5 things going vegan did to me...

in #vegan7 years ago

I'm sure there are many articles online about the benefits of a vegan diet. I'm not here to rewrite those. I want to share my authentic experience and I hope it will have some positive influence on your mind, soul and heart. Note that I was not eating meat of a terrestrial animal for 5 years before this. I ate fish every few months, butter daily and milk and eggs occasionally. I stumbled upon "What the health", which made me look further into this way of life. I found "nutritionfacts", "mic the vegan" and the rest of the youtube vegan gang, hundreds of people on Facebook posting thousand of solid reasons to go vegan. Soon I found that the whole milk industry is covered in the same blood as the meat one, infact, it is the same industry. I discovered that eggs are full of cholesterol and that you could never get your daily value of B12 from eggs (without first dying of something egg-related). I've come to know that fish are sentient beings just as terrestrial animals, which confirmed my empathic feelings I have towards them. Not only that, but that they are so full of mercury that mercury tooth fillings are not even the smallest problem compared to it. For some time, I tried to find healthy sources of fat. I found that all sources of fat, except seeds, nuts and avocados have the same effect on the cardiovascular system. So I loaded up on sesame, flax, sunflower and chia seeds, walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts, avocados, etc... And I excluded most of the processed oils. So I started my vegan journey... Now, after three months I think it is safe to say that it is the time to contemplate what happened to me.

Fatigue

It's gone. Pretty much, I guess... I used to be tired all the time, especially after a meal. Nowadays, all of my meals uplift my energy levels. I still drink coffee in the morning, but I don't even need it (I love it), some exercise is enough to wake me up. I feel that it is easier for me to get myself to do anything, and I managed to make myself work out on any day I can. I lost some fat (I was skinny in the first place) and gained some muscle, which definitely adds up to my energy levels.

Emotions

Simply put, my feelings became more stable and the balance tilted over to the 'positive' side. During the day, I feel happy, calm, talkative, social, proactive (even without forcing myself) and creative. Before veganism, I remember these we're just quick bursts that quickly went away and did not come back, sometimes, for months. Other than those fluffy feelings, I now understand that my emotional body is much stronger against attacks of other people and events. I feel that I live my own 'dharma' as much as I can - other people's lies, mental and emotional manipulations and fallacies cannot affect me anymore (nowadays I just get dissapointed by humanity every day)... Below, a picture of my collard greens. I truly believe that green should be a symbol of love, not red.

collard-greens.JPG

Mucus

Aaah! I finally proven it to myself, diary was the cause of my mucus... It was so bad for me I got used to it... It was just an everyday trouble. Nowadays it shows up only when I fall asleep near to an open window. Chronic mucus is definitely a serious health problem which overflows to other areas of your life... The worst of all, it's one of the most gross things that can come out of a human body. I wish I knew better before, I wish I could stop it all with just one dietary change! Purity is what takes to live a fulfilling life. Just because something's white, doesn't mean it's not filthy (google "pus in your milk"). The morning dew covered white rose picture I took the other day could be a symbol of purity tho'!

rose.JPG

Mind

Strength, that's one thing veganism (or vegan activism) gave my mind. It led me to become more scientifically correct and to find websites listing logical fallacies. As time passes, and as I talk to more and more people, I feel that my beliefs get stronger and stronger... I quickly strip away all the fallacies I find within my own mindset or while talking to others. What's left? Truth! How things really are for all of us, objectively. If you're still choose to live in your mind after objective truth has been presented to you, I have nothing else to talk to you about - I try to hang out only with people capable of understanding the world around them in a rational manner.

Influence

The people around my life started to change. Some, went on with eating a lot of animal products - some even more to obviously defy everything I learned about, understood and shared with them. Disrespect at it's worst (doing damage to yourself and innocent living beings just to prove a point)! Others, stopped eating meat (or all animal products) for a few days, a few weeks, a lifetime. Everytime someone comes to me saying he's not eating animal products because of what I said, I have a butterfly flapping his wings in my heart and the scorer in my head writing down "+1 point"... What can I use the points for? I don't have an idea, but I'm sure veganism is a fire in my heart and mind that will burn until I die... I will go full effort on burning all injustice and untruths with it. I truly hope all animals will be free one day.

12345.JPG

Thank you for letting me share my experience with you, and please, if you're not already vegan, try it, you'll love it!
If you're vegan, feel free to write yourself out in the comments...

What is your top five things a vegan lifestyle did to you (worst or best I don't care)?

Do you still feel less or more fatigued and motivated?

Are you more or less stable on the emotional level?

Did you find that diary encourages mucus creation?

Do you do some form of vegan activism?

How do you feel around contrary influences and opinions compared to before you went vegan?

What influence you have on different people in your life?

For more original vegan content like this, gardening articles and beautiful, original photography follow me @freegardens! Love to all, enjoy yourselves!

Sort:  

Great post, thanks for the follow too, followed you right back @rishherbalist.

Thanks man, stay on track

Really like this one, people should be more concious about needless animal suffering aswell as vegan life style benefits. As a kid I used to play with animals on my father's farm so I couldn't stand killing them and stopped eating meat since early age. There was a period in my life when some people convinced me to eat meat for improving my health problems, so after a while I've noticed changes in my behavior- I was nervous, depressed, fatigue, and even agressive. And health problems got worse. That was good for me because I realised that it's so wrong, and I started to avoid any animal product ever since then.

Hey @sparkwise, thanks for your experience! About the health aspect, I suggest that you look into dr. Greger's work at nutritionfacts.org... Enjoy your day girl!

Energy was the first thing I noticed too. I had so much of it.

To me it can even become a problem if I don't have focus... Seriously, just being able to live without coffee or any other stimulans whatsoever is beautiful! I guess people never do realize how much energy meat digestion takes away. Again, thanks for stopping by!

I still drink coffee sometimes, but thats not due to lack of energy. I just really like the flavor.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @freegardens to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Check out our contests as well!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80