Vegan Journey #1 - From beer & bacon to fresh food & fitness!

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

4 months ago I was cooking my favourite lazy-arse meal, bacon and egg sandwiches, when my young daughters, 4 and 7 years old, asked me,

"Dad, where does bacon come from?"

947d8d6da95fc627df1f81668684c9ce--funny-pigs-cute-piggies.jpg

Such an innocent questions, I knew it would come up eventually... I had been DREADING it even more than, "Dad, where do babies come from?" Why? I just knew it would make me have to search within myself and ask some very deep questions.

"Am I OK with killing animals for my own consumption?"
"Do I even need to devour animals to live?"
"What about MILK! Oooooh man I LOOOOOVE my ice coffee drinks with full cream milk!"
"Baaaaaacon! How can one possibly life without bacon?"

vpq.jpg

So where do I even start? How on Earth am I going to find the discipline to avoid the smell of deliciously cooked meat? I had gone 37 years eating meat, is it even possible to 'teach and old dog new tricks'? Also, I fucking HATE salad! What do I eat then? Do I just eat potatoes and beans? This is a bad idea! I'm going to starve and die in the first week.

I sucked it up and that night ate just eggs on toast. Not quite vegan, but it was a good start for me. The next day was quite interesting as I went to the grocery shop and noticed many fruits and vegetables I'd never even noticed before. It was like colour came to my life and not that of fancy packaging for artificial foods! I grabbed a whole bunch of random beans and fruits and veggies and even tofu. Who the fuck even knew what tofu was? (Apparently lots of people!)

I had discovered why many people say there is love in cooking!

Pvmp_plan_(Premium_Vegetarian_Meal_Plan).jpg

I am now going on 4 months of vegan and really do feel better than ever in my body and mind. I have slipped a few times with small things such as sushi and small pieces of fish. I'm far from perfect but I am growing as a person and am committed to do the best I can to help end the needless suffering of animals and create a better planet for mankind.

Follow me on my vegan transition and I really would appreciate any tips or comments to keep me on track 😊


Steemit Signature.jpg

Sort:  

What ever makes you happy.

I actually enjoy the odd day of greens, or a good ol' Friday with fish on the dish.

Meat is like a normal everyday thing and because it's "normal" the different meals out there I actually enjoy more/appreciate more because they're different.
I don't plan on going vegan, but vegan dishes to me are like a nice change every now and then, i enjoy them more because they're not "boring".

If you get my drift!

That's great that you at least make a day with greens. Still fish is an animal so I really try hard not to eat that. When I was younger I used to fish a lot but it just never sat well with me to cut and bleed a fish... what a fucked way to die eh. Many vegan dishes can be quite tasty and I'm lucky I don't have great taste buds 😄

Still, no judgement, we all get to live life the way we want and good on ya for doing your bit. I'm not sure what I'm going to do at the next Aussie barby though! Kinda makes me feel weird how much meat varieties get eaten/waste at the typical Sunday bbq.

Awesome! i have stopped eating meat for two months now. Ate once a week for years but now made a decision to stop completely

Good on ya mate. I feel much better for it and it's given me such a more positive look on life!

This is awesome! I love hearing stories of people going vegan.

I wrote this post a week ago, you might find useful: https://steemit.com/vegan/@choogirl/so-you-want-to-go-plant-based

Thankyou! Yeah I hear ya. Every time I'm in the shops and I see someone else grab tofu or something I really feel that I'm on the right track :)

Thank you for sponsoring THE SBD GIFT. Your post has been resteemed to my 1000+ followers, and i have upvoted your post.

Learn more here about The Sponsors triple boost

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @spaceginger! For more information, click here!

Thankyou, I appreciate your comment 😊

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Great news you are a good parent. Enjoy the amazing vegan life.

Thankyou! It's my #1 job in life to teach my kids the way.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64039.14
ETH 2755.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70