My Camper Van Introduction

in #campervan6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

A change from my usual jewellery posts today.


A few years ago I bought a really beaten up old van that I converted into my home, it was my first van so I didn't know what to look for and turned out I bought a pretty knackered vehicle. The list of repairs was endless so just after finishing the conversion I had to sell it, to a mechanic who was going to do the work himself, I believe its still off the road...RIP old girl!


SO, when I sold that I stripped the inside and bought another one, the same make and model in fact. This meant I knew exactly what to look for, where was prone to hidden rust and mechanical faults.
I spent £1000 and got my current wagon, 6 months MOT, empty and ready to convert!

She's a little beat up and has some rust patches needing welding but for a 1996 Iveco TurboDaily, 22-year-old! van I think I did quite well.

Over the past few months I've been cleaning the back and slowly converting the inside to become my next house on wheels.

Fast forward to now and she has just passed her MOT first time with only an oil leak and rust as advisories on the slip, not bad for a grand, especially as I've been driving her every day.

The impending MOT was making me nervous as I haven't actually done any mechanical work yet and I assumed there would be 22 years of issues under the bonnet but all is well, for another year at least!
So the latest job has been to treat all the minor rust patches, seen here as brick red patches of paint, there are plenty!

Another thing I've done is to replace one of the badly rusted back doors

Apologies if this post isn't very exciting, I need to collect all the conversion photos before I show you the inside where I'm up to. This is more of an introduction to my van posts.
If you'd like to keep up with my van conversion give us a follow as theres lots to come.


Previous Post - https://steemit.com/art/@robali123/couple-of-new-pieces-finished-last-weekend

Sort:  

Good stuff. Following. I have a few vehicle conversion posts.. and I need to do the same, collect all the photos to put together in a post about the van conversion!!

Hey, just put up my van conversion post if you're interested. x

I like your post and hope there will be an update. I had a van. A Ford Transit 1970 only a few years ago I had to let her go. Still feel sorry for that

Oh sorry to hear that. My friends are currently doing an old transit up. They've had to go back to the chassis to have all the welding done. A huge job but it's looking fantastic now

I've been looking at some conversion vans but they are way out of my price range for one decked out the way I want it. Your experience has me thinking in a new direction - get a van and convert it myself. Thanks for sharing!

yes! do it, depending on your budget you can adapt and change most aspects of the build. and best of all you can put everything exactly where you want it to go. motorhomes are insane money for what they are, loads of cheap laminate wood and rubbish insulation. diy is definitely the way

Van conversion on your own is definitely the way to go. Just posted ours if you are interested. It's really do-able and you can do it as cheap or expensive as you like.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=robali123
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-camper-van-introduction


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68737.86
ETH 3840.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62