Vegan Egg Plant Burger with Sweet Potato Slaw

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Burgers, everyone loves them, so it is very rewarding to cook them and not that complicated.

Astonishing that I didn't post a burger recipe until now!

3AB4793B-B70F-4CB4-8DA0-3947A16E4082.jpeg

Serves 4

Preparation time: 10 minutes

AE8C4F27-C712-4F17-8E0F-B0870B7A0344.jpeg

Salad

1 Sweet Potato (or Butternut Squash)
Olive Oil
Salt
Cane Sugar
Roasted Sesame Seeds
Cilantro
Lemon (or Vinegar)
Ginger
Mint (optional)

For the slaw we just marinade the raw sweet potato. Peel for a pleasant look or don't for nutritional value, then julienne and mix with some caster sugar, salt and olive oil. Set aside to soak.

321BF31B-DB09-44DF-98CB-1A8FE82FAC28.jpeg

Egg Plant Burger

1 Egg Plant
Corn Starch
Paprika Powder
Cinamon
Salt
Olive Oil

Cut the aubergine into slices, 1-2 per burger. They soften faster if you slice them thicker.

C203607B-A16C-401B-96D3-DD74F47F0F03.jpeg

Mix the starch with the paprika powder and the cinamon. Season with salt and use a little more if you like as the eggplant won't be salted.

F9A301A8-2225-457F-A6B9-0506F752BBC3.jpeg

Crumb egg plant slices and brush off.

3E6D46D6-227D-4779-8B61-8BA9D440C528.jpeg

Heat the olive oil in a pan and fry the slices for 3 minutes on each side. The aubergine sucks in the oil so refill if needed. When ready dab off on paper towels.

106665B0-5C3E-4234-81D6-4E4AD9329D5E.gif

Barbecue Sauce

Ketchup
Soy Sauce
Chilli Paste
Apricot Jam
Pepper
Curry Powder

Mix all ingredients, the apricot jam gives this sauce a fruity bouquet.

Finish the slaw by adding the roasted sesame seeds, chopped cilantro with stems, julienned ginger and the juice of the lemon. You can also add some mint for extra freshness.

48089D3B-C7D4-4595-A8CC-977FD0DFC323.jpeg

Assemblage

4 Buns
1 Tomato
1 Onion
Salad Leaves
Salt
Vegan Mayonnaise (optional)

Preheat the oven to 200°C/390°F, cut the buns in half and crisp them for 3 minutes.

Cut the tomato and onion into slices. The onion peels easier when you do it afterwards.

7BDDD31F-D5A8-4FAE-B464-10D3B36550DC.jpeg

Spread the barbecue sauce over the buns.

94B8A76D-820A-4237-AA2E-093198F62A93.jpeg

Distribute the sweet potato slaw.

386BA531-756E-423A-BEE8-C0EA3AB15561.jpeg

Add the aubergine burgers. For a fuller and hearty taste you could top them with some vegan mayonnaise.

DB543AFF-F197-43D3-97F3-65C594EF4563.jpeg

Add onion and tomato slice and season with a little salt.

4E13DE94-CD46-43EB-A560-4EDD8C704AF3.jpeg

Top with salad leaves.

C4AF9792-7DD3-4D2F-B2EF-DDC46B7AF776.jpeg

Serve and enjoy this superfast end easy but savory dish!

17BD3AF0-E082-4576-B9C9-013326479213.jpeg

It is my honor to mention @lenasveganliving and her contributions for a healthy lifestyle.

Also check out @heart-to-heart and her #veganwednesday

Until next time,
Miron

Sort:  

Delicious! And yes, it is healthy.

Wow... Looks really good. Some really tasty lookin cooking I see on Steemit make me think I can survive being vegan. But then I start thinking of fried chicken and am back to square one

You would be surprised how much plant based food tastes like chicken and chicken based food not tasting like chicken at all :)

Very impressive and delicious Miron, well done 🍒 🍌🍑🍍🍓🍇
1 Collage.jpg

Delicious burger, I'd say it's exquisite.

Great tip on how to peel oninions quicker (and less wastefully); but you sure like a sharp bite! That's a fat slice of onion (or is that a lens distortion?). So true how aubergine cooks better when sliced thicker (otherwise it burns in my pan!). You are now set to open your own fast-food chain! Only kidding. I mean Yoga-nosh paradise.

It is a fat slice, I like it when the onion crunches. But this are also XXL buns :) A vegan fast food restaurant is a profitable idea, there is this Swing Kitchen franchise with already six restaurants in Austria after only 3 years, you almost always have to stay in line there.

That Kitchen sounds like a fantastic idea! Give it a good swing and send it around the world!

Wow das sieht absolut genial und lecker aus. Ich bin solch ein riesen Fan von veganen Burgern, ich muss mir wieder mal die Mühe geben und schöne selbst machen. Da passt dein Rezept perfekt.

War jedenfalls heute total spannend einen Teil deiner Lebensgeschichte zu hören :)

Hehe, ja nächstes mal werd ich etwas weniger quatschen, war heut etwas überdreht da ich nichts geschlafen habe. Der Burger ist ein guter Einstieg, geschmacklich gut ausbalanciert, etwas säuerlich, etwas süß, ein bischen pikant, ein wenig bitter, kommt gut mit der Melanzani.

My mouth is watering! I really need to step my burger game up 😀

That won't be too hard though, these are basically a salad and toasted buns :)

Your Egg Plant Burgers look so good 🍆🍔

Your recipe is easy to follow and the photos look great, keep it up!

Thank you, I try to make it look as easy as possible to break that entry repression into the art of cooking :)

These burgers look so delicious and the sweet potato slaw sounds fabulous! :)

It's so sad that I can share the taste only through words :)

Awww I love this! 2 great things= 1 I just ate sweet potato burgers for dinner so I feel like I am happy to see this instead of starving to death ;)

Also, I have never seen anybody else have these eggplants, I thought I was the only one haha - aren't they perfect? I buy all of my farmer's stock each week and he thinks I am crazy :)

Great recipe :)

Hehe, lucky you, what are the odds? :) My mother used to fry the slices often, I guess it is one of the vegetables children like. Aren't this the usual ones? I do have a purple striped one, which looks kind of alien to me. You are not crazy, you may seem to be today, but wait 15 years from now, who will be the crazy one then? :)

Really? Wow, I actually wouldn't have thought that but you know, done in the right way it can be out of this world. I had some slow cooked in coconut oil the other day... ughh melt in your mouth.

Haha I don't know if they are usual... in North America, we had Chinese eggplant as the common staple, the purple long ones... when I moved to Bali we have the purple long striped ones as common and the round ones as exceptionally rare. I'm hoping mine grow. It's so funny how what we think to be common is so uncommon elsewhere. I love Steemit for that because it gives so much more variety :)

I agree with you... I'm excited for that future ;)

That's the magic of the slow cooker, you toss stuff in and you get everytime a wonderful tasting meal :)

Haha ok, the chinese ones look very funny to me, never saw them before I think, as if rolled from playdough :)

To a late and healthy future ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64118.79
ETH 3390.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51