MOAR FOOD 🥪😋

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

Not trying to devolve into a "this is what I ate for lunch" type of blogger baha, but sometimes the food is just too good.

I had an "heirloom tomato" laying around.


I think I got it for free. Cashier seemed to just move it over on the belt without weighing it, and then I didn't see it on the receipt. Lol. He was probably like "..meh, this would cost a lot, I don't have the heart".

I had only bought it because it was on sale and close-ish to regular tomato prices. Free is even better.

I decided to make a chikn sandwich (using Boca spicy chikn patties), and my sick twist was topping it with vegan bacon and vegan cheddar.

vegan bacon

I'm not a big advocate of vegan/veggie bacon. A lot of the meat substitutes are great (arguably even more tasty), but bacon.. you just kind of need to give up when you go vegan.

You can very loosely approximate the taste, but it doesn't live up to the overall "bacon" experience. And in their attempt to be something that's hard to be, some of the vegan bacons can be not so good, in my experience.

Lightlife's "Smart Bacon" is pretty okay tho imo. But you have to go into it feeling like it's just a thing. It's just one of the many things you can use to stuff a sandwich. You can't romanticize about it being "bacon".

I feel like I used it in a pretty optimal way:

First I couldn't find it, and figured my "topped with bacon" idea was going down the tubes.

Then I realized I had mistakenly put it in the freezer. So the slices were all frozen together and couldn't be pulled apart. But not to be denied, I treated it as a block and sliced off little pieces of it myself.

I think this was actually better than using their slice. Theirs would be thicker. This was perfect.

I topped the patty with the bacon after it had crisped up and then let the cheese melt on top:

Bacon going under cheese was important to me for some reason. I think I like that it was glued in there, rather than free to fall off and drift around and whatnot.

(bbq sauce on the bottom bun and mayo on the top)

Was like something straight out of Jack In The Box. But vegannnn obvz.

Served with a side of macaroni salad that I made the other day and had laying around.

Sort:  

LOL! This one line alone made the whole post worthwhile and because of it I was able to enjoy the rest of the post.

"Not trying to devolve into a "this is what I ate for lunch" 
 type of blogger"

I sometimes wonder why people are not this creative with their posts. I mean if the post is just going to be a picture of the lunch, then why not turn it into something that is edible in the literary sense as well.

😁😁

yaaaa.. gotta put a little love into it!

gotta spice it up, make it more PALATABLE, something the viewers want to consume! 😛

There's always a story. I feel like we can usually do a little more than just a boring old pic of a sandwich. hehe, glad you liked it and thanks for stopping by!

Food posts have kind of a moral obligation to make the posts more palatable :-)

yup! something the readers can really sink their teeth into! 🤣

Your cooking way is very creative. I like that. Heirloom tomato’s are very expensive, especially if they are organic. Here in NY it costs $5.00 per pound. I don’t buy these, since I don’t support ripping off. This Wednesday is 4th of July and since I don’t eat meat on Wednesday’s I have to figure out something vegan. I’m actually working on some tofu. Never done it, but with You Tube’s help I should be fine lol.

that's so awesome that you have a vegan day!!

I feel like when it falls on holidays or whatever, it would be okay to make an exception and shift it to a different day. But I'm not in the business of telling people not to eat vegan.. so I immediately take it back lol. Or maybe it could be like you do 2 days if there's a need to shift.

Really tho I actually like holding yourself to the day. It forces you to be creative and holds your feet to the fire with it.

And ya, I think you'll do awesome by looking thru YouTube. If you like Italian sausages, I've always enjoyed the vegan versions. Get the nice caramelized peppers and onions going... non-vegans will be savoring for it lol.

I often melt a slice of provolone (non-dairy obv) onto the sausage and then pepper/onion and mustard. baha now I'm hungry.

And ya, these were "on sale" for $3.99/pound.. I weighed it and was like "okay I'll pay $1.50 for that", but wouldn't make it a regular thing.

We have some tomatoes budding on the deck right now, hopefully they show up within a few weeks or so.

That’s a great idea caramelized pepper and onions. I will certainly use it, even the vegan type sausage could be a great idea. It has already been couple of years since I haven’t eaten meat on Wednesday’s and Friday’s. I got sooo used to it, not even Holliday makes me break it. Even-though I have my family coming over I definitely stay meatless and they can eat whatever they want.

so great!! and ya, buried under the pepper and onion goodness I think even a meat eater would love it, if they dared try a bite.

sausages seem like a good vegan meat to me, because it's so much about the spice and seasonings.

Lol I was just wrestling with posting the 'everything' bagel my sister brought home for me from NYC today, topped with homemade cream cheese mixed with jalapenos. Looks good man!!

hahah we all need to post food from time to time!! there's no shame in it!!!

It looks super delicious, I wanted to try to make burgers with gluten "meat" AKA Wheat meat.
not everyone likes those that are based on lentils or legumes.

mmmmm ya, it depends!! it's def a bit of a different taste.. imo it's really yummy, I eat black bean burgers sometimes.

but def have to be in the mood for it. like if people expect it to taste like a beef burger, they won't get what they want haha. but it's just a yummy thing in its own right, nice legume patty and fresh veggies, will be great!!

it really gives you an appetite and then with a free piece of tomato it's always better ^^

yaaaa, exactly lol 😃 free tomato makes everything better

the question, is since it is free it is even better for health? haha ^^

bahaa maybe.. fat free and also price free :p

if nothing else it's a couple dollars I can keep in the arsenal.. more money usually helps make healthy decisions easier.. so ya, it probably was healthier than if I had to pay!

as a decision you're gonna decide to go buy a new tomato, right?
a wise decision haha

I may! baha. I had another heirloom in my hand today, but shrugged and put it back.

just taking it a day at a time, hard to know how it will all unravel

I did not understand the meaning of HEIRLOOM :(, I am French and I try to learn English vocabulary ^^

I'm not sure exactly what it means as far as tomatoes go.. I'm sure it means something specific, about the way they're grown.. in my mind it's "fancy, funny looking shape, tastes nice".

I'm sure google would quickly say exactly what it means.. but I like not knowing.

"heirlooms" in general are like "artifacts" or "special little items"... "a family heirloom".

Well done @full-measure! You successfully guessed the match result.

Round 16 - Belgiumof vs Japan
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 3


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Belgium made a big comeback there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95