Meal Prep Chronicles {Baked Potatoes w/ Roasted Veggies & White Bean Cheezy Sauce}

in #vegan5 years ago

Hello again my friends! As usual, everyone is killing it on their #fruitsandveggiesmonday entries, so since I think I'm caught up on commenting for the moment I'm taking the time to share some of my own goodies for the week. @dksart hit up the market for me Saturday morning since I was racing, but he still snagged me plenty of the fantastic local produce I have come to love to use for meal prepping. First on tap for cooking this week was one of may favorite meals--baked spuds!

IMG_20190224_175854796.jpg

You all know I adore all my veggies, but potatoes take top billing in my heart. I try to diversify my produce choices to keep my gut happy with a well-rounded microbiome, so I try not to eat potatoes EVERY week. I try to vary my potato types, as well, depending upon what is in season. Since he brought home 4 massive russet potatoes, it was time to get out the baking sheet for some loaded bowls!

IMG_20190224_135408627.jpg

To streamline my meal prep action, I made the most out of my oven space by cooking my potatoes, broccoli and carrots, and chopped beets for a Buddha bowl all at the same time. The broccoli and carrots added some veggie power to my potatoes, and I knew I would also toss in some leafy greens as I try to do with most of my meals. That just left what to top it all off with...how about some cheezy sauce?!

IMG_20190224_175734045.jpg

In case you've been following me for a while, about a year ago I did post some similar loaded baked potatoes, but I used someone else's sauce recipe that time. I wanted to add extra plant-based protein to my meal, so I decided to use white beans as a base for my sauce. Nutritious, but also a delicious base to build flavor from! Even better, I made plenty to last through the beginning of the week with very little effort. Three cheers for easy meal prep!

IMG_20190224_173232126.jpg

The potatoes and roasted veggies were pretty straightforward, so I'll just share my variation on the sauce since it was pretty darn tasty. Feel free to use any kind of combination of vegetables you enjoy or have access to in your part of the world! The greens on the side of the bowl is garden cress. A bit of a fresh, peppery bite on top of all the creamy, roasted goodness. 😉

White Bean Cheezy Sauce

Makes about 2 cups

  • 1 cup dried white beans, rinsed & soaked at least 8 hours or overnight
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/2 small yellow onion, peeled & chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground garlic (or a few cloves freshly minced)
  • pinch of cayenne (optional)
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened plant-based milk (oat, almond, etc.)
  • 1/4 cup nutritional yeast
  • 2 tablespoons yellow mustard
  • 1 tablespoon white miso

Place the soaked beans and the bay leaf in a medium saucepan. Cover with water by a few inches, then bring to a boil. Lower the heat to simmer the beans for about an hour or until they have cooked through. Since you will be blending them up you want them to be pretty soft. This is a great step to do while your potatoes roast.

After the beans are cooked, remove the bay leaf and drain off the water. Meanwhile, in another small pan cook the onion and spices (turmeric through cayenne) over medium heat for 8-10 minutes, or until the onion has softened and the spices are nice and toasted. Stir occasionally and add a bit of water as needed to prevent sticking.

Once the onions are cooked through, add to the pot with the beans. Add in the remaining ingredients and blend with a stick blender (or place everything carefully in a blender). Process until the mixture is combined and as smooth as you would like it to be. Taste and adjust the spices to your liking.

Place back on a low heat burner if you need to warm the sauce back up for serving. Once everything is ready spoon a generous amount over top of your veggies! With four large potatoes, the other roasted veggies and the sauce I was able to prepare 4 solid meals for each of us. 💪

IMG_20190224_175707919.jpg

And in case you haven't been super active on here the last few days, I would be remiss if I didn't put another shout out to my @steemitbloggers crew in the latest delegation poll from @theycallmedan. Yes, this is a different one than a few weeks ago, so you do need to vote again even if you voted in that one! There have been some amazing posts by other members sharing just how awesome this group is. Check out the poetry contest by @quillfire, this post about the integrity of the group by @bengy, or any of the other countless posts written with such heart, passion, and creativity by the numerous members in addition to our tireless leaders @jaynie and @zord189.

All it takes is just a few minutes to click on this link, sign in and cast your vote! Thank you to all of the people who have supported us so far. 🙏

poll header 4.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Banners by @zord189, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Oh, these white bean cheezy sauces are my favorite! I don't have a recipe but I simply throw there anything what I like and what I have at that moment at home :D

BTW, when I talk about cheezy sauces.. the best cheezy sauce is from the eggplant, garlic, onion, nutritional yeast, lemon and parsley - YUM! Just a tip :)

Delicious meal! I'm a potato junkie and sadly I do eat them every week as I'm addicted. Now when I have an air fryer I can even make fries with almost no oil! Tadaaa!

Have a lovely week Katie! And thank you for sharing! :)

It really is so easy to just throw something together when you have a basic idea, right? I think I've done these types of sauces a few different ways now, but it's always fun to share some ideas for people to try out! Eggplant is one that I haven't tried like this, though. Yum! Thanks for the idea. Eggplant grows like weeds around here in the summer, so I will keep that in mind for another way to use it up.

Nothing wrong with being a potato junkie. They are actually much healthier than most people give them credit for, especially when incorporated into a well-rounded plant-based diet! If I had an air fryer I think I would eat them every day!

How are you feeling this week? I hope you have had some relief from your migraines and everything else!

And then non vegans think that we only eat salad :)

I did this kind of sauces with many things too but eggplant is my favorite. I also add some broccoli stalks as I always have them and don't want to throw them away. We also have plenty of them here. In the past I didn't like them but after I finally learned how to prepare them correctly I can't get enough of them :D

You should get one. It's actually not expensive and you can put inside whatever you like. I've even tried burgers and it went all good :) And it's much lighter than when you would bake it in oil or even in the oven (because you use a little more oil when you bake in the oven).

I feel much better. I had the surgery yesterday and it went much better than I expected. I must say that I do take a lot of pills now but I don't have pain at all. I do feel a little pressure there but it's totally fine. I'm just not allowed to do any exercises because of the pressure but it's just for a week and then I should be fine..

I hope you're doing well too :)

Looks amazingly delish indeed

Thanks for always having such original plant based ideas, I love that sauce and will test it out probably later this week. I have had dried white beans in my kitchen cabinet forever that I once bough to test it out not really knowing what to do with them. They will come in handy now.
cheers

Glad I can help you use up those beans! They really are great to use in a sauce or dip, especially if you wan't to keep it cheaper since nuts can be expensive. I look forward to seeing how you tweak it to your liking!

Did you by chance happen to vote in the dpoll that I linked at the end of the post? If yes, then great. If no, I am a part of the @steemitbloggers/#powerhousecreatives and we could use all the help we can get to support the community! Thanks my friend!

Voted !
Great to see they are currently on top, I hope they take down to 20k delegation

Thank you so much! The whole community is really working so hard to get it this time around!

Yep, a potato for you, a potato for me, and that makes me happy. Haha… I make a cheesy sauce out of potato and carrot, noot, and jalapeños … 😋 so good. You are a meal prepping machine. I guess that’s what under 23 minute 5k runners do, meal prep. You’re a beast and this is great.

Except potatoes. Thanks giphy.com. 🤣

Going in the oven now...
IMG_20190226_173544272.jpg

Oh God, deliciousness in the making… how’d they turn out?

So good! I will definitely be making them again. I baked them, too, so no frying needed. Once I remembered to make the batter ahead of time to set, they couldn't be easier. Kind of like making polenta. I was going to try to finally throw down for FFF, but I realized I didn't take enough pictures to really flesh out a full post. And I'm tired after playing multiple rounds of hide and seek with the little blonde one. 🤣 I'll write up a little something about them at some point, but I did just follow roughly the few recipes I looked up like the one we both looked at.

That would have been so cool to see your hat in the food fight ring. There’s always next week and I know Miss little niece pants takes priority :). Looking forward to your write up then.

Looks yummy!! I want to try this soon :)))

Thanks! It definitely hits all the warm and fuzzy spots in my belly. :)

That looks fabulous Katie. Your meal prep is more than just meal prep my Dear! It is a well balanced weekly nourishment that is also colourful and flavorful 🍅🌿🥜🥦🥔🍆🌱🥑

I'm glad everyone else loves spuds as much as me. I haven't been sharing as much of my meal prep magic lately, so I'm trying to get back to the routine! I perk up like everything else in the spring time, so thank goodness it is right around the corner here. 💐

Oh is it? We are having -10 C right now, so no sign of spring here 😟

@plantstoplanks,

Great post. Delicious-looking and well-written.

Quill

Thanks Quill! Potatoes elicit enough love in my heart that I try to do them justice every time. 😉

Had potatoes too tonight, but more like a Spanish Potato Tortilla. Was good, but your meal looks really delicious. Will have to try that sometime soon!

Oooh, yours sounds good, too! I don't think there's really any dish I don't like potatoes in, so I'm always up to try them different ways. Though when all else fails, baking will always do. ;)

Wow that looks so yummy, @plantstoplanks :D The recipe looks easy enough to make, too.... Really wonderful !

Thanks @veryspider! It really was pretty simple to put together. Most of it was pretty hands off, and then it all comes together in one yummy bowl at the end!

The more I spend time on Steemit the more I hate the fact that we are not allowed to cook in our dorms within the school...probably I should bookmark this and many other recipes I find across Steemit and try them one by one when I finally have my own kitchen or something.

I love potatoes too (including potato electronic devices, I love those potato laptops I have in my home lol) and the sauce just makes it look more amazing because I love cheese as well (if someone reading this comment remembered that I once said something like "I love sweet food", you may edit that statement because in reality, I love literally everything edible). Broccoli is a huge plus, but why they don't look green? Lol.

Now can I make this with a microwave?

You actually can easily make baked potatoes in a microwave, and steaming carrots and broccoli, too! The sauce might be a bit tougher, but get some canned beans and you might be in business! 😉

I know I didn't do much cooking when I lived in a dorm, but once I got out of college I really started to have some fun! Coincidentally, I pretty much lived off of baked potatoes from the dining hall during those years. Ahh, memories.

Since I roasted the broccoli, it tends to darken up and lose the vibrant green color. I tend to like mine just short of charring sometimes, but then other times I like it crisp and raw. I'm not too picky when it comes to my veggies. I hope you do start saving some of the recipes that you really like--it will give you one more thing to look forward to when you move on from dorm life! 😃

Wow...I really think I want to try it out. I mean, I like cooking a lot and I wanted to try stuff with the microwave pretty badly. The most I had done was microwaving eggs in many styles but that's it, will potatoes be the next one? 🤔🤔🤔

Why they don't sell baked potatoes in my canteen?? Ree.

Oh... So the broccolis were roasted, I see. And yes, I really should start saving recipes, there are like a million things I wanted to try... No time to waste!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84