Watch the beginning of life!

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

Follow along with me as this frog spawn hatches into new life!

I am fortunate enough that where I live I have a large commons area. I typically walk my dogs here as there isn't usually anyone around. Having a Rottweiller and a Notweiller isn't always appreciated by people. Some think that they will instantly be eaten by the two girls. Any way back to the frogspawn, While out on my walks I typically walk down some of the drainage channels and one day I noticed some strange shapes on the surface of the water. I wanted to check in case it was rubbish. If it was I could have taken it out so some wildlife wouldn't get sick or caught up in it! But to my joy it was actually some frogspawn, it looked reasonably new too as you can see the tadpole embryos are still pretty much circular. This means that they are not far into their development stage.

Why so many eggs?

If you think that is loads of eggs, check out the picture below

Frogs lay so many eggs because as they do not look after their young most do not survive to adulthood. From the three thousand eggs that one female lays, only around five will become adult frogs! That is a very low survival rate for these little guys. The remaining eggs will be eaten by a whole host of other animals like birds, dragonflies, fish and newts (although I haven't seen any newts or fish in the channels) So maybe these guys will have a higher survival rate. These first 2 shots were taken on the 17th of march. Yes, I know it was St Patricks day and I should have been doing some leprechaun chasing or something like that, but hey, the dooggies needed a walk and I came across this!

Time to hatch!

I spent ages trying to capture some clear images with my HTC ONE but I dont think the camera is really suited for this type of thing, I did manage to capture these 2 little guys having a flutter. It is still quite cold in the area but it is supposed to warm up over the next few days so they should be more active once that happens.

So until next time I get out you will have to wait. I want to try to track them all the way to frogs. I know this might not be the easiest thing to do but I sure hope I can. I just love to see this new life happening right in-front of my eyes

All images unless otherwise sourced and noted as such are my own. Sourced images are clickable to show their source. My own images are typically taken with my HTC ONE.


LIKE WHAT YOU SEE?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50