Tutorial: ApacheHTTP

in #utopian-io7 years ago (edited)

What is ApacheHTTP Server:

The Apache HTTP Server, also called Apache, is free and open-source cross-platform web server software.The Apache HTTP Server Project is an effort to develop and maintain an open-source HTTP server for modern operating systems including UNIX and Windows. The goal of this project is to provide a secure, efficient and extensible server that provides HTTP services in sync with the current HTTP standards.

ApaceHTTP : Download Installation & Testing

Apache HTTP server can be downloaded from below link:

https://httpd.apache.org/

Apache has a great installer, so it's simple to set up. Once the Installation file downloaded we can set up the same through the normal process i.e Run>Agreeement>System-check>Install. After the setup, we can double-clicked the Apache installer file that I downloaded, we see the following greetings screen:

Apache1.1.jpg

After clicking through a couple screens, I got to the Server Information screen. I set my Network Domain to 'cakelycakes.com' and my Server Name to 'www.cakelycakes.com'.

I also have a local email server running simultaneously, so I entered an Administrator email address. I'm not sure what happens if you leave any of these fields blank, but you're welcome to try! I'd like Apache to run on port 80 for All Users, so I went with the default radio button setting shown below:

Apache2.2.jpg

The next screen, I clicked the 'Custom' radio button since I don't want Apache to be installed in the default directory, which is fairly buried.

Apache3.1.jpg

On the Custom Setup screen, I clicked the Change button and changed the installation directory to be C:\Apache2.2.4. It's handy to have the Apache version number included in the installation directory so that you can easily tell what version of Apache you have installed.

Apache5.1.jpg

After finishing the installation, you should see that ApacheSW has been installed in the file system, in my case at C:\Apache2.2.4. The Apache document root by default is located in the \htdocs\ folder. The index.html file that we see when we hit our Apache Web Server is located at \htdocs\index.html. If you open this file, you can see that it contains the text 'It works!'.

Apache6.1.jpg

If I open up a browser and try hitting 'http://www.cakelycakes.com', we can see that Apache is up and running and that we hit the index.html file.

Apache7.1.jpg

Just as another little test, if I hit 'http://192.168.1.106' in a browser, I see the same index.html file. )refer below example)

Why we user Apache server ?

It is a webserver, we can deploy multiple application through Apache and it is a faster and lightweight.

1.Consuming size very low
2.Hardware : NA
3.Application integrated with any server easily

So basically a web server is the software that receives your request to access a web page. It runs a few security checks on your HTTP request and takes you to the web page. Depending on the page you have requested, the page may ask the server to run a few extra modules while generating the document to serve you.

For reference I have collected few information from Wiki and google

Thanks
@steemflow



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  
Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Nice Informative Information..

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.
Can't believe apache is 22 years old!
Thanks for your efforts. :]
You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @steemflow I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • You have less than 500 followers. Just gave you a gift to help you succeed!
  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Suggestions

  • Contribute more often to get higher and higher rewards. I wish to see you often!
  • Work on your followers to increase the votes/rewards. I follow what humans do and my vote is mainly based on that. Good luck!

Get Noticed!

  • Did you know project owners can manually vote with their own voting power or by voting power delegated to their projects? Ask the project owner to review your contributions!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

again one of the useful sw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69