Cooking with @lenasveganliving & @thekitchenfairy {Plus my surprise gift from @dksart!}

in #vegan6 years ago

Hello again my friends! I often come across so many fantastic recipes on here, but it is hard to get a chance to try them all, especially when I am having fun coming up with my own vegan goodies. Every now and then, though, my pals post something that I just can't pass up making in my own kitchen. I have been following @lenasveganliving and @thekitchenfairy since I first joined Steemit almost a year and a half ago, so I know these ladies will never disappoint me in their fantastic creations.

IMG_20181218_124911750_HDR.jpg

I'll start out with the queen of #fruitsandveggiesmonday and my rendition of her Christmas Daikon Salad. Just look at those photos of hers and tell me you aren't drooling right now? My market has had some fabulous fresh daikon radish available lately, so I knew I could easily find the tasty fresh ingredients to give her salad a go in my own kitchen.

IMG_20181218_124529652_HDR.jpg

I decided to make mine into a full meal, so I ended up shredding my radish, carrots and apples for the salad so it would easily mix up with a batch of quinoa. Since those lovely pomegranate arils were so festive, I also opted for using pomegranate balsamic vinegar to cook my tempeh in for my protein boost. Oh my goodness was that delicious! I caramelized red onion, then added in my cubed tempeh and the pomegranate vinegar until it soaked in to make a delicious coating on the tempeh. Bravo to Lena for that absolutely delicious salad because it formed the perfect base to add in these few extras to make a wonderful meal for lunches this week!

text15.png

IMG_20181214_153307012.jpg

On to the magic of @thekitchenfairy... If you follow her regular posts then you probably saw that she was up to her eyeballs in pumpkin this year. She has been posting some scrumptious recipes to use up the yummy orange gourd. I have been hording butternut squash in my kitchen, which is a great substitute for pumpkin as they are pretty similar in texture and flavor. Though I would gladly try any of the other recipes she posted, her version of a Vegan Eggnog called my name. Kind of funny since eggnog has never been my thing even before I turned vegan, but I thought it would be a great drink to bring along to some holiday festivities with friends and family.

IMG_20181214_155221529.jpg

Yep, it's as creamy and delicious as it looks. My girlfriends enjoyed the batch that I brought over for our get-together Friday evening. The one friend's husband is Puerto Rican and he said it reminded him of a much lighter and healthier version of the coquito he grew up with. I'm going to be making a few more batches for Christmas with family to share. Thanks for the fantastic recipe my friend!

text15.png

IMG_20181220_072719613.jpg

In the spirit of sharing recipes, check out the surprise gift @dksart made for me!! How awesome is that??

IMG_20181220_072733034.jpg

He made a full on cook book of some of the recipes I have shared since I started blogging. I had no clue he had been working on this.

IMG_20181220_072809004.jpg

He's hinted for a while that I should think about it, but of course he has more faith in me than I have myself sometimes. I'm not always good at thinking in the abstract without something concrete in front of me, so actually seeing how it could look put together has made me realize how fun it could be to make it happen. Perhaps I can add that to my 2019 goals...

IMG_20181220_072824673.jpg

Aren't custom gifts just the best? Sorry to my friends and family, but I think this one already takes the cake for the best gift of the year! Thank you my dear for such a wonderful gift! 😘

SB_new.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa


Sort:  

Delicious! You are welcome! I had fun making the book! :-)

Best gift ever! 😘

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

You had an awesome Christmas gift this year!!
The tempeh looks yummy too!

That tempeh was so good! Though the gift definitely tops it all. 😊

I bet it does!

this is so awesome! that book will make a lovely christmas gift!

Thanks! It was such a great surprise!

wow this book looks really professional! I would definitely print more and sell the Katie!!! Very nice gift!

I think I just have a few things I'd edit, but man he did good! I brought it with me to work to show it off. 😆

Dude, I’m so stoked for you! That cook book is everything and @dksart killed it on the Christmas gifts this year. I just told @dandays that he should have done that. Haha

The eggnog looks fantastic too. It’s on my list as well from @thekitchenfairy. I’ve since come up with a health nut rendition that is made with spinach- totally by accident. I just started making these smoothies and they taste just like eggnog to me. Maybe I’ll share the recipe soon. Great post @plantstoplanks. Great job on the cook book @dksart!!!

I'm sure @dandays will take care of you, too. @dksart isn't one for doing presents often, but when he does it's a winner! 😍

Ooh, I'd love to see your spinach nog! Make something green and I'm all about it. I promise I'll post the blue balls before Christmas, too! 🍡 (Pretend those are blue...🤣)

Haha… alright, alright. I’m working on a different kind of post that will feature my spinach eggnog 😉 Dandays and I don’t do presents in the traditional sense, for anything. Since we’ve been married we haven’t bought each other one gift. Haha… I’ll make him specialty cakes, we write each other stuff and surprise each other with excursions (usually of the bicycle variety). I’ve been hinting for him to make my recipes into a book though. I’m so happy that @dksart jumped at the opportunity. It’s something you’ll have forever. Love, love, love it.

What a colorful and healthy looking dish, and how call a gift I’ds that book that is so so cool

Color in all the decorations around town, and color on my plate, too. :) Definitely a super cool gift!

Especially at this time of year we need lots of color to combat the dreary days LOL

freaking awesome!

i published my first cookbook back in 2005 :D what a feeling it was when the first one sold hahah

now, you should do the same ;-)

I was so hesitant thinking I wasn't quite at that level yet, but he totally made this look so awesome! I'm sure it felt so amazing to sell that first book, so I think after a few changes I'll put it out for others, too! 😄

Wow, what a cookbook Katie! That is the most loving creative gift. @dksart is really talented :) Can't believe he was able to pull that off without you knowing about it. Bravo to him and to you as well! You are so gifted, 2019 is going to be an amazing year for you my friend! Love the tag to our dear friend Lena, she is truly an inspiration to us all! Merry Christmas Katie!

It is definitely one of the best gifts I have ever received! And all I got him was some beer...🤣

Lena is such a wonderful creator and supporter, so I'm happy to shout it from the rooftops! The community all across this sphere is fantastic, so I truly am grateful for yours and all of the other wonderful relationships I have built this year. I hope 2019 is a great one for us all!

Oh wow, that's definitely the best gift, @dksart has put a lot of time and effort into that! It's always so nice to receive custom gifts. :)

Isn't it so great! Especially since I had absolutely no idea he was putting it together. 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58106.16
ETH 2286.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56