Suggestion: Improve Rendering of Muted Comments

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

Components

Condenser's comment rendering and muting processes.

Proposal

Currently, when an account is muted, comments from it load in the Condenser UI and then once the page has finished loading, they disappear. This is confusing if you do not remember that you muted the account in question and also doesn't exactly deliver full muting, since you are still seeing the comments (if only for a short time on page load).

Ideally, the comments would never be visible at any point in the page load process, but markers would be present to say 'comment muted', also providing a link to allow the account to be unmuted easily.

Mockups / Examples

Here is the current behavior in firefox:

screen capture

Benefits

The suggested change will improve user experience, fully deliver a total muting function and also facilitate unmuting, which is desirable in a transparent community (it's better for social cohesion to have people unmute each other and work out their differences where possible).



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Fantastic suggestion. My mate, @aussieninja thought muting was like a Facebook unsubscribe (when he first arrived).
He muted a tonne of people (believing it to be less confronting than an unfollow) and was really confused when their comments would flash up then vanish.
I don't know how many others out there have done the same, but this would clear that right up. Great idea.

Hahaha, Matt's right! I actually spent ages trying to quickly reply to people before my browser would hide their comment on my post... I literally started writing my comments in notepad so I could quickly paste it before it would disappear. I was also super confused when I could see my posts have 12 comments but I could only see 11.

haha.. 10 out of 10 for effort! :)

Ah, hehe - yes, I can imagine that would be very confusing. I had no clue how muting worked when I joined too.

Didn't know that.. haven't had to mute anyone lol..
But that'll be a good improvement

I only have 3 muted after 18 months of use - so that's not too bad!

No that's not.. I guess you have to at some point. A lot of idiots here also

I was one of the first users on minds.com and initially it was something like this, with great posts and open hearted/minded people... Then once it got mainstream exposure it got quickly dominated by low quality crap for the most part.

Well that's how it's always been..
Money breeds corruption..
Though we've to try your best

I'm not sure the problem with minds was due to money, it seems to have just been that 'the masses' found out about it and wanted to have an uncensored place.. Unfortunately, they were talking shit for the most part.. lol. Steemit appears to be more balanced currently, but it remains to be seen whether the money from 'the masses' will make things worse or whether the steemit process of valuing posts and reputation will keep things in check.

I really hope for the latter

Your contribution cannot be approved because it is not as informative as other contributions. See the Utopian Rules. Contributions need to be informative and descriptive in order to help readers and developers understand them.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Steemit UI needs to work alot ...
Yeah that is the great idea with the mute option ...after all you can oly stay commented to people when you come to know about them ....
Great suggestion...

Comments muting 🙄 listening it for the first time.

You can mute the person's profile. You can't mute a comment I think

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53921.46
ETH 2250.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30