You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First Open Source Contribution Ever

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

It would really be nice to be able to experiment with my own version of steemit.com. How much STEEM would you need to get to make it worth your while to write a post with detailed instructions of all the steps necessary for someone to setup their own version of steemit.com on a vultr.com server? When I say detailed I mean everything necessary including the steps for installing docker and mysql and any other steps which may be necessary to get one's own version of steemit.com running on a vultr.com server such as installing apache etc. What I have is in mind is you getting a server on vultr.com and doing everything necessary to get a steemit type site running out of the vultr.com server and then you running the "history" command and basically copy and pasting the history of commands into a post with also adding notes for necessary steps that aren't shown in the history (i.e. editing a config file with vi or nano or something). If you are interested in something like this then please let me know the amount of STEEM you would need to make this project worth your while. I was thinking you would post your instructions and if the rewards on the post were less than what would be necessary to make the post worth your while, then I could transfer you the difference, but before you start any work please let me know the amount necessary to make it worth your while so I can decide whether or not I want to agree to make up the difference. Regardless of whether or not you are interested, thanks for writing your post as I could probably set it up on my own when I have a large chunk of time available, but that "kind of law" you mentioned where things don't always work right away seems to affect me a lot more than it affects most people :)

Sort:  

Hehe. I've never heard of vultr.com but I can take a peek at it. This might be something I'd want to do anyway. Hell I'd do it for like 5 STEEM. But even the history can be outdated very quickly ;). I'll see when I have time to do it, and if you end up doing it first or know someone else, do let me know!

I didn't see the memo from you in my wallet until a couple days ago. I followed the instructions you said worked well from from github, and I was able to get the condenser working which was very neat. Thanks!

I wasn't able to get mysql working with it, but trying to get mysql working helped me find this post about getting SBDS working on digitalocean, and I thought you might appreciate that post as well.

Ooh I'll take a look, thanks! I should have sent a response here as well, my mistake :)

I just sent you 5 STEEM. Whatever you earn on the post is a bonus :) Also, you don't need to return the 5 STEEM even if you aren't able to get it working because whatever attempt you make is likely to save me at least 5 STEEM of my time. There is no hurry. Thanks in advance for any efforts you do on this project.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44