#4 Promoting Steemhunt - New Approach To Succeed in the ABV 2.0 System

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

#4 Promoting Steemhunt - New Approach in the ABV 2.0

A. Introduction

The Steemhunt platform is an awesome site where Steemhunters enthusiasts come in here to share the latest mobile apps, websites, tech creations, hardware gadgets, open source projests and all things trendy that are worthy to promote. To keep things at super high quality, the Steemhunt staff recruit new moderators, guardians and influencers to review each hunt submissions that come in. Steemhunters in return get rewarded for their effort and contributions. The way that Steemhunters get rewarded had evolved from the highest pay-out to highest ranking hunts scores and now recently to Hunters Levels. Started from July 26th, Project Owners introduced the AVB 2.0 where upvotes are now based on the Hunters Levels.

There has been a bit of confusion as to how the score of the hunters level is calculated, thus the purpose of this blog post. I will highlight the important elements in the new ABV2.0 system so that Steemhunters can know how to adjust to the new system and continue to do well in contributing great hunts. As an avid Steemhunter, I have been actively contributing awesome hunts to the growth of the platform. I witness that each changes made by the Steemhunt team had proven to be better for the the Steemhunt community. The ABV 2.0 system works even more powerfully by giving the most valued hunting posts with higher rankings using the hunters level score. As a result, hunters rewards are now better distributed across the board. I know this to be true because I am experiencing this transition that is currently taking place in the past week.

B. The New ABV 2.0 System

I will not go through all the points that are made in ABV 2.0 as you can read about it in this post. I will highlight a few points that are working great for me as a Steemhunter as I adjust myself to the new changes in digging new products to earn STEEM at the same time with Steemhunt upvotes.

steemhunt7.jpg

ABV simply means Account Based Voting. The higher upvote you get from Steemhunt, the more STEEM you earn. The voting now depends to a great extent on the level of the Steemhunter. The good news is that you now have complete control of your Steemhunt level score. You take full charge of increasing or decreasing your Hunt Level by your participation or lack of involvement on the Steemhunt platform. It does not matter anymore whether you rank at top 10 of the hunt score anymore. What matters is how active you are in logging onto the Steemhunt platform to post cool hunts regularly and at the same time, curate hunts with your upvotes and comments.

C. Your Hunter's Level

On the dashboard under your profile picture, you can check your hunter's level to see where you stand on Steemhunt.

My Level is 3 because the total points I have accumulated in total as a Steemhunter is 3.40.

How is my 3.40 Level calculated?

This is the question that is most asked by my Steemhunt followers as this "level" system is quite new and therefore need a bit of explanation.

The Hunter's Level reflects the steemhunters behavior on the Steemhunt platform. So far, the actual metric in the calculation is not revealed, but I can deduce my 3.40 score from the following four areas:

  1. Hunter's Account Credibility
  2. Hunter's Activity Score
  3. Hunter's Involvement in the Community - Curation Score
  4. Hunter's Hunts Score

Let's take a deeper look into these 4 areas

I will use my own examples of how I do in these four areas so that you can compare them to yours. In this way, you will be able to get an idea of how your level is calculated.

  1. Hunter's Account Credibility - This takes into consideration of my Steem Reputation which is 69 and the age of my Steemhunt account which is about 2 months old. Yours will be different. There really isn't much you can change here other than keep gaining reputation on Steemit.

  2. Hunter's Activity Score - This metric looks into my daily involvement on the Steemhunt platform. If you want to score well on your activity, you need to always login and do everything from the Steemhunt platform. In the past, I would just post my hunts from the Steemhunt platform, upvote and comment from my Steemit account. Don't. Everything is now based on your daily login record on Steemhunt.

  3. Community Curation Score - Steemhunt is a community platform. To add value to the platform, I curate hunts by upvoting great hunting posts. Everyday, I curate about 30 products before midnight. I can actually increase my points by curating more hunts. Your curation score also depends on the diversity of your upvotes. So focus on voting for cool hunts and diversity automatically comes in because you are not voting for your friends but for the greatness of the hunts.

  4. Hunter's Hunt Score - A score is calculated here in the amount of approved hunts I have contributed on Steemhunt. Here, the ranking of my hunting posts is also taken into consideration. So far, I have hunted 62 products and generated $1,139.17 SBD for Steemhunt. To increase my level, I can probably submit more cool hunts to the platform.

D. New System Approach - Increase Your Level

This Hunters Level based voting depends highly on the hunter himself and how he interacts in the Steemhunt community. This means you are in control of the rewards you get in proportion to the amount of activity you spend in building up the Steemhunt platform.

In the last few days, my hunts are getting more rewards and appreciated by the Steemhunt community. Mind you, Level 3 is not very high. It is average. But on the whole, I see that I am getting a consistent reward and not random at all as it was in the past.

steemhunt5.png

There are actually 6 Levels on the Steemhunt board and I aim to reach Level 6. Everyone begins on Level 0 and at Level 0, there are no rewards given by Steemhunt at all. For newcomers, you need to work your way up to Level 1 to get upvoted by Steemhunt. Once you get to Level 1, everyone gets some kind of rewards. A certain percentage can be calculated right away for the bot to upvote your approved hunt. Of course, the higher your level, the higher vote weight you get.

Take a look at the following table of the 6 different levels with its user weights. The upvote weight from the bot entirely depends on your Hunter level.

LevelUser ScoreUser Weight
Level 00 and belowx 0
Level 11.0x 1
Level 22.0x 2
Level 33.0x 3
Level 45.0x 4
Level 58.0x 5
  • My Level 3 means that my user weight gets multiples of 3. The final score accumulated is X3.
  • Looking at the chart, I need to increase in 2 more level points to get to Level 4. There my user weight can become X4.
  • Reaching to Level 5 gives me X5 user weight but for that I need to get to 8.0 Level score.
  • From the table, you can see that there is an upvote reward for anyone from Level 1 to 5.

Hunting Post Weight & Comments

  1. A hunting post carries 10 weight.

  2. A comment post carries 1 weight.

The voting weight unit of each content is calculated by content weight * user weight. The actual voting weight by @steemhunt is based on the share of total voting weight from the entire contents of the day.

So in my situation, everyday, I submit a hunting post and when it gets approved, I get 10 content weight.

Content weight: 10
My User Weidht: 3
10 X 3 = 30

So if there are 1000 voting weight units generated that day, my post will be upvoted by 3% of the total available pool. When there are more hunters submissions on that day, my percentage of reward gets smaller accordingly.

E. How To Do well in the New ABV 2.0 System?

abv.jpg

This is certainly a great time for newbies to join Steemhunt. Once you get into Level 1, you can expect a reward for your participation. The rewards are now more evenly distributed across the board, even newbies can get rewards without the need to rank high on the platform.

Use some of these tips to increase your Steemhunt level metric score:

  1. Steemhunt is about discovering new cool product, so spend your time to hunt for the newest, coolest product everyday and post on Steemhunt. Post the best picture for the first screen as that is the first thing the audience sees. This is how you grab other hunters attention. First impression wins attention.

  2. As for the number of hunts you can submit, there is no limitation with the new ABV 2.0. I only post one product a day because my time is limited. "Less is More" for me. But for newcomers, you need to push beyond Level 0, so I recommend that you post 2 or 3 products each day so that you can get a hang of how to submit cool products. If one doesn't get approved, you will know why. Gather that momentum if you are a newbie.

  3. With ABV 2.0 new system, only one hunt upvote for each person. So if you post 10 products and they are all approved, you only get 1 upvote for the best out of the 10. Posting more products each day does not mean that you get upvoted for all of them, but you can for sure increase your level score by your active participation.

  4. Steemhunt is not a writing curation platform which is misunderstood by many. In the past, I spent a lot of time writing a good blog post for each hunt. That in itself is not bad as this is what Steemit is about. This is Steemhunt and not Steemit. Steemhunt is all about product hunting and not product writing. In order to drill this point to all hunters, Steemhunt now limits the hunters description comments to only 1000 characters, so craft your writing well to describe your hunt in the limited space. Don't plagiarize. Never copy and paste. Use your own words and make it something personal. After all, you are the one who discovered this cool product. Make it inviting for other hunters to read.

F. Blog Series of Open Source Hunts

  1. The Top 3 Open Source Hunts
  2. 3 Popular Open Source Products for Your Business
  3. 5 Popular Open Source Products for Everyday Use

That's it and let's continue hunting in the new ABV 2.0,

Rosa
@rosatravels

Image Source

Github Profile: https://github.com/rosatravels


Thank you reading this post! If you like this post, please upvote, resteem, comment and follow me in this series.

谢谢你的阅读!希望你喜欢。如果你喜欢我的分享, 请点赞并跟随我。

Sort:  

Hi...

Thanks for the contribution, very clear explanation about the ABV system.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

你今天过的开心吗?客官渴不渴,有没有去 @laodr 老道茶馆喝口热茶啊?假如我的留言打扰到你,请回复“取消”。

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 17 SBD worth and should receive 91 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @rosatravels
Thanks for contributing on Utopian.
We’re already looking forward to your next contribution!

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Thanks for the explanation. But my level is going UP and DOWN on daily basis without any obvious reason? Any explanation of this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42