Vegan Nachos - Cheap Vegan Cheese at ALDI

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians!

After seeing a video that The Vegan Zombie made about the different vegan foods that ALDI was supposedly adding to their stock, we decided to go and check it out.

Really the only thing we found was the Vegan cheese, but we asked the girl and she said it was only temporary and that after whatever was on the shelf was gone, that was it.

I don’t get it, we see posts on Facebook that say “ALDI Adds Vegan Line After Demand Rises”, or something like that but then our brand new store which just opens doesn’t carry them. It must not have been a store-wife integration.

Having said all of that, this vegan cheese was great and made amazing nachos. The cheese melted just like dairy cheese!

0DE75C9D-5361-4991-920D-5A56E40AABAC.jpeg

We used some new Apple Bourbon salsa that I hadn’t ever had. It is really good!

I know this cheese isn’t necessarily a health product, but it’s great for newer vegans who might feel like giving up cheese was the hardest thing to do.

Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Thanks for this. I love nachos, but I hate how much vegan cheese costs to make them super good. I will check it out!

My pleasure :-) enjoy!

I am hooked on Mexican food and nachos are a real treat! I haven't seen this brand yet, but will look out for it. Now I am hungry!

I also want to try it on pizza.

Thanks for the post :)

That would be good too!

Beyond Beef burgers totally rock- to grill them is to love them.

Where can you get them?

I get them at Kroger. They’re in the meat department, right next to the ground beef. They are really delicious!

Thanks for always posting inspiring vegan information! I recently started trying to eat vegan, although it’s really hard to cut out all of the dairy. It seems like there’s dairy in everything! Even things that seem pretty innocent, like crackers, often have a dairy product added, I’ve found. I’ve learned you have to read every label at the grocery store.

I tried the vegan Daiya cheese, and at first I liked it. It was nice to have “cheese” that would melt on a pizza like regular cheese does. The fakeness of the vegan cheese has begun to wear on me though. There’s something wrong with the consistency of it. We went to a vegan pizza place for dinner tonight, and I got a calzone with fake meatballs and sausage, with the dairy free cheese. They put a lot of the dairy free cheese in the calzone, and I got grossed out by it and couldn’t eat any more. Now, I prefer no cheese over the dairy free cheese.

Yeah I got through phases but basically I eat vegan cheese probably every 3-6 months so it's a bit of a novelty for me. :) You just can't overdue it because like anything it gets to be gross!

Looks good. I’ve been vegetarian for about 4 years. Cheese is one of the hardest but I’ll have to try this brand.

You have fantastic posts I love it. I am just a newbie, and I would love it if you could check out my posts out .

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68