My First van conversion Part 1

in #vanlife6 years ago (edited)

Hi

I would like to share my last van conversion with you all. It was a completely new and DIY job so I made a few mistakes along the way but I was really happy with the outcome. I'm currently working on my second conversion and I'm realising how much the first one has taught me. A lot fewer fuck ups this time around.


Anyway, here's my first van, a very tired old beast I bought from a lady down in Devon.

And here's a couple shots of the original conversion, not bad, but certainly not how I'd like it.


Closer Investigations

My thinking for buying an already converted van was because the idea of starting from scratch was too daunting to me. When I viewed it I didn't really know what I was looking for and on the surface, the conversion seemed good.

However, after a couple of days of digging around in the back of it, I had to accept it all needed to go. A lot of the conversion had been done badly, electrics were bodged with random wire everywhere, the floor was damp in places, the final decision was made when i found the insulation used in the walls and ceiling was fibreglass. If you've ever handled fibreglass insulation with your bare hands you'll know its nasty stuff for your skin, eyes and insides.
I didn't fancy in such close proximity to the stuff so gutting the whole thing was the next stage.


Gutting the beast

So this stage took waay longer than I expected and it was actually pretty physically hard work, a lot of the screws used to put everything together had rusted so a large hammer and crow bar were my best friends for several days.

As I dismantled things and got back to the bare metal I found a few issues. The first was this.

Under the plywood flooring was soaking wet old carpet! I'm not sure what the last person was thinking, perhaps cheaper than insualtion? In any case, it had to go, luckily I think I'd got to it before any real damage to the floor pan had been done.

Rust
Another common theme throughout this van was the rust. A big no-no with van conversions is screwing things directly to the floor of the van. The screws pierce the metal and are then exposed to all the elements on the underside.
As you can see in these photos the rusted holes probably started out as small screw holes years ago. Hidden away you'd never know what was going on.

As they were relatively minor holes and I can't weld I decided to grind back to clean metal and then fibreglass over them, it's important to then paint from the underside of the vehicle as well to stop any moisture creeping in again.

The gutting took me about 3 weeks i think, working for a few hours at least every day. I can't say it was enjoyable. A fair bit of the wood was ok to reuse which saved me some money in the long run.

Half way done


Treating the floorpan

After weeks of grime and dismantling, I finally had a blank canvas.

The next step was to seal the floor so I won't have to worry about it rotting out in future. This process was relatively simple. I jet washed the grease and dirt off. The put down several coats of red oxide primer.

I then used a rubberised paint usually used on felt roofs. This stuff was great, cheap at £12 a tin and it left the floor with a great waterproof finish, tidy!


That's all for now, next post I will be showing the layout plans, how I insulated it, and put flooring down.

Previous Post: https://steemit.com/campervan/@robali123/my-camper-van-introduction

Sort:  

I haven't read your post because I'm a lazy fuck. Saw the pictures. But wanted to say this, why not make a video, I'm planning to do a conversion also, and also try to change the motor. A heavy conversion to have the perfect road trip van. But I am going to filmed.
Just wanted to give you the idea to maybe film it. Love what you're doing, love van conversions.

ha appreciate your honesty. Few reasons i havent filmed. this is actually an old van conversion i dont own anymore so cant film it. second reason, im not really big on film. having to setup the camera and talk about what im doing, and potentially be on camera! I just prefer photos really but thanks for the suggestion. Perhaps post up your conversion? always interested to see how people approach the same problems differently.
Also welcome to steemit! Need any advice with anything just ask :)

I'd prefer writing and photos - i cant be bothered listening to someone waffle on on a video. Love @broken.akay 's honesty also, haha.

Hey thanks for the offer, I still have a lot of questions about the Steem inflation and all that stuff. But I'm just comfortably and slowly trying to understand it.
And yes, I understand its hard to film, I never filmed myself for the same reasons. But what I have done, is, making for example a time lapse. Every increment of time, I made a picture, and I don't have to be in it. And about camera setup, I did it with my phone, and trying to set a phone on a steady place, almost impossible. But it's hard for me to give up and stop trying. And btw, some people prefer to read and watch the pictures, that's me most of the time. Just not today.
I will sure post my van conversion, what I'm planning is waaay to hard, so I better document it, and document it well.

Ripping out the lot was the best way to go. So many crew do dodgy conversions without realising that they would save themselves money and heart ache in the long run by doing it properly. And having a decent floor makes it easier to put things in. Looking forward to update!

Yeh for sure. I can't believe there was carpet under there.it was so wet you could squeeze the water from it like a sponge! Thanks for reading ☺

Lots of hard work going on in that huge van.

Yeh it is a bit of a beast! I live in quite a busy city. Residential streets are not fun to navigate

That's one of the problems with a van that big.

oh man very inspiring. I need to do this very same thing to my van. :)

The old layout looked like a pretty good system, a bit run-down though, will be interested to see it develop.

yeh it was ok, just so shabby and lots of bodges, striping it had to be done.
also the bed widthways across the back looked good but im too tall so would have had to sleep at an angle!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

This is awesome. Looks spacious

yeh was nice to have so much space to work with. it fills up quick though once the essentials go in. just writing a post on the next bit now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68