Steemit iron-chef Round 05: Decadent Hazelnut and Saffron Truffles w/ Cherry Coulis

in #vegan6 years ago (edited)

truffle_102403.jpg

This week's steemit iron-chef competition theme is to elevate a vegan dish. Being a vegan and posting a dish every week, I try my hardest to elevate vegan food so that it is appealing, I started this journey a few years ago but only became fully vegan this year. One thing that took me on this journey was the desire to eat food that wasn't contaminated and cruelty free. I didn't know how I would live without chocolate though and I discovered that it's possible to make delicious vegan chocolate at home. Making this chocolate really helped me on my vegan journey and I wanted to celebrate this ingredient in this challenge.

truffle1.jpg

truffle3.jpg

truffle2.jpg

truffle4.jpg

truffle_092351.jpg

truffle_092918.jpg

I had a real desire for truffles and never actually tried making a vegan ganache, I thought i'd give it a whirl. I looked up a few different way it could be made and I settled on using coconut milk but unfortunately I find it quite hard an expensive to buy a good quality coconut milk here, so that's what brought me to make my own by blending coconut meat shavings with a little water in a blender until creamy. Then I melted cacao butter and sieved some carob powder, which I have been using alot in replace of coacao powder to make the chocolates lighter and sweeter... and so moorish! I also added some hazelnut oil in the mixture and whisked it all up using a whipping blade for my blender. Next step was to leave it to set in the fridge over night.

truffle_101713.jpg

I recently brought an ice cream scoop and used it to form the truffle balls, first I had to let the ganache warm up a bit out of the refrigerator. Once the balls were formed I dusted them with more carob and finally sprinkled them with a little maqui berry powder, crushed hazelnuts and cacao nibs.

Oh and a pinch of saffron powder dusted on top. One of my favorite but rare flavors!

truffle_104302.jpg

I hadn't eaten chocolate in a while and the sensation is really euphoric, this is my kind of elevation really takes me on a happy high, you can see how it was used a spiritual medicine for the ancient Aztecs. Forget michelin stars, I was seeing stars after eating these truffles!

truffle_105544.jpg

The texture of the ganache is so soft , decadent and rich, I decided to plate the truffle with homemade red cherry puree, the two flavors bounce of each other and create a flavor explosion.

Thanks again to @progressive-chef for running this contest + @donkeypong, @canadian-coconut and @sjennon for supporting the contest

🥑 🍎🥝 🍉 🍇 🍐🍓🍈🍋🍑 🍍🍊🍌🍏

For more health, nutrition, spirituality + more @celestialcow....

celestialcowlong.jpg

switching to a plant based diet 🌱 can change your life and change the world
✌️Join the food revolution now

All images are created by @celestialcow

Thanks for reading

ecotrainbanner.png

global love banner .jpg

Hcwg0lg - Imgur.gif

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

These look divine. Imuch prefer vegan chocolate. In Australia we are spoilt for choice in that regard, but it's fairly easy to make. Ilove the idea of saffron in there - it's such an exotic little delight, isn't it? Can you taste it over the chocolate?

Honestly both in England and Spain I was never spoilt for raw or vegan chocolate especially sugar free. And now there are more brands available im very disappointed with the taste against homemade. From the start I always made raw chocolates at home and did not find it easy with tempering and keeping chocolate raw especially in cold climate like England. I was quite perfectionist in the beginning that I wanted to keep it raw for maximum health benefits. Here I have used raw cacao butter but then used carob so the flavour is not as strong as just pure cacao which come out more from the cacao powder and the cacao fat has very subtle taste and the saffron definately comes through a bit and works with other flavours.

These look so sooo delicious! Real heaven for all the chocolate lovers!

That snack does look tasty, I can see why you enjoy it so much :)

Looks so so yummy, the more yo cook the more you impress with your presentations and healthy dishes! Cherry's and chocolate... Heaven! lots of light ♥

Thank you so much, love and light to u too!

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Brazil vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love the idea of the saffron in these truffles, scrummy :-)

Guaaao excelente posts, que divino se ve,

Wow! This is chocolate heaven! Chocolissimo! 😋

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my The Kitchen Table Edition 18: Recipes, Cooking & Food Curation Day post!!

ALL PROCEEDS from this post are EQUALLY divided between the three featured authors' posts.

Wow thank u!!!!

Oh my word, this looks like chocolate heaven, beautiful!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85