Integration of Steemit More Info features #7 : Followers Table

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Today, we've finished the integration of one of the most useful features from Steemit More Info, the followers table. It transforms the basic Steemit follower page into a powerful tool that allows you to sort your followers and followees as you see fit.

Read on to see what these features do, the bonus feature I've included, what were the challenges to be overcome and what future feature it inspired me to code.

New Features

  • Upon click to either of the Followers of Following page, or reloading one of those, SteemPlus will load the user's list of Followers/Followees and call the blockchain to get their reputation, SteemPower and upvote worth

image.png

  • Pagination can be changed
  • There is a searchbar to look directly for a user

image.png

It is a very powerful tool that allows you to get more details on followers.
I ve added a new column Action that will only trigger when you are on your OWN account's follower/following page and that will add a Follow/Unfollow button , convenient to follow your followers, or unfollow your followees, for example based on their reputation.

fol.gif

In this example, I can see that @klye is following me, and I do know that he's creating good content, so why the hell am I not following him? ^^Just a click and it's done (otherwise I would have had to open a new tab to follow him).

Challenges

It was one of the most challenging features from SMI to implement so far and it took us several days to figure it out, for these reasons:

  • I didn't like the way the list of followers was scrapped from the React DOM, so I decided to call the blockchain instead.
  • SteemJs can only return batches of 100 followers so we had to loop the whole thing
  • It takes time to iterate this way, it is okay for a few thousands of followers/followees but no more. Trying on @aggroed account it took nearly 30 seconds to complete. For this reason, I will implement in the future a fastest way (but not real time) using the data stored in SteemData. Users will be able to switch between accurated data or fast data.

Coming soon

  • All Steemit More Info features will be fixed an included in here.
  • Next one will be the detailed Following/Followers Panel (+ Integration with SteemConnect for fast unfollow)
  • Let me know what you want to see next
  • These will be available in the Chrome Store only when all features are ready

Commits, starting with Added followers/followed datatablesand all following ones

Hope this helps!

@stoodkev and @cedricguillas for @steem-plus



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

nice feature!
You can actually pull up 1000 followers in one call using steemjs, that's what I use in my extension and it's working ;)
steem.api.getFollowers(username, lastFollower, 'blog', 1000, cb)

I opened a suggestion on Utopian ;)

Tks a lot! That is so weird, I ve tried with several hundreds and it was not working, but now it's working for 1000. Even weirder, it seems not to be working with getFollowing

getFollowing should be working the same, if you look at the steem api source code, you can see that the limit is set to 1000 as well, so theoretically it should work, now I haven't tried this method as I don't need it...

It seemed to be capped at 100 in steem-python. At least it used to.

That's great, that's really wonderful. You have integrated the features for the following/followers table and that is awesome as a steemians point of view. Now it will be easier to view not only the steem power but also the upvote worth. And not only that your have introduced a n action option that will help you know which ones of your followers are following you back and which ones are not.
This is intriguing and seriously I think it's one of the best modifications of steemit. Thank you. Cheers

Thanks for the update.

Are these updates Live now?? Or coming soon?

I don't see these options on my computer.

I will release all of the features coming from the Steemit More Info extension at the same time, probably next week

great.. keep it up ☝

Informasion a good to me

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

1UP-Kayrex_tiny.png

You've got upvoted by Utopian-1UP!

You can give up to ten 1UP's to Utopian posts every day after they are accepted by a Utopian moderator and before they are upvoted by the official @utopian-io account. Install the @steem-plus browser extension to use 1UP. By following the 1UP-trail using SteemAuto you support great Utopian authors and earn high curation rewards at the same time.


1UP is neither organized nor endorsed by Utopian.io!

Hey @stoodkev I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • WOW WOW WOW People loved what you did here. GREAT JOB!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

You should add a MUTE button in the action column

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70771.68
ETH 3814.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46