The Silence of the lambs.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #vegan6 years ago

The Silence of the lambs.

Click here for source

I am fortunate to live out in the countryside, this affords me a quieter life than my city dwelling siblings. I love to see the new life all around me from the plants to animals. Spring is a time I love and hate with almost equal emotion. I get to see the trees and plants spring into life. I get to watch the frogs spawn hatch and see the little tadpoles grow in front of my eyes. My kids get to have the type of childhood I had. They can get lost for hours with their friends, build huts, head off to the playground and generally just be kids. This is lost on so many urban kids IMO, organized play-dates and everything is supervised and over analyzed. I want them to experience a childhood like I had, they have enough time to be grownups when they are grown up.

Click here for source

New life and death in equal measure.

Spring is the lambing season, I get to see so many of these beautiful little guys jumping around, never straying too far from their moms. I dont think there is anything more innocent in this world like the lambs as they frolic and play, it lifts my soul to see them. This joy is always short lived, only yesterday I was driving home from work when I saw the blacked out trailers pulling up to the fields where the lambs were grazing with their moms. Its kind of weird for me to write "moms", in Ireland we say mam not mom, nevertheless this is what the mammy sheep are to their kids. In fact when we were younger myself and my older brother would call my own mam like lambs, Maaaammmm, it used to drive her crazy. We did it in jest, anything to wind our mam up! It was only yesterday as I heard the little lambs bleating for their own mams that this memory came back to me.

Click here for source

Stolen babies

As the lambs were torn away from their mothers their bleating became more and more distressed, the ewe's advances toward the trailers were kicked or hit away. The level of violence against these peaceful creatures was quite disturbing. The lambs were tossed into the trailers like you would throw bags of coal, no thought for the welfare of the lambs. I wish this was an isolated incident but I have seen this a few times now and the same pattern follows. Year in year out. All so people can consume the flesh of babies. It is only when I stepped outside of this cycle of death that I could clearly see what I was a part of. I would relish the thought of a leg of lamb, I am an excellent cook and I could make that shit taste like butter. I would make an olive tapenade and tenderize the meat, pierce the flesh and poke rosemary and salt into it, never thinking about the life that was taken for my momentary taste and olfactory pleasure. We raise our babies to be kind to animals and in the same breath we feed them the flesh of babies that are stolen from their mothers. If we saw our own children cutting the throat of a cat, dog or lamb we would be horrified. Yet we pay other people to carry out these acts on our behalf.

Is it any wonder that we feel so confused? we do not live in line with our morals.

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my HTC ONE.


LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Sort:  

Couldn't agree with you more! What beautiful animals

Thanks for checking it out. When you make posts like this you know it will polarize your followers. Somethings have to be said though. It would break your heart to see them trying to escape.

Well stated!

It always makes me so sad when I see newborn lambs out in the fields each spring, as I know very well how short their lives will be. 😔

Yeah, it is a very surreal feeling, the joy of seeing new life and then seeing these roundups is a pretty horrible sight . Thanks for checking it out.

All we can do is keep raising awareness wherever we can, I guess!

This makes me so sad. I hate to read about the suffering of animals. All I want to do is hug them and give them some love.
But it's so important that we do write about it and inform people about what their decisions is doing to the animals and out planet.

Thanks nicole, yes, I believe it is important to write about. The momentary pleasure of taste is really not worth what these little chaps go through.

Exactly, you are so right <3. I'm going to start a new easter tradition next year and start gathering dog toys, blankets, dog food and so on to the local dog shelter. Get the whole family in on it to start shifting their minds to a more animal loving and caring mindset. Instead of egg painting and putting up feathers they will do something for animals.

Ah this post reminds me of all the new lambs I recently saw :(

They are beautiful to see but their fate is sealed. I love to see them but when you see what they are destined for it really is heart breaking.

Yeah same, it always feels so sad although they look really cute with their mom..

Thank you @moonunit for bringing this to attention. That is quite sad how they treat and eventually slaughter those lambs and their babies.

It is a horrible cycle of death, Most people never get to see this part, they only see what is served infront of them. Thanks for checking it out.

Love sheep, animals, farms, forest. I have gardens. I hate violence. Mom. Mam. Mommy. Momma. Mother. Interesting what you are writing. Love family first values. Love life lessons learned. The silence of the lambs reminds me of that film with that same name. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Hey Joey, indeed the title is the same. It is a heartbreaking thing to witness and I have seen it many times, it never gets easier.

I understand.

That so sad...

Thanks for checking it out Nina, indeed it is a heartbreaking site.

Congratulations @moonunit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

i saw somewhere that the mams cry for their babies long after they are taken away :_(

Yeah it is a horrible situation. I think when you witness this type of thing there is no way you could sit there and not associate the meat on the table to the animal that has been stolen from its mam and killed for it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50