Vegan Slow Cooker Meals {Pinkeye Bean & Sweet Potato Stew w/ Rainbow Chard}

in #vegan6 years ago
Hey there everyone!  I have a little more time this week to pop in, so I'm going to try to catch up on sharing some yummy recipes.  I mentioned yesterday in my post the amazing hydroponic greens that I got at the farmers market this past week.  Besides the pasta that I made with the delicious arugula, I also whipped up a really easy soup with the rainbow chard that I purchased.  I am trying to get back in the habit of using the slow cooker more often again because it really makes meal prep so stinkin' simple.  @puravidaville shared a great-looking soup yesterday, as well, so if a bowl of something good is on the docket for you this week make sure to check that one out!



This turned out to be a great use of the vegetables from a number of different vendors at the farmers market, plus green tomatoes from our garden.  We finally got some tomatoes growing, but of course the weather isn't cooperating to let them ripen on the vine.  I am happy to report green tomatoes actually work pretty well in a soup or stew!  They are not as sweet as ripe red ones, obviously, so they add a little bit of a tangy element to the total meal.  I didn't want to let these go to waste, so I'm happy I figured out a good way to use them.



The fresh greens do wilt pretty quickly after purchasing them so fresh from the market, so this is also a good way to put them to use so they won't go bad.  Once cooked they'll last a good bit longer than if you left them raw in the refrigerator.  I did save some of the rainbow chard for smoothies, though, as even if it wilts a little bit it still works in that format.  I actually found it to be a great addition as it is pretty mild in flavor.  That way I get the benefits of both cooked and raw greens.



This was not a fancy meal, just some good comfort food in a bowl.  Comfort in that it can be served warm on a cooler day, but also leaves you feeling light and healthy with all of the vibrant vegetables.  Like @puravidaville said, soup is good in all seasons. ;)



Pinkeye Bean & Sweet Potato Stew w/ Rainbow Chard

Makes about 8 servings

  • 1 small Vidalia onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 medium sweet potato, cubed
  • 1 bell pepper, cored & chopped
  • 2 cups pinkeye beans, fresh*
  • 3-4 green tomatoes (can sub ripe red ones if you have them)
  • 1 bunch of rainbow chard, stems separated & chopped, greens roughly chopped & set aside
  • 1 tablespoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 6-7 cups water or low-sodium veggie stock
  • 3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon white miso
  • nutritional yeast for serving

Place all of the ingredients through the vegetable stock in a 5-quart slow cooker.  Reserve the leafy green portion of the chard to add at the end of the cooking time so you don't overcook the tender leaves, but add the stems at the beginning.  Add just enough water or stock to cover the vegetables.


Cover with the lid and cook on low for 7-8 hours, or until the vegetables are soft and the beans are cooked through.  Mix the miso in with the apple cider vinegar so it is fully incorporated, then pour the mixture into the soup.  Stir in the leafy greens at this point to just wilt them slightly.

Ladle out a good portion in a bowl and sprinkle with some nooch!  Enjoy!

*If you don't have access to fresh pinkeye beans, you can substitute dried black-eyed peas or white beans.  Just soak overnight to soften, then rinse and drain before adding to the soup.  It may take a little bit longer to cook through if using dried beans, so adjust the cooking time as needed.



Stews and soups always get better in the refrigerator for leftovers, so you guys know I always love making a big pot as part of my meal prep.  Makes it so easy to eat well all throughout the week!


 (Banners by @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa
Sort:  

Yay 👏 so glad you jumped on the soup train. Haha. Thank you so much for the compliment of mentioning me in your post. Coming from such a gangster like you I am truly honored (I mean, have you seen some of your dishes- that Vegan Black Forest Nice Cream W/ Chocolate Cherry Spiced Reduction is ridiculous).

Your soup looks absolutely delicious and you’re so right, soups, stews and chili’s always taste better the next day. Thank you again for the shoutout @plantstoplanks, your content is real quality and you’re an assist to the community 😉. Enjoy your soup friend!

I'm always happy to throw a shout-out! Especially when I seem to be on a similar theme with someone on a given week. I figure if someone digs mine, then they would definitely like yours! 😊

You’re dope! Thank you and I look forward to your posts now.

Um.... uhhh.... ‘drool’
D86755F0-6095-4E1A-96E5-6FDCA3C4B20B.gif
I just love these type of meal.
Chop it up and throw it in the pot and leave it alone.
I bet that soup was absolutely delicious. I’m goin to keep this in mind for when the frigid cold hits.
Thanks for sharing.

Haha, love the gif. :) Yep, doesn't get a whole lot easier than this! Thanks for popping by.

Looks so tasty! Thanks for the recipe and the photos!

Thank you for the nice comment and for popping by!

It is a little weird to see such green tomatoes, the first impression is always "unripe" 😁 But I actually love to dive into different kinds of veggies and it is great to hear that green tomatoes also work just fine!

Haha, yeah, they pretty much are unripe, but with the weather we are having they start to go bad before they will totally ripen up. Not sure if there would be any issues eating them raw, but they do taste quite nice once cooked. It's a slightly tangier flavor, definitely more savory than sweet. We didn't want to let what little harvest we got out of the garden go to waste, so might as well use them where we can! Waste not, want not, right? :)

I see, but it is indeed a green variety, right? 😁 I am also not able to waste any food, every little edible piece finds its way into my meals! 💚

Looks mouth watering!

Slow cooker? I have one and will be using your recipe to make this..

Thanks @icybc! I do love the slow cooker. It does so well for soups and stews like this one! Have a great weekend!

I don't have a slow cooker, but I think I can make it anyway. Sooooo delicious and full of nutrients 💚😊💚

Oh yes, easily made in a nice big pot on the stove, too! So happy you like this one. I think you may like the dessert I just posted a few hours ago, too. 😉

looks good! Healthy and easy...best combo ever :)

Thanks! Yep, the slow cooker really is a gem in the kitchen to hit those requirements. ;)

So yummy i will try thank you

Thanks! I hope you give it a go! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60035.79
ETH 3187.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45