You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I am vegan and the reasons I don't agree with or get along with most other vegans.

in #veganism8 years ago

Wow what an in depth response. I actually respect the type of people that hunt and then eat just that animal. They are doing so much less harm than the average American in doing so. I even once dated a guy who did this. I did tell him I wouldn't want to like see the corpse but I didn't try to change him or tell him he's a bad person.

Also, I recently found out about many different things that cause so much harm that I was unaware of, one is quinoa, and one is coconut oil. Quinoa I found out, I forget where now, is harvested mainly from some third-world country where people were relying on this food to survive and now they are harvesting it and sending it to us, in America, where we have access to tons of food with nutrients and do no NEED quinoa to survive. Also apparently primates are being chained up and trained to harvest coconuts. >_<

It is literally impossible to live in society and shop at regular stores and not somehow inflict damage/cause suffering and it WILL drive you crazy to try to eliminate it all. I know, I have tried. This is a big part of why I don't judge others. The computer I am using likely caused INCREDIBLE suffering to some poor kid in another country. Same with phones. There is actually a documentary called "No Impact Man" that I think illustrates this perfectly. So, while I feel personally better not eating animals I know I am still causing suffering to other beings just by living in society and spending my money on items. I would need to entirely leave society and live off the grid and grow all my own food to not make some negative impact....

So yeah, we all have our own ideals and set of moral standards and different areas that we may be super passionate about but ripping someone apart for feeling differently than you does no good whatsoever.

Sort:  

Yes~
Of course attacking someone is no way to bring about a happier world. Yet at the same time settling for and participating in standards we KNOW to be dishonorable or unsustainable is not either.
That is why I founded @gardenofeden it is one of the most sustainable communities in the world now. Yet I would not have found it if I were not aware of the atrocity of humanities footprint and a desire to not be a part of it.
I hope you check out some of my posts to give you an idea of what I have achieved, why and how. There is much of great value for anyone who cares about living consciously.
Wish you the best and I will keep tuning to what you are sharing here.
Blessings~*~

Following and will go check out the posts later. :)

Great!
I hope to be able to provide content you find valuable and help improve your ever improving life!
I look forward to your feedback and participation!
Bless~*~

Oh wow, neat I will definitely look into it. And I agree that something should be done. I don't like contributing to these things I just feel helpless. I will definitely be checking out your posts now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65