Easy, Affordable, Nourishing, Complete: 2 vegan meals to look at ๐ŸŒŽ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿฝ๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‹

in #vegan โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

First we have a taste of Puerto Rico ๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ท

Everyone should get in on this pastelillos shit.

Linked right there is a vegan cooking blog that I happened to stumble into when I was googling "pastelillos" for the proper spelling. But clicking thru is optional-- I can explain it myself:

Basically, you buy something like these (Goya empanadas shells), and leave them out of the freezer for a solid half hour or so to defrost so you can fold them.

And then you fill them with whatever you want. Fold it and secure the edges, and then fry it. (Don't be afraid to pour a lot of oil and fry it rather deeply.)

Pictured here, mine are filled with Gardein beefless tips, which of course I cook all the way before going inside the pouch, and grilled peppers and a non-dairy cheese.

The self-explanatory items are white rice, corn, cranberry sauce (because I'm next-level), and a few olives.

And then the mound of mashed yumminess is mofongo.

Which is basically green plantains, fried, and then mashed with garlic and olive oil and salt and pepper to taste.

(If you remember the 'mortar and pestle' from the WHAT'S IN MY CART? competition, it's all come full circle and this is basically why I was buying it.)

"Easy"

This food is really easy in the sense of like it doesn't take any Michelin stars to execute it. To be fair tho, it's plenty of steps and busy work. Between the mofongo and the pastelillos, you're doing a lot before it's on your plate.

You should be in the mood for it and ready for the process, or have some loving help.

The efficient way to do pastelillos is probably to make a bunch at once and have them in the fridge or freezer ready for frying.

And now let's have a taste of Buffalo NY ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ

This meal truly is easy. I made it yesterday as I was watching football.

It's two chickenless patties (Whole Foods store brand), fried up and then roughly forked into pieces while it was still in the pan. And then I poured Frank's Red Hot on them, when they were on my plate.

Big salad. Just lettuce and tomato.

A non-dairy ranch or blue cheese would be nice, but I only had a French dressing, which is fine.

Often I like to make Buffalo chicken sandwiches, but sandwiches are a pain to assemble. So if I was on Top Chef I'd market this as a deconstructed french fries and Buffalo chicken sandwich.

The potato thing is just frozen "hash brown" potatoes that I cook in non-dairy butter, and season.

The photo is forgiving in terms of it not looking like an abnormally large amount of food, but it kinda was. I felt gluttonous and American. But it costs maybe like $3-4, so there's nothing really to feel bad about.


I've said it before and I'll say it again: Vegan eating is actually really conducive to convenience.

It sometimes isn't only because the world in general isn't vegan so it isn't setup that way. (So you can pop into McDonald's for a beef burger, but vegans don't have the same array of options.)

But these frozen patties that I can take out of the freezer and have ready to eat within moments can be deliberately made to freeze and package effectively. Whereas actual chicken meat is bound by whatever chicken meat is, and so to have it packaged, frozen, and ready to go takes a lot more effort and tradeoff by way of artificial additive and preservative.

Inherently, vegan food has the high ceiling as far as convenience goes.

Sort: ย 
ย 6 years agoย (edited)

On god I thought only Asians and Africans ate rice. Laaame, I know. LOL.

Those are some inventive stuffs right there. As for pastelillos This is one of those words I don't think I can ever learn to spell.

All in all, epic looking foods.

I'll say it again: Vegan eating is actually really conducive to convenience.

Yup. Hundred percent agree. I've heard some people say this too.

Chi-earssss.

๐Ÿ˜„๐Ÿ˜„ hey man .. ya I love rice! I eat it more when I'm on my healthier grinds, like smoothie life and rice and veggie life :p

And sometimes when I bike a lot rice is like a staple for me, I just want a pile of white rice ๐Ÿš so bad

As for pastelillos This is one of those words I don't think I can ever learn to spell.

Omg so true!!! I had a hard time every time I typed it, something about all the l's

and the t is weird ๐Ÿค” it feels like it should end with "litos" but it doesn't!! The t is chillin at the beginning

Funny word

Haha exactly. Even when I read it I swear I was expecting "litos" ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ LOL litos would have been so cool but - but - I like the plot twist; I like the unpredicatability - I'll just never bother spelling it haha

๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† ya it's such a plot twist

Plantains are great so I love mofongo. You've inspired me to try to make it myself.

I'd never heard "pastelillos" before, but according to this...

http://thekaribunews.com/2016/08/25/empanada-pastelillo-whats-the-difference/

... it's pretty similar to empanadas (hence the empanada shells), which are also great. We've made them in our air fryer before.

Okay ya, I wasn't sure if they were different than empanadas. I've never had them as "empanadas", but realized I was buying the empanada shell, so I wondered lol.

I guess it's basically like they're the same thing, and since people make them with different variations anyways, maybe you can expect a slightly different range of possibility based on what name it's being called, but no technical difference.

Sick research.

Fun fact: I accidentally used to call them "pantaleones", which means "pants", like way more than once or twice. I eventually accepted that this is what I do and I concentrate now before I say anything.

Very confusing word all around.

The first meal looks like a lot of work for just a plate of rice... Over here, I just boil the rice, with a bit of veg oil so it isn't sticky and serve with tomato sauce on top.

Plus, I know you're vegan but WHATS A PLATE OF RICE WITHOUT CHICKEN?!

Vegan eating is actually really conducive to convenience.

Maybe. Maybe not. Hehe

The first meal looks like a lot of work for just a plate of rice...

Wait but ๐Ÿค”... but it ISN'T just a plate of rice ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค” It's mofongo and a pestelillo too! If it were just a plate of rice, then it wouldn't have been all the work ๐Ÿค”

I often like just a pile of rice too! And tomato ๐Ÿ… sauce on top sounds good.

Pssshhhh chicken .... that's a lot of work .. you have to chase the sucker down and grab it by the beak and shit ๐Ÿฆ ๐Ÿฆ

Wait but ๐Ÿค”... but it ISN'T just a plate of rice ๐Ÿค”๐Ÿค” It's mofongo and a pestelillo too! If it were just a plate of rice, then it wouldn't have been all the work ๐Ÿค”

Yawns loudly

I actually don't like cooking and stuff. most times I eat out or announce uninvited in my neighbor's apartment.

Beyond boiling yams, rice and noodles and frying eggs, I don't do any cooking

Pssshhhh chicken .... that's a lot of work .. you have to chase the sucker down and grab it by the beak and shit ๐Ÿฆ ๐Ÿฆ

Beefer

Just buy it frozen. I don't have to get blood on my hands. My conscience can't stand it

๐Ÿ˜†

ฤฐt looks delicious ๐Ÿ˜‹

๐Ÿ˜‹๐Ÿ˜‹

Hi @full-measure!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.416 which ranks you at #2161 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2156).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #196.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56523.53
ETH 2982.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15