My First Open Source Contribution Ever

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

imgwithscreenshot

You can find the link to the referenced pull request here, (if for example you are not viewing this post from Utopian).

This was a trivial fix, so according to Utopian rules, it's likely to be rejected, but it's likely people would not have been able to find it without looking specifically for it. The linked pull request has all the screenshots of the change, and I can also tell you what it looks like.

Basically, when you see your payout numeric number, and click it, a box pops up telling you "Pending Payout: $X in Y days". Except if you're in the Russian version, in which case it says "Pending Payout in Y days". Which is still perfectly reasonable because the number is still available. So this is more of a consistency fix.

Side Track of My Main Exploration

What was I doing? Well, I was curious what it would take to modify the Steemit UI to show the amounts in a different way, for example, if its value was simply just in STEEM (so that it isn't fluctuating so much based on the market price). At least if it showed it alongside the previous. Problem with that of course is that it's still confusing with SBD being more than 1 USD. Probably would want one that is fully featured, showing both predicted SBD and STEEM POWER payouts with all the information available (even with curation, now that I understand it!). Anyway, that's the dream.

So the first thing I do is to look for where this is being displayed. Well, I know that the STEEM blockchain stores it in the comment object here in the "payout_pending_value" field.

So I search the condenser codebase for it. That let me
here. And then to search for "pending_payout", which revealed several localization files, and that's when I noticed the Russian one was slightly off. I decided to pitch in and correct the typo.

Experience in Contributing

The typo is trivial to correct, and likely I could have just edited it all in the github UI and sent it out. But I wanted to verify everything to make sure it worked. So I followed the steps to build and run my own version of Steemit. Woohoo!

The instructions are easy, and at the front wiki of the github here. At least, I already had a way to get Docker working, also described on that page, which made the steps much simpler.

When following the instructions to build and run locally, of course it didn't work the first time (that's some kind of law, someone give me the name of it...). Nothing loaded, and I got some connection related error that I no longer remember. I suspected it was endpoints that were no longer valid, and was able to find and replace it and modify the configuration file locally to go around it.

Later I would find out that it would be resolved by this pull request. Lesson learned. I should always see if anyone's put it in the issue tracker, because most likely it's not just me.

In any case, being able to successfully pull it up and test out my change was a great experience. That is how I was able to generate the second screenshot of it being fixed.

afterimage

This isn't proof, because someone could have mucked with the developer mode to generate that, so a bit of trust involved there :).

Next Steps

I will keep playing with modifying the codebase for fun, to see if I can get a good breakdown of the payout, though I'm pretty busy already with the normal job, so don't expect too much from me for now :). Cheers. Do let me know if you already know if others doing something similar.



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

It would really be nice to be able to experiment with my own version of steemit.com. How much STEEM would you need to get to make it worth your while to write a post with detailed instructions of all the steps necessary for someone to setup their own version of steemit.com on a vultr.com server? When I say detailed I mean everything necessary including the steps for installing docker and mysql and any other steps which may be necessary to get one's own version of steemit.com running on a vultr.com server such as installing apache etc. What I have is in mind is you getting a server on vultr.com and doing everything necessary to get a steemit type site running out of the vultr.com server and then you running the "history" command and basically copy and pasting the history of commands into a post with also adding notes for necessary steps that aren't shown in the history (i.e. editing a config file with vi or nano or something). If you are interested in something like this then please let me know the amount of STEEM you would need to make this project worth your while. I was thinking you would post your instructions and if the rewards on the post were less than what would be necessary to make the post worth your while, then I could transfer you the difference, but before you start any work please let me know the amount necessary to make it worth your while so I can decide whether or not I want to agree to make up the difference. Regardless of whether or not you are interested, thanks for writing your post as I could probably set it up on my own when I have a large chunk of time available, but that "kind of law" you mentioned where things don't always work right away seems to affect me a lot more than it affects most people :)

Hehe. I've never heard of vultr.com but I can take a peek at it. This might be something I'd want to do anyway. Hell I'd do it for like 5 STEEM. But even the history can be outdated very quickly ;). I'll see when I have time to do it, and if you end up doing it first or know someone else, do let me know!

I didn't see the memo from you in my wallet until a couple days ago. I followed the instructions you said worked well from from github, and I was able to get the condenser working which was very neat. Thanks!

I wasn't able to get mysql working with it, but trying to get mysql working helped me find this post about getting SBDS working on digitalocean, and I thought you might appreciate that post as well.

Ooh I'll take a look, thanks! I should have sent a response here as well, my mistake :)

I just sent you 5 STEEM. Whatever you earn on the post is a bonus :) Also, you don't need to return the 5 STEEM even if you aren't able to get it working because whatever attempt you make is likely to save me at least 5 STEEM of my time. There is no hurry. Thanks in advance for any efforts you do on this project.

Even though the contribution was considered minimal, every single bit helps, and it's great that you found it in you to add on to an existing project.
Well done man!

I think it's great that you're contributing to quality control in this way. Get on your brain, man! Russian spelling and working out ways to make the pending payouts easier to understand. You're so clever.

laters
Anj x

That's a nice detailed experience what you had to do to modify condenser code. It might be useful for someone who wants to start playing with it.

Can't wait to get started contributing myself. Completed my first PR (https://github.com/TwoScoopGames/ScoopChain) last week--adding a bunch of ice cream flavors for a Global Game Jam project.

Congrats, can't wait to see what you do next!

LOL. I like the whitepaper of this project, very nice :D. Looks like fun!

This is a good contribution also how i wish is accepted @eonwarped

Thanks!

That would be nifty

Your contribution cannot be approved because it does not follow the Utopian Rules.

The contribution is too minimal to be rewarded as a Development contribution. I will advice you to put in more work into your future contributions.

Welcome to Open Source and Utopian, I wish you luck for your journey.

You can contact us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Ah I figured as much. Thanks for taking a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47