy filling, blueberries and a few chopped walnuts

    IMG_5962.JPG

  • Roll it up, add a dollup of cream, a few berries and walnuts…maybe a drizzle of Maple Syrup and,

Voila! A great breakfast or dessert for your Holiday Weekend!


IMG_5976.JPG

So good for you, and the family won’t even know they are eating veggies with their dessert! How great is that!

IMG_5971.JPG

I wanted to submit this fun creation to @heart-to-heart’s Vegan Wednesday Challenge! She is such a champion of healthy eating! I really appreciate her constant encouragement to me as well as the Steemit Vegan community, truly a blessing. I know, no chocolate this week but you won’t be disappointed with these goodies!

Thank you for stopping by! I would love to hear how you use crepes!
I hope you all have a safe blessed Memorial Weekend!

IMG_0316.JPG

Sort:  

awww this looks absolutely delicious, light and healthy! yum yum! glad you got back safely! look forward to seein ya soon :D <3 XOXOX

You are a sweetie! Must be all of the honey from the bees lol! Thankee for your kind words...perhaps I'll save a few for you! Can't wait to seeeeeee you!

Wow these are incredible! What an amazing entry yet again! You are always just blowing my mind with all this delicious food! <3

Oh, thank you! That is truly an honor coming from you! I learn something from every one of your posts! Thanks my friend!

that reads all YUM!
am glad am not the only one who doesn't throw the juice pulps!
fiber! perfect for any flour dish!
cheers!

I know right? Its a great add to all kinds of things! I guess great minds think alike ! lol Thanks for the thumbs up!

Might have to try these. Thanks for posting.

You're welcome, I hope you like them!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-26T22:10:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 329.75/200.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

another yummy recipe!

A great recipe for pancakes!
And the filling is amazing as well 😍👍

I love how you are always taking something that others would just toss and making something delicious out of it! Such a great post, thanks so much for sharing this. We always try to think of different ways to use the pulp from juicing as well.. sometimes we make sherbet or one of our favorites for veggie pulp, is to make little crab style cakes.. so good. We will be adding your recipe to the list though, thank you!

So beautifully plated up! And such a yummy looking meal. We usually feed our juice pulp to the chickens. If it tastes as good as it looks I may even convince my husband to eat the "chicken food" ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77