People, 99% are in conflict with themselves, and the 1% chose to be aligned with their ethical values

in #vegan7 years ago (edited)

After 3 months of a vegan lifestyle and posting material for changing consciousness on facebook, I discovered a lot of things, mostly about human behavior. One interesting thing - I found a lot of people (or they found me?) who want to directly or indirectly examine my psyche, that is, why I do it (and they almost suggested a problem with my mother / father). Three years ago, a friend told me that it is inconsiderate to do psychoanalysis on someone without their permission. At first, what she said seemed strange, but later on, from a variety of angles of view (far before going vegan) I discovered and understood that this was really true. However, it refers to a single human (and I am a man, and I do not want to do to others what I do not want to be done to me). That does not mean I can not psychoanalize the whole humanity without asking all the people first.

Below, me below my friend's grapevine canopy... A meme I made for facebook showing how ridiculous it is to kill animals for food. The text makes no sense when translated into english.

1.JPG

In my analysis, I succeeded to find, in 99% of people, at least two groups that are in conflict with their own ethical attitudes:

a) Cognitively dissonanted child
A man who refuses to take responsibility for his actions, decisions, for his life. A guy who refuses to hear information about how unhealthy it is to eat animal products. It's the one who turns his head when you show him footage from the slaughterhouse. He willingly changes topics when he's not right, and often he will never talk to you again after the conversation. I find it hard to see those pictures because I'm an empathetic person. Still, I always wanted to do something about it, I did not run away from the slaughterhouse video to the comfort zone, fast food restaurant... And now I understand that vegetarianism is really an ethical contradiction, but back then it was all messy and cloudy in my head, it was not clear to me that you have to kill bulls to have milk. However, my ignorance does not justify my actions. All the time I had internet access and all the information was out there. Not to mention that I had the vision of an adult man who sucked on the cow's udder, I was still eating dairy products. Now I understand that I was a representation of a conflict with my own attitudes and experiences. A big thank you to the Creator for showing me this path, after 5 years, my behavior is in greater harmony with my thoughts and feelings.

Below, my favorite source of iron, collard greens, the mother and the father of all cruciferous vegetables.

ancient dark leafy.JPG

b) Traditional psycho / sociopath
That's the guy that when you show him a shaky go vegan video and he says, "What now?" "Yes, and?", So you tell him to stop eating animal products ... "But, why not?" "That's what we do for thousands of years, after all, I do not buy anything from the slaughterhouse, we slaughter our own." "I, my father, my grandfather, my grangrandfather, we all did it, it's a tradition here. " Cannibal tribes have some traditions too. Still, neither do I, nor do you want to be part of that tradition. No cultural constancy, as long as it lasts, should not determine the moral views of that nation. Furthermore, tradition certainly should not do harm to any living, conscious beings. However, I wasn't reluctant to catch fish with this logical fallacy in my head before. I was going directly against the empathic feeling I always felt in my heart. If I killed a rabbit, a pig or a cow, it would probably make those feelings much harder. It is not clear to me, how someone, if he's not a sociopath, has the opportunity to feel empathy, comes from a slaughter party (it actually is a thing in my country) with a smile on his face?

If you want to see the part 2 of this article and see more vegan content, follow up, I always follow back, and please, go vegan and grow your own if you can!

Sort:  

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freegardens to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks writing contest!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

@eileenbeach has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

good thoughts. for most people it's hard to change behaviors. "traditional psychos" ;-)

You're right. It's all just cognitive dissonance of different levels.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54