Jackfruit tastes like pulled pork?! Let's make tacos!

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

A few months ago, we were invited to a BBQ joint by a friend. We weren't sure if they had any meat free options, but of course we went with happy hearts!

We were super excited that they did have vegetarian naan pizza, one of my favorite meals, and wraps that the meat could easily be replaced with by more veg...or with jackfruit!

But my first question was...

What the heck is jackfruit?!

Upon further inquiry, the handsome Yeti, who sat across from me, said that he wasn't entirely sure, but he did know that it had the same consistancy as pulled pork.

A fruit that resembled pork?? I was intrigued!

I probably would have tried it right away, but I was nervous so I just had the naan pizza. Later, I tried to find it, but our small town grocery stores didn't have it, and I don't order much from the internet. However, while in Ohio, a perfect opportunity opened itself up as we visited a crazy grocery store called Jungle Jim's! (You can watch that crazy adventure here!)

As I was trying to find yellow curry paste, I think may not exist anymore, I sent the Yeti and my Dad to find some jackfruit and they did not dissappoint!

After we got back to Missouri, I thought it was about time to try it out. So, I checked a few recipes and then decided to wing it!

First, I drained the can, then cut the hearts off and took out the seeds.

Next, I sauteed onions and garlic in olive oil, then added the jackfruit. I used two forks to pull the fruit apart, but a masher can work too. Then added mexican seasonings lime cumin and chili powder, along with some lime juice.

Then we assembled! I chose to add black beans, rice, guacamole and tomatoes. I would have also added lettuce...but I forgot to buy some. Opps!

Conclusion!

They weren't too bad! I hadn't realized how much flavor it would absorb, so when I added lime juice...it really soaked it up! If we are ever able to get a hold of it again, I think I would like to try it with BBQ!

So, thank you so much for coming and sharing an experience with us!

Sort:  

Hehe! Though we have so many jackfruits growing around us, it took me a full year to try it as a meat substitute as it's not my fav fruit when ripe. But I must say loved it. Thanks for the reminder we should could with them more often!

That's amazing! I read that it's not very good when it's ripe. My hubs and Dad also picked up a fresh one, but we weren't able to try it before our visit was over. Does it have a sour flavor at all when cooked? Or was that just me over-liming it?

Flavor is very personal. Many people here in Cambodia just love the taste of the ripe jackfruit! No sour flavor when we made it. Have a lovely new week!

I keep hearing about jackfruit on different sites. I too want to try it with bar b que dishes and stir fry. Ive never even seen it in stores, or maybe I just never paid attention to it.

They say you can find it at Asian stores. The nearest one to me is an hour and a half away, so if I want anymore I might have to order it online. 😞 But if you have any larger grocery stores near you that have a huge variety, that might work too! Just look in the Asian aisle!

Going to ride the bike up to whole food this evening and try it out. Thanks.

Wow! Who knew? I love your way of writing, so fun and personal. I may try this even though I’m not even a vegan... you made it look that good! 😉 Thanks for sharing this.

Thank you so much! And yes, try it! Food is food is food...and it all comes with new experiences!

So true! And I’m a lover of food... all food 😆 I’m gonna give this a try. Thanks again for sharing this ❤️

You're welcome!

Gotta Love Tacos!!!

There's always time for tacos! Haha

indeed there is 😄

In Indonesia jack-fruit is very famous. It is folk food. I never imagined that jack-fruits had been canned. That's a good idea that Indonesians do the same so that there are not many jack-fruits are thrown away.

That's great! Anytime you're able to can to preserve food, it's a good idea!

No joke, last week I heard about jackfruit being a replacement for pulled pork!!! I found some at the local health food store. It came frozen and it is now defosting. The plan is to make some bbq up with it here in a few days! Now I know that the fruit will absorb more than expected! Thanks Stacie D!

How crazy! Haha Was it frozen green? The little I know about it is that you want it it unripened to cook with. I hope you love it, and please let me know how it goes!

I don't know yet....I think I am going to make it on Wednesday. I'll let you know what I think!

hehehehe i've also been nervous to try jackfruit!!!! LOL but it looks really good!!! :)

was the texture really like pork?!?!?

Haha it was! I wish I would have tried it more during the cooking process so I wouldn't have added so much lime...but I was afraid! Hahaha I didn't know how to process it!

I love jackfruit! So delicious and healthy :D

I definitely want to try it again! Do you recommend it any certain way!

Bbq sauce is usually the best way because it kind of blends with the twangy taste of the jackfruit. I have experimented with putting it in a slow cooker and marinating it with a ton of garlic, adobo (a Hispanic seasoning) and oregano. I was trying to make a organized version of pernil, which is a Puerto Rican styled pork. People loved it and thought it was meat😂since I've had pernil I don't feel like I nailed it completely but still pretty darn good. Eat it with some rice and beans😃

ive had jackfruit on its own and its a nice fruit but not really my favorite flavor - but i recently heard it can be used for a vegan bbq and thought that was so cool! im new to veganism for a challenge i did on steemit this month and its a whole new world!

That's exciting! It is a whole new world! Full disclosure I still eat eggs...but my husband, @freedompoint is 100%. We always say that we know what it feels like to be meat and dairy eaters, but we also know what it's like to eat without those things. So, we encourage everyone to try it for a month and to see how they feel! Are you sticking with it?

I've never tried jackfruit before but it sounds really good! Amazing tacos :)

Thank you! You definitely should!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63